All in the Game of Bluff

7 37
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

"Bluff" is today's favorite word. I do not particularly have a habit of picking a "word of the day" but for some days, some word just have more appeal than most. It is like walking through a typical crowded market where everyone is colored grey and at some point there is this one person who stands out because his grey suit suddenly glows yellow.

That is the word today : Bluff.

"Everybody Lies".

That is one line from Doctor House. Have you seen it? It is in that line that made me so fascinated about him and really liked him for his full-conviction in saying "everybody lies". It is a fact for us human beings anyway. Whether by self-preservation, or protecting someone else, it is still a lie.

And bluffing is one form of lying. A quick search with Google will give you some other way of trying to make "bluffing" the lesser lie.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

Bluffing is commonly accepted and used when one is using it to make an audience believe what he is selling them. It is used as a strategy.

Playing poker uses bluffing (and putting on a poker face) to make the other players think the cards placed down by the dealer completes the combination with what cards you are dealt with.

Bring your game on!

I have discovered just last December of other card games that uses some trickery and sorcery under the generic guise of bluffing making one think the other has a card that cannot be defeated with what card the one person has resulting to him succumbing to the road to defeat.

Those were fun bluffs. They are used in a game. Not that it is less of a lie.

Amusingly, you know? Used and mastered well, it can be an essential skill eventually. Because you can use that practiced habit of bluffing to spot and see right through some people's bluff.

Again, not that I agree that it should be used at all but me agreeing or not will not really stop anyone else from honing and mastering it.

I was just watching a courtroom episode where they get to pick out the jury -jury selection. We do not have jury in the Philippines . I was told long ago. Or do we now use jury?

Anyway, back to bluffing. The defense attorney tapped an old friend who wins most of her poker games because, well, she is good with bluffing and also played the game for too long she developed an eye for seeing right through others' bluffs.

The judge, the defense attorney, the prosecutor each asks jury candidates some questions. Watching the whole process, the lady friend also uses body language to gauge which candidate is bluffing.

Such skill of being aware of every "tell" and subtle communication and interpret it confidently is simply amazing. They also had to analyze that real quick.

We need that scouting-analyzing-sniffing-the-bluff skill sometimes. Not bluffing. Bluffing is au naturel for us humans. Reigning it in takes effort.

It is a bluffy world out there.


Don't get me wrong I still think humanity still have in their heart and mind to always lean on being real and truthful. And not deceiving or manipulative. But at one point or another, we do get trapped in situations.

Either we take control of the situation by bluffing or we reel in control of ourselves and err on the side of not using a bluff or two.

Arrgh. Let me go back to my jury selection.

What was your last bluff? Just curious.

What's your story?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

11
$ 4.24
$ 3.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 7
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Comments

I don't bluff. I'm too straightforward for that. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oh I always bluff to lure my son to obey me hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I already forgot my last bluff

$ 0.00
1 year ago

my last bluff? that I didn't care with someone LOL hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

aheeemmmmmmm pano kung ano nga may pa kanta kanta charizzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to bluff when my father was ready to confiscate and grounded me for a week because of something I did that's very inappropriate haha, I'll tell him and convince him haha why I did that and sometimes it's busted haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think I bluff that much. I can't even remember the last time I did anything close to bluffing. If I tell you it's like this, it's like that

$ 0.00
1 year ago