Plucked and Tuned

39 36
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

It is the third of July already? My, my, time flies.

I kind of assumed it would be well with me and my brain last night to think yesterday was a Friday. Free day. I have nothing planned for me the next day to require the sandman to give me more than the dosage I need to get some sleep quickly.

I decided to walk it off and visited my little garden of carnivorous plants. I stared at the sky and had a no-blinking game with the stars. I kept telling them if I win, one of them should fall so I can make a wish.

But of course, the stars cheated.

They kept blinking and none came down. I was going to tell on them to the moon, but the moon hid herself.

So, let us see, my brain was not functioning as I think and expected it should, the stars were not playing by the rules and the moon, well, have you seen her? Since none of the celestial friends were up to giving me anything I went back in.

I picked up the guitar and started playing some tune. Something does not sound right, though. So, I grabbed my phone and turned the guitar tuner app on. I tested the first string and watched as the app picked up the sound of the string and informed me that it is low. I turned the tuning knob tight a bit and plucked the E string again and this time the app said it is correct. I did the same with the rest of the strings – tightening and loosening their respective tuning keys. I started to test out a few chords before deciding that it now sounds right. Now it sounded better. I closed the tuning app from my phone and started checking for songs I wanted to play.

After a while I still was not able to pick out any song at all. I decided to start playing scales. I watched as my fingers pressed on the string against the fret board. I had to make sure I apply the right pressure to make it sound right. “The right pressure”.

Getting tired and feeling the calloused four fingers of my left hand have had enough, I placed the guitar back on its stand.  

My head kept thinking about “the right pressure”. And thought of that few seconds of tense exchange I had with my lead regarding having to be able to respond to our clients properly. My fuses were almost getting fried. The critical communication ended well, and we were both laughing at what we missed in the communication and the client’s requirement. My lead’s a whack-job sometimes.

She had me taste a bit of independence and a little push to the edge as well to pick up confidence and maybe get myself up in case I did or say something wrong. But I just got tuned, I think.

The same as when strings in the guitar are being tuned – just the right tension and the right amount of pressure to come up with proper tune. Ah, such is life.

do people read captions? I do.

I am settling to listen to Rob Thomas' "Unwell" now. Have a great day ahead!

 

8
$ 3.21
$ 2.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bjorn
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

May ganyan pala na app? Basic lang alam ko sa guitar tas di ako marunong mag tune up hehe. Sarap pakinggan din si rob thomas kumanta e :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yung app ay GuitarTuna . Dependent lang din ako jan ahhaha.

Fact sir bestie! Ngayun sa utak ko yung Her Diamonds ni rob thomas

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Parang gusto ko tuloy bumili ng gitara din hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uy go go go sir!!! pang libang din ang music!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basic lang ata alam kos guitar 😭

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ayus lang yan oi. Basic din lang ako no worries.. we all start somewhere diba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved how you describe stars and the moon and their little game with you But perhaps they heard you play and now will deliver their end of the bargain :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe I read captions pp ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bwahaha .... Ok .. gotta be conscious with what i place there hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha not really, be as you are always are

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only know how to play one song hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oi. What song?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha lost boy. It's the most basic i think. It is really hard to learn how to play guitar

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lost boy as in lost boy peter pan?? Waaah nice! Ruth b lost boy peter pan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess. I love the song so much. You?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like it. Never heard it in guitar though! Interesting!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think i am not doing it the right way. I use basic chords G Em C. Our guitar has been broken last month so i couldn't practice. It is my sister who can play good. Also my brothers and Father. Hahaha i am thinking of writing an article about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go go go!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ilang years ng binabalak kong matuto mag gitara pero sana maharap kona.Napaka cool lang mga gitarista.😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Unti unti... 30min per day. ;) May friend ako dati ganun sabi. "Ate dahil gusto matutunan talaga, kagising ko unang dampot ko yung gitara". Ayun super galing nun!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah ok po😊cguro dapat ko na din bigyan ng time .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yikee actually no pressure din dapat ;) so enjoy enjoy! Pakantahin si lola din leymar!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo 😁.Mahilig po kumanta ng mga Ilokano and country songs kaya mas better kung may gitara 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehh, pero maalam ka mag guitar frenny sana all nga 😖

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Saktong tugtug lang frenny. Masaya sya aralin ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala kaming guitar sayang. Gusto ko din mag aral nyan noon, kaso mas masaya if may magtuturo tapos nasa likod ko sya looking so sweet wahahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bwhaha asan ba kasi siya?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nasa imagination ko 🤧😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaha buhayin yan at isulat sya!!! Ayiiieeee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ironic. I was just playing/singing that in my head, soul sister!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wah! That we are! Haha. Great day ahead ate! When exactly is your birthday? I am a little nosy too hahahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

2nd week haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha.. smart. Got it!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang baliw much. Ahaha dami ko tawa.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ok na gitara mo? duet na tau daliiii haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha...bet!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lesssgooooow

$ 0.00
2 years ago