Fire Is A Good Servant But A Bad Master

27 104
Avatar for Pachuchay
1 year ago
Topics: Fire, Writing Prompt

We are now experiencing very hot weather. According to Google, we are under 32 degrees Celsius. Wow, it feels like we are under toast. Anyway, since we are now talking about the hot weather, I remember @JonicaBradley Writing Prompt # 29: Fire. As you can see, it is all about fire. I've had my fair share of firefighting experience, so seeing a large fire makes me nervous. 

I don't hate fire. Fire means life, right? But from what I had experienced, it made me terrified of it.

Let's start when I was only 11 years old. I love to cook, so every time my cousins wanted something for snacks, I always volunteered to cook for them. Most of the time, I cooked champorado. Then one time, we ran out of gas, and my Lola told me to use the kerosene stove. I don't know if you are familiar with it, but you can see the photo below as reference.

Photo Source

So I was busy cooking when I did not notice that the hose got stuck in the pot, and so it melted and the kerosene went out and the fire started to immerse. I was so terrified that I shouted, "Fire, fire, fire!" My Lola almost had a heart attack because of that, and the whole kitchen was almost caught on fire. It's a good thing that our neighbors were fast enough to put out the fire. After that incident, I never dared get close to our kitchen again. It took months before I moved on from that incident, and I never used a kerosene stove again.

The next incident happened when I was cleaning in our backyard at our old house. It was afternoon, and I was busy cleaning our backyard. Our house was surrounded by tall grass and dry leaves because it was summer when it happened. I gathered some dried leaves on one side and put them on fire, but because it was windy, the fire also caught the dried leaves from the vacant lot and created a big fire. It only took a couple of minutes before the whole lot was on fire. I was so terrified that I could not move an inch. Then I heard one of my neighbors shouting at me to run because I might get caught on fire too. My neighbors were already clamoring to put out the fire. There was ongoing construction in the neighboring lot, and the workers also helped to put out the fire. 

When the fire was under control, one of my neighbors, Ate Beth, told me in a funny way, "At least di na mahirapan maglinis yung may-ari ng lote kasi linis na linis na, HAHAHA!

We all laughed after that, but my heart was pounding so hard and I was really trembling. I was happy that no one got hurt and no property was damaged, or else I would be in deep shit.

--

I have a few more experiences, but I will share only two. You can join if you want to share your experiences or tell something about fire.

You can join @JonicaBradley Writing Prompt #29: Fire. Here's how;

If you'd like to take part in this prompt, here's how:

  1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

  2. Write anything about FIRE

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Write at least 600 words for Rusty to be happy

  5. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

  6. Tag @JonicaBradley

  7. Have fun!

--

Date Published: May 25, 2022

GIF Source

11
$ 12.47
$ 12.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 8
Sponsors of Pachuchay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pachuchay
1 year ago
Topics: Fire, Writing Prompt

Comments

I'm glad you're okay and safe. I haven't used a kerosene stove in ten years. I'm not sure I know how it works anymore.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad you weren't hurt by the fire, dear. I had a bad experience

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You could share your other experiences in another article and submit to PromptlyJonica if you wanted. It must've been scary for you both of these times.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Noted Miss Jonica..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Heheh, nako nakakatuwa naman na may halong pangamba Buti nalang tuda rescue din Ang mga tao at naagapan kaagad ang song.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti na lang talaga tinulungan ako ng mga kapitbahay ko, jusko kaloka eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga be grateful to them Kasi tinulungan ka friend. Thanks God

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aguyy, basta sa apoy talaga ibayong pag iingat ang kelangan ee. Lalo sina Mommy laging yan ang paalala lalo na apoy, sa isang iglap lahat ng pinag paguran maaaring matunaw.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Korek madam, sabi nga nila di baleng manakawan ka wag lang masunugan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti na lang hindi nagkaroon ng accident ng sunog sa amin nung nasa Manila kami kasi kung mangyayari yon, siguro magpapatiwakal na lang ako. Dikit Dikit kasi ang bahay namin noon eh hehe. Wala lang skl hehe,yung kapatid ko mahilig sa sunog hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yan angbhirap sa Manila un dikit dikit ang bahay tapos puro pa light materials, uubusin talaga bahay tapos kapag minalas pa pati buhay..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, linis na linis na pla. 🤣.. Basta wag lang bahay huhu.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo Jane, linis na linis un lote eh.. Yung dating madawag eh nalinis hahaha.. Pero grabe ang kaba ko noon kasi may mga poste ng kuryente sa tabi. Buti na lang nagtulungan mga kapitbahay ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako naman ate parang same don sa story mo sa bakanteng lote pero ung sa akin nawitness ko un sa bukirin mismo na malapit sa bahay namin. In terms sa trauma or phobia man, ayoko nung nasa gasolinahan tapos makakakita ako ng magcecellphone kasi alam ko nakakatrigger un ng pagsabog eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same beh kapag nagpapagas kami tapos may nakikita ako nag ccp, sinasaway ko talaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nako ung ibang tao kasi walang takot ehhh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sinabi mo pa, buti kung sila lang yun madidisgrasya eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

mandadamay pa no ate wahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Korek😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahahhaha ako din may ganyang karanasan... Nung bata ako e nagooyohan kami ng kuya ko kung sino titingin sa sinaing... Tas ako ayoko talaga kase nasa second floor ako nun nasa tindahan ng ukay ukay... Tas ginawa ng kuya ko umalis.eh ako sutil so talagang di ko pinuntahan Yung sinaing... eh that time may karenderya din kami... Sakto may bumiling kanin tas pagbaba ko nagliliyab na Yung kaldero tas malapit na apoy sa shellane...

Galit na galit panganay Kong kuya dun sa bunso Kong kuya..hahhahahaha pero sabi talaga palitin na hose ng shellane na yun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha nkau buti naagapan pa sis kaloka..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napaka dali lng matunaw ng ganyang hose talaga ng kerosene risky siya lalo na pag di masyado malayo ang apoy sa hose at kahit malayo may tendency parin na mag melt kasi yung nakita ko ganyang lutuan eh parang tranparent lng yung hose na manipis lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, risky talaga sya pero yan un life saver namin dati kapag naubusan ng gasul.. Kaso dapat ingat talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakatakot naman nun sis ,ewan ko kung anong gagawin ko kung ako yung nasa sitwasyon na yan😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Matataranta ka talaga sis..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

fire is really needed but also as a destroyer of life so we have to be careful using it in cooking or burning useless things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you.. Just like my title, it is a good servant but a bad master.

$ 0.00
1 year ago