Childhood Memories

11 32
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago
Topics: Parenting, Daily life, Lesson, Learn, Gems, ...

Lead image

A flashback sometime in the early 1980s reminds me of some of the mischievous acts I tried. This was done because I wanted to escape being flogged by my mother who believed that some actions are not mistakes but done with intention.

Explain What You Did

Bed-Wetting & Pretence During my childhood days, bedwetting was very popular among children unlike it is now. I come from a home where we were about ten children (cousins inclusive) and we share our sleeping spaces. During our very playful nature, when I in particular go to sleep, I begin to dream insane in the bathroom easing myself, only to wake up to find that I have bed-wetting.

At that instance, I would just go change my cloth, push the person sleeping next to me into the urine, claiming innocent. Isn't that mischievous?

I did that for several weeks. As I write this post, I can see how it all happened. How the innocent bed-wetter gets beaten and how I, the culprit go score free.

I had gone so far and fast putting my wet cloth under the bed and when everyone has gone out, I'd quickly add into onto the soaked clothes mom would wash. With this, I didn't stop bed-wetting.

Caught In The Act

One night, I haven't slept for up to three hours that I soaked the mattress with urine from my bladder. As usual, I woke up, to change my clothes, not knowing my mom was busy killing mosquitoes, she stood just at the door post watching me.

When I had done changing cloth and pushing the person sleeping next to me, mom stopped me. It was an awkward night. At the top of her voice, she woke everyone up showing them what I had done.

It was one such moment I termed embarrassing. I used to be the coolest dude at home until that night. Mom did get to beat me as she would. She talked about this my deed for close to a month. The talk was painful than being beaten with a rod.

My Bed Was Taken Away

That same night, my lovely mom, the one I called my idol (she still is) made a pronouncement that gave me some discomforting experience but changes my life to date. I was banished from sleeping in the until further notice. Truly, I can't remember for now I had to sleep on the mat. But one thing that I would be grateful for is that my journey to bedwetting came to an abrupt end after that night.

This time, I possibly cannot lie to anyone again because I sleep on the mat alone. This experience marked the end my bed-wetting experience during my childhood.

This memory brings to mind the song of one of Nigeria's best gospel minister. I think this song is inspired by a supernatural force. When a life is to change from one level to another, there would be a significant air of fresh breath.

Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty

Father to child
Spirit to spirit
Lighted by Your word

And with Your breath of life
That's how I come alive
That's how I change my world

Father to child
From Your Spirit to my spirit
I am lighted by Your word

And with Your breath of life
That's how I come alive
That's how I change my world

Just breathe Your name upon me
Breathe
Just breathe Your name upon me
Breathe

YAHWEH
Is Your name, breathe Lord
Just breathe Your name upon me
Breathe

Say Father to child (Father to child)
Spirit to spirit
Lighted by Your word

And with Your breath of life
That's how I come alive
That's how I change my world
(That's how I change my world)

Say Father to child
Spirit to spirit
Lighted by Your word
With Your breath of life
That's how I come alive
That's how I change my world
(That's how I change my world)

Just breathe Your name upon me
Breathe
Just breathe Your name upon me
Breathe

YAHWEH (YAHWEH)
Is Your name, breathe Lord
Just breathe Your name
(Just breathe Your name upon me)
Breathe

Lift your hands up, say just breathe Your name
Just breathe Your name upon me
Breathe (yeah)
Just breathe Your name upon me
Breathe

YAHWEH
Is Your name, breathe Lord
Just breathe Your name
(Just breathe Your name upon me)
Breathe

Say Father to child (Father to child)
Spirit to spirit
Lighted by Your word

And with Your breath of life
That's how I come alive
That's how you change your world
(That's how I change my world)

Say Father to child (Father to child), mm
Spirit to spirit
Lighted by Your word

With Your breath of life
That's how I come alive
(That's how I come alive)
That's how I change my world
(That's how I change my world)

Somebody lift your voice and say
Just breathe Your name upon me
Breathe
Just breathe Your name upon me
Breathe

YAHWEH
Is Your name, breathe Lord (hey)
Just breathe Your name upon me
Breathe

Lift your hands and sing
Just breathe Your name
(Just breathe Your name upon me)
Breathe (oh)
Just breathe Your name upon me
Breathe

Dunsi Oyekan

Perhaps you have gone through some of the worse childhood experiences and some of those experiences still haunts you, all you may just need is a fresh breath from the Breath of Life who gives without asking for pay.

7
$ 4.71
$ 4.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @George_Dee
+ 4
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago
Topics: Parenting, Daily life, Lesson, Learn, Gems, ...

Comments

As a child I remember going through this too. Especially that waking up to change my clothing and the bed spread.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I so much love Dunsin's songs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of us are guilty of bed wetting when we were young, it was part of childhood. It took the timely intervention of my father for me to stop. I still remember that day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bedwetting dreams are unique because it is happening while you are seeing them in your dreams. I can't remember my bed wetting experience because my mom wakes up twice every night and we got used to waking up twice.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Your mom really had to murder her sleep to ensure you guys didn't bed-wet. Such a mother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Man, I did that too. Changing cloth and pushing some on the wet part of the bed and looking all innocent in the morning.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

🀣🀣 See me. Thought I was in a world of my own, never knew there are so many accomplices.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have experienced this during our childhood stage but all are bygones now 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You too, mummy G.O? Childhood seem the same for us all in e sort of ways.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do that a lot too, whenever I bed wet then😩😩 but now ama big girl 😁😁😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Who woulda thought a slay queen like you did that too? Well, those were some of the old school memories to reminisce.

$ 0.00
2 years ago