Toying with the Idea

8 32
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Who loves reading? Raise your hands! How may books have you finished so far in the glorious two years of being locked down?

Me? I love reading. But for some reason, I do not have that drive to really finish any book. Pre-pandemic I had a one novel or book a month goal. And to really get me to do it, I also challenged myself to write about a summary and review of the story. It worked - for few months and then for a few months before the year ended also when I remembered I have that self-challenge.

It has been a struggle to finish any book lately. It feels like if I want to finish one book at all, I'd have to be locked in a room with bed, sofa, view, lots of coffee, air conditioning, water, food, the book, a pen and a paper and nothing more. Yes no cellphones and no laptop. These days, I bounce from all things off to other new stuff to do. I get to finish other things but not reading the book.

Also I have this knack of mincing and chewing the words on the book and then drifting off to my own fiction. Leaving the book and floating to my own set of events and stories. Like say, for example, this book I'm reading. It talks about the New World Order.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

It is timely.

It is interesting.

It is exciting.

And I am re-starting reading it because I parked it for a long time already and I had to review what it first said in the first parts. Seems the book was published 1996 which means the content of the book may have been laid out earlier. A lot has happened since 1996, I think, and I am curious if the author would still see the world now as he saw it before. Remember 1996 was four years before the Y2k.

Millenium bug. Y2k glitch. The stuff. I remember we were on top of a hill-top park waiting for the zeroes to drop and watching the fireworks. Waiting for the shutdown that did not happen. We were crazy. No glitch happened. Glitch happened well just recently.. year 2020. Agree?

Anyway back to the book. So technology was fast-changing then as it is now. And a lot of fear and excitement is full in terms of when microchips were brought up then as it is now, as well. This fear was tagged Future Shock by some author way back 1970 from a futurist's book of same title referring to that uncertainty and stress because of too many things happening and changing in too short a period of time regarding technology that one no longer has a time to mince it, let it set in, wrap their minds around it, etcetera.

You know that when our parents first started learning email, Facebook and all that and we see the frustration in their faces and we in turn gets frustrated when they cannot seem to grasp it? Future shock. And soon, I think, I will have it, too. Even though I work in one of the facets that feed the rapid change - IT.

The tech things that were brought up in the book I'm reading is probably no longer news to most of us but is still bringing in the Future Shock to most. The things it mentioned:

1.) Biochip RFID Technology

2.) Biochip the size of a Grain of Rice

3.) RFID implants

4.) New Biochips of living Proteins

That last part was that button that got me into my own world of stories and what ifs. That led me to, well, pause from reading the book farther. And yes as of now, my brain is still there.

It said that these new living proteins will live inside a biochip even smaller than rice grain and, get this, if implanted in the brain, it will make it possible for anyone to upload any amount of information without a book. Some Neo and matrix stuff! Cool, right?

I mean I could use that these days.

My mind shot off from remembering Matrix and then noting to self that I need to watch that again. It also brought my mind to Locke and Key series! The Head Key! Throw in any book in there and boom you've learned everything about it. Imagine the vast conversations you will have with any people you meet. How exciting!

The dating scene can have a ton of benefit on that one. No boring and uninteresting conversations. Imagine!

Out of all the others mentioned this one excited me. I may be a little hesitant on the chips stuff. But this one, I really do not mind having my mind filled with stuff with just an upload.

I am not sure though, if the internet connection matters because I wonder how long "in a jiffy" is converted to our internet speed.

Allow me to go back to my daydreaming for now...

And oh just in.. that "knowing everything" part sounds about similar to the same bait the serpent used on Eve. .. or it could just be my playful, hyperactive brain.

Tata again...


What is your story?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise... those taken from youtube are not from me. They ARE from Youtube posters.

9
$ 1.90
$ 1.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 4
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

My papa always reach me out when he encounter problems sa phone ni mama ..eh pati si mama di din bihasa kasi keypad naman nakasanayan nila.. kanina lang .pinaayos nila kung bakit daw di makagamit ng data haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha oo technology talaga hirap maka catchup ang parents. Iniisip ko pretty soon talaga ako din ganun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That future shock. My mom also struggle a lot to use her phone. Even though I already teach her many times, she still can't do it. Maybe it was because she really not interested as so learning is hard, but at some point I do understand her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako frenny Pocketbook lang ang gusto ko g basahin ee hahaha. Pag english novel di ko kaya mauubusan ako ng dugo aguy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha dapat short lang din no frenny?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag sa tagalog lahit 100 chapter basta di boring keri ko yan. Pero oag engols, 1000 words lang sana pweaseeee 🤧 hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So let's do it by playing with the idea, if something is found then it is good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Until now ilang beses ko sila tinuturuan sa menu ni fb saka sa lahat pero same parin nung part na kakafb lang nila, tas mapapagalitan ako kasi daw diko inaayos 🤣 nakakailang demosntrate ako ah tas sakanila ko naman ipapagawa HAHAHAAH tamang bantay lang ako, pero mahirap talaga lalo na if matatanda tas di pa napanganak ng mga medyo late 90's 🥲

$ 0.00
2 years ago