Life In Lagos City 5

1 46
Avatar for Phantastic
1 year ago

Her name is Ayomide, she is my senior colleague in school. I even forgot to mention to Ayomide earlier, that I also had a cousin that was studying law too. She is a nice girl. Do you have any means I could use to communicate with her, I asked with a sad face. She shook her head but offered to check her faculty WhatsApp group for her contact. I was relieved but not fully as my mind began to ponder on what and what I could have bought with my $85. Have found her contact, lucky you. She screamed from the sitting room.

Wonderful! Merciful God!!! I exclaimed. I don't know when I started dancing.

What is going on here, said my uncle who was surprised to see me that lively.

Nothing serious, my cousin replied. Welcome sir, welcome ma, I greeted both of them with a beaming smile. Emma, how are you? He asked.

Am fine sir, I had a great time today. Never knew Lagos was this big, busy and beautiful. Today happens to be the best day of my life, I said without stopping to catch my breath.

Truly, yoruba ladies have a thing for beauty. See a whole Jagaban talking plenty, even when the question was about how I was faring. My cousin signaled me to stop, she was scared I was going to tell him about Ayomide. Of course I would have, if not for her timely intervention. Dad, how was your day? What did you get for me? `` she che asked while giving me the "keep quiet" kind of look. It seems my uncle had a stressful day, as I saw him stretch and walked into his room. It's okay, Emma let me go and take my bath. Have you all had your dinner? My uncle's wife asked while leaving their room. Yes mummy, we echoed.

Dora walked up to me, hey! Couzo! Before I give you her contact, you need to appease the goddess of Lagos. Wonderful, merciful God, which kind wahala be this? goddess since when? I asked, almost crying. Have already lost $85, so any money related request could get me emotional. Have told you my own oh, she said while leaving.

See this small girl dey shake waist for Jagaban, shey she wan collect.

My beautiful yoruba crush face just flashed in my mind again. Wait! Wait!! How much do you need! I said reluctantly. Just get me shawarma with cold yoghurt, she replied. Alright, I will do that tomorrow, can I have the contact? I said humbly.

Love will make you humble, even when you are not a nice person. She smiled and typed the digit into my phone.

Eureka! Eureka!!!! I screamed.

My uncle and his wife ran to the sitting room. Eweey! Who sent me, my liver and kidney just cut.

What's the matter, Emma? Hope you are fine? He enquired. Yes sir, I just remembered Jesus died for our sins, and am so happy about that.

Yes! Christ died for us, I am so happy you are serious with your walk with God, come and sit here let's share the scriptures.

Wonderful, Merciful God, I exclaimed. Of course he is a merciful God, my uncle replied.

Eweeey! Jagaban done buy market, I spoke softly. I sat with him and he talked about God, his love for God. How he won souls for God in his 20's. He said so many things. I wasn't listening anymore, as I was busy imagining the "50 things I will do with Ayomide".

My eyes were almost closing, it seems you are tired, I snapped out from my wonderland. Yes uncle, let's continue tomorrow, I begged. My cousins were busy laughing at me, all this while.

It's okay, let's pray, he concluded. My uncle prayed for over 30 minutes, wonderful, merciful God!!!. I said amen, finally and hurried to my room.

I dialed her number, it rang but nobody answered. Then an idea came to mind. It would be nice if I could sing 'Ayo by Simi' for her. Instead of familiarising myself with the lyrics, I began dancing to the song. Shey! I dey craze ni. It wasn't my fault. She was just too beautiful abeg.

While dancing, my phone rang, she called back. Ha! I increased the intensity of my dance steps. You need to see me dance, go jagaban, go jagaban, I cheered myself.

Hello! I finally picked, this is Emmanuel, the guy you met at Ojuelegba today, how are you? Am really sorry for what happened, I said all this while gyrating to the soft song by Simi.

Which guy, I was home all day and besides who gave you my contact?

But eeerm, see am the one that, am really sorry for what, I entered danfo home, I was shocked I became a stammerer at the moment.

I can see you are not ready to talk, have a blissful night, she said as she hung up.

I dialed my cousin's line, she picked. Ha! Couzo how was it? Am sure you have murdered her with words, I trust you with your sweet mouth, she teased. Omor, it was a wrong contact, you gave to me.

It's true oh, I sent you another person's contact, her name is also Ayomide, she said. Tah! Her name can't be Ayomide, "she is Ko si Ayo" I said. We both laughed.

It was already past eleven, and it wouldn't be nice to call my this time. I went to bed thinking of my Ayomide, I never knew a night could be that long.

I woke up the next day, without saying my grace. Picked up my phone and dialed her number.

Hello, good morning Ayomide, how are you and how was your night rest?

Sorry please, who is on the line, she said.

Eweey! Wonderful, Merciful God!! I exclaimed.

3
$ 0.45
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Nourin-11
$ 0.02 from @LykeLyca
+ 1
Sponsors of Phantastic
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Phantastic
1 year ago

Comments

Very good articles u wrote. All the best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago