The Crypto Writer's 10 Commandments!

32 185
Avatar for Pantera
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Community

With writing, one fact only is crystal clear. It is not a simple task.

From a very young age, we recognize in ourselves if we lean towards having what it takes. Many of us can reach the status of an average writer, but only a few escape mediocrity and achieve a superior writing and artistic quality.

Probably I will never perform a lot better than being just an average writer. My vocabulary is insufficient and I will probably need to attend an English literature course to become better.

I can write just fine though about cryptocurrencies that is the niche I am concentrating on.

I didn’t choose to write on cryptocurrencies it was probably crypto that selected me. I learned a lot within the five years I am active in the “Cryptoverse”, yet I don’t remember exactly why I started writing.

I was testing platforms, looking more into how each blockchain network operates, and always tried to determine the pros and cons of each one. I am result-oriented with deciding about my investments and the last thing I wanted was to fund a stagnant and expensive network.

Without further ado like a modern crypto-Moses that recently descended from Mount Gox (Sinai), I bring you the 10 Writer’s Commandments!

The Commandments!

Not exactly commandments but mostly common knowledge.

i) Be honest with your audience

ii) Write about topics you enjoy

iii) Write with passion

iv) Be fair with other writers

v) Keep doing research

vi) Don’t write just for an income

vii) Be persistent

viii) Learn touch typing

ix) Study writing techniques and the English language

x) Don't plagiarize

xi) Personalised Rule (s)

More Details

Image from: Pixabay (Licence)

i) Be honest with your audience

Our audience is the whole internet. Seven billion people are searching the web daily and this is our target group. It is required to have an honest approach and respect our audience. We can’t write about something we don’t understand. It is better to write about subjects we have personal experience with and avoid any topic that we are not entirely sure about.

Remember the proverb: "A little knowledge is a dangerous thing".

It is dangerous for our audience as we may direct them to horrible mistakes, but also for us since our incomplete knowledge and mistakes will become obvious.

When it is required to write a section about a topic we haven't had enough experience or knowledge of, it is better to explain this to our readers.

Mistakes can happen but it is better to limit them to a minimum and conduct more research before we publish.

ii) Enjoy writing

If you don't enjoy it, but find it to be another routine, then maybe this is not for you.

We write about subjects that we find interesting and enjoy the time we put into it. If you feel you are forcing yourself when write, then the result will not be as great as you would have wanted to.

Why should you write about anything else than topics that you find interesting? I've explained in the previous paragraph that our audience is seven billion people. We don't need to try and write about topics that we don't like just because they are "hot" topics. Any topic we select will always have an audience.

iii) Write with passion 

You will need that fire burning in your heart. Without passion, you will find your articles being dull and leaving a lot to be desired.

When we are telling a story, we can't be flat and not express feelings. Passion is the outcome of the above example. If we write about things we enjoy too much, we will probably be passionate about them.

iv) Be fair with other writers

We may have to provide commentary to other writers' work at times. This requires a delicate approach since we may have an idea of what they are going through. We can't comment by asking twenty questions just to confuse the audience and the writer and try to create an impression. If we disagree and definitely have to write something useful, this needs to be written politely and contain logical arguments.

The opinion of everyone is respected, and we don't need to challenge the opinion. We don't have to counter argue the opinion of someone that spend hours writing an articlel. If we disagree it doesn't matter, we can move on.

We can challenge the facts that are presented though if these are mistakenly transferred and contain errors.

v) Keep doing research

After some time we will run out of topics. We will probably need to keep researching and follow the news depending on the topics we discuss in our publications. Otherwise, we will be left behind and our articles will be outdated.

Research can take a lot of hours daily but it is important as we will find new and interesting topics to cover in our articles.

vi) Don’t write just for an income

Is this your ultimate goal? Then you are in for a disappointment. Write because you love writing. Money will not make you happier, but it is something that could come later. The focus should always be on the quality of writing, not on the money itself.

vii) Be persistent

There will be events that will bring us down to earth, and sometimes we will think about it again and may decide to quit too early. It all depends, but if we are truly in a quest to reach a respected writer's status we should better leave every drawback behind and be more persistent. In some situations, writing will also help us.

viii) Learn touch typing.

Start now. I mean it.

Spend 3–4 hours daily to learn how to use a keyboard properly. That's what I did for a couple of months and then kept practicing. A year later I was able to write with extremely high speed and accuracy.

Your productivity will increase exponentially and you will find it very easy to instantly digitize your thoughts in an article. I remember myself writing fast without touch-typing, but it was 1/3rd of how fast I can write now.

Imagine the time you spare and how exhausting it is to look at the keyboard and back at the screen. You will find a whole new world in front of you after a while.

You will be able to write all your thoughts instantly. It is this fast.

ix) Study writing techniques

There are many techniques like descriptive or narrative writing. We don't lose anything studying these techniques and we will enhance our writing style. We should try to become better with our English and enrich our vocabulary. English courses of higher level and reading English literature will certainly help us evolve.

x) Don't plagiarize

We are not lazy or incompetent to plagiarize from fellow writers. It is a terrible act and sadly some still don't understand the damage plagiarism is causing. Even if you disagree with anything else I've written, this one is the golden rule nobody should ever break.

xi) Personalised Rule(s)

Frankly, I don't like most rules. These are for children or immature adults when learning how to behave in an organized society. When it comes to writing though, I feel that I am still in a juvenile state and comparing myself with top authors I feel desperate and hopeless.

Following these steps seems to be a logical approach that could increase the quality of our writing. Consequently, our followers will increase and we could maybe reach higher recognition for our written works.

Everyone will need rules fitting to their living conditions, lifestyle, personal conditions, etc. Some rules can be bend as everyone has a different approach and writing style. 

Every writer has their own set of rules. Some just write for a couple of hours, others have a schedule and some don't want anything to disrupt their attention when writing and wear headphones. This is all personal matters.

Some writers don't like political discussions and have the rule to avoid commenting on these topics. It can be anything, and these are rules that we set and will have to live by them.

Final thoughts

Image from: Pixabay (Pixabay Licence)

This article is not about cutting edges, not about hacking your way into increased views, and not about tricks to increase followers.

I never looked for any of these options when I started and my only aim was to become a better author. I removed many of the common words I was using and kept improving my vocabulary.

I don’t care about SEO (Search Engine Optimization) either, until recently I didn’t know such kind of optimization existed.

Most of us don't have many differences, I am not a better writer than anyone that will be reading this.

I suggest to any other user that is at an average level like me, not to waste time with any tricks. Focus on the writing task, do it with joy, and be passionate about it.

I didn't create this article to restraint your creativity, it is mostly my rules and how I am approaching this so far. Everyone is free to have their own approach and perform accordingly.

Backpage.


Images:

Lead Image From: Pixabay (Pixabay Licence)


Notes

Bitworkerss! was launched today!! I will spend more time with it and write a full review tomorrow, after posting my first job post!

Good luck to Cryptomax and Bitworkerss!

Link: https://bitworkerss.cash/

Follow me on:

● ReadCash ● NoiseCash  ● Medium ● Hive ● Steemit   ●Vocal ● Minds

● Twitter ● LinkedIn Reddit

30
$ 16.14
$ 14.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.20 from @Crackers
+ 16
Sponsors of Pantera
empty
Avatar for Pantera
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Community

Comments

Thank youuu sir for this infos. Really appreciate it. I will try my best to be a good writer like you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir for your onpoint advice to become a good writer i am new to read and i do hope i could improve more my writing skills.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for this details it helps me a lot in my writing skills I have really difficulties in English but I will do this things to improve my writing skills. Thank you so much for this God bless you and keep safe. Hoping to read more article from you also.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You are welcome. I am glad that I helped. I feel that many of us can improve a lot and manage to make it to a better level.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hadn't written for a long time when I came to Noise and Read. I was a blogger when blogs started to become popular. But then, I got busy and stopped.

I love reading and learning about crypto, but it isn't what I like to write about. I write whatever comes to my mind. I have no intention of becoming a great writer, but writing seems like a liberating activity to me. And for me, the important thing is to write honestly from my heart. I don't understand why someone has to copy others, and less on a platform like this where you can write about almost anything. Of course, there may be some financial motivation. But for me, it isn't the main thing. Thank you for these points that hit the target.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I am a newbie in read.cash platform, thank you for these tips 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome here. I am often giving advise but I think that most I can give is written here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The 10 commandments you made summarize everything we keep on saying every time we bump into newbies, just so they'll know what to do and what's not especially to copy others works just for the sake of monetizing.

Good works! Have a nice day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im just new in writing articles so its very usefull for me reading article like this.thank you for writing this one.I will use these commandments to improve my writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like your article and I also learned how to type in keyboard quickly, even though I'm used to type in my phone than the physical keyboard. Through that, I can easily type all the things that I want to convey in just a span of two hours, and I'm not that certain to publish that article so I'll double check first. To be honest, I remember something on number IV, which I will never forget in my six months of writing existence. Nonetheless, I'll apply all the things that you said, and thank you for sharing your thoughts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest, I remember something on number IV, which I will never forget in my six months of writing existence.

What is that?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry again but here's the article which I'll never forget from your work. Anyway, that's already the past and I guess that we should completely forget about it. Certainly, I take a look on this article again, and you told that you don't care if it's not fair. That's not a big deal to me anymore, don't worry.

https://read.cash/@Pantera/the-cheat-circle-from-a-certain-country-562f82ef

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll never forget from your worm

You are calling me a worm?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Work I mean. I'll edit it. Sorry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, to answer about the number IV. You have to read the details. You completely misunderstood what this is about.

I don't consider someone that is a cheater to be a fellow writer. Also, it mattered a lot that these cheaters got comments of support from others that should have instead blocked them and condemned them.

How does it look when someone is plagiarising when you are taking so many hours to write your article? Why would anyone consider supporting them, unless they were also cheating and plagiarising?

Anyway, you missed the point as I explained. Read the details if you want. I don't go on with this anymore, I will just report the cheaters and not try to convince anyone to change after being instructed so by Simon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't say that I'm against upon you, and I also hate spammers as well. You just need to advocate us if someone is a spammer or plagiarizer in a right way, and you don't need to block them/us. I don't still have an idea why you unblocked me, but thanks. I completely understand you, and I think I just misunderstood other info. By the way, I'm proud of you since you're just doing the best through the entire community. I can't imagine if they're still funding by the bot, and that's kinda unfair to us. Thank you again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's add proofreading to that! Drives me crazy to read poor grammar and spelling.

I learnt to touch type at school. Must be hard for those into crypto blogging who do it entirely on their phone!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Sometimes I make many grammar mistakes that I only realize after publishing. It isn't easy to spot but I'm always trying to review and correct the mistakes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've learned typing in school back when there were still typewriters :D I'm not sure but I think we were the third to last batch to have that subject before it was finally removed from curriculum. As much as I want to write other topics, travel and food is where I feel most comfortable with. I still have to work on my way of describing things. I admire writers here who can be descriptive just like wilddreamings :D

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Thanks for a lot of information you gave, as you said it is not made to increase views but tocut edges and become a great writer.

When I was a kid I really want to write but too shy that my readers will disappoint on my work so I didn't let anyone read it until I stopped writing. The. I found this platform who I didn't know who my readers are. With a different name they wouldn't know who I am too.

That write with passion and enjoy writing is what I like, when you do what you want you'll gonna enjoy it and end up writing a lot of things. Im a narrative writer and I love to tell stories than writing an article.

Ill take a copy of what you said thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not confident when it comes to typing fast. One more thing, I write through my phone. But I work in office so I guess I improved on a PC keyboard. But as I said, I still write blogs through my small phone. 😂 By the time I buy myself a PC or a laptop, I will train myself better in this area.

I agree very much to write about topic I enjoy or know about. I don't write about things I have little knowledge about just to appear smart, or gain view from a specific audience.

Until now, my writing experience has been so fun because I chose to just write and read works of people with works worth reading, share about my personal experiences, and ignore ANY negativities nor issues, especially when I am not involved. Haha. It's best to just focus on my own growth, and it works.

I am happy to say I apply the rules always. Recently though, I started to check my works into plagiarism detectors (even they are personal blogs) just so I can have peace of mind.

Thanks a lot for sharing these ten commandments. 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In life we must always follow rules so I don't see why in writing there shouldn't be rules. I don't consider myself a writer but I do have a passion for writing and if I make money from writing that's even better. I do say that I would like to improve my lexicon in writing because so far it's very short. But I have no doubt that he who perseveres gets what he wants. In the meantime I will continue to have fun writing and sharing with those we can share in this great family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every writer needs to see this and use it as a guide when developing themselves in the writing aspect.

I don't want to believe that everyone is perfect with the ink but a lot of positive things (the commandments) we put into consideration while writing every day will help us become better.

In addition to your points, I believe lots of people back off when they feel like they are not earning enough. We must make writing our passion first and put the interest of our audience in mind because that has a lot to do with our success in that field.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I would like to comment on "A little knowledge is a dangerous thing". I absolutely agree. Honestly, sometimes I tried to write a short post about crypto on noise.cash after I registered there. Because I thought I MUST do this. And I think instead of integrating into the community with these posts, I made myself ridiculed. Yet this is not the worst, but if we are giving the wrong information to other beginners as a beginner. Unfortunately, I have very little knowledge of crypto, so I don't write about it, I prefer to write about my own experiences and thoughts from my life anyway. Maybe no one curious about what I’m writing, but who knows? I’m interested in personal themed articles, so maybe others as well. You remember for the snail post 😃 maybe something is no valuable for somebody but valuable for others. We don’t have the same taste. And this comment is the perfect example of how to write in multiple sentences about nothing. Hahaha!😄 Sorry for the nonsensical comment, I don’t know what I wanted to write originally.

$ 0.20
2 years ago

I loved your comment, it made perfect sense! I'm glad you took the time and mentioned all these and I agree 100%. In the beginning with crypto, I was completely ignorant too. Don't let this annoy you or stop you from writing about other subjects! I am really glad for your comment, thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are a good reminder for me. I must admit I only write on my laptop, after years using a computer I am a fast writer, how people can do on a phone is beyond my wee brain. You have nailed the money part, too many people are here for money primarily, and have no intention of improving as writers. I have been on other crypto related platforms but never written there as I don't feel I have sufficient relevant knowledge to make any informative articles. Here my motivation is for me to get my writing mojo back and finish some novels I am writing. To that end, this platform is working , and letting me explore different types of fictional writing.

My advice for everyone is to write from the heart, be passionate and make it original and for goodness sake do not fall to the trap of plagiarism!

$ 0.20
2 years ago

I like your list a lot! For myself as the 11th commandment I would add: take feedback onboard. It is not always nice to deal with feedback, but if you're learning it is imperative!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Nice and easy commandments to learn by heart ! ☺

$ 0.05
2 years ago

How would it have been best if all writers could adhere to this commandments of your duo they are complex and can scare people off writing. Not everyone has passion for writing read. Cash as produce a lot of writers with strategies. And some commentary runner they write their own expression on other people articles

$ 0.08
2 years ago

Well, I think that an opinion is not something we should be judging. Especially as writters. We should be leaving that to the audience. Some have strategies when writting, I don't think it is wrong, but I think that it could be better to write plain and honestly. I hope that I didn't scare someone, my purpose is to explain what my rules are. I really think for example that everyone should try to learn to touch-type. You can't imagine how much more efficient and relaxing it is. It takes time, and it is for desktop PC users of course, not for mobile users.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting and ambitious title to give your recommendations to those who, like you, are amateur but passionate writers.

Taking the quintessential moral decalogue for Westerners who still profess an intelligent faith is a great compromise.

I think that writing with the mosaic instructions as a framework covers the ideas that you masterfully expressed.

I have read something during my life, especially in Spanish, and something in English. So modesty aside, I can say that you are not an average writer, perhaps not promoted or famous. I see passion beyond grammar correctness. An indispensable attitude of the writers.

In fact, the writer is forged by writing and reading while he enjoys.

So go ahead my friend, he continues to enjoy behind the keyboard.

$ 0.55
2 years ago

When I saw the topic, I was anxious to see what the ten commandments of a writer could be. You have done justice to them all especially writing with passion. I have come to understand that not everyone are passionate about writing unless they would be tired on the way because they wouldn't have ideas on what to write again. When you have passion for something, it will be easier for you on the journey- same as writing. We also need not to focus only on the income. Yes, we all understand we need money but when it has become the main purpose of writing, there is tendency that you will stop writing when you feel discouraged because money isn't coming forth. Write from your mind, make research and focus only on your niche.

Thanks for this wonderful write up.

$ 0.20
2 years ago

You have given us the true ten writing commandments which are the best to follow. While writing, we should always write from our mind and with passion. Most of us were not good writers but with the aid of platform like this, made us to have full confidence in writing. I got to understand fully the true meaning of plagiarism when I was in uptrennd and I never for once partake in plagiarism because it is like stealing people's sweat and labour.

So, while writing, we should always look at something around us or something we have full knowledge about. In so doing, we can be able to perfectly and conveniently write without doubt.

Thanks for these commandments you have given to us here...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks you, it was a very thoughtful comment and I think that when we are in doubt about what we write this also becomes obvious to the reader. If we are in doubt we need more research and we will finalize our thoughts on the topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Consistency matters a lot in every thing you do in life and the art of perfection is based on how you've been able to make up your mind to succeed.

$ 0.05
2 years ago