Empty Bottles, Broken Homes - Entry 2

25 50
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

The noise is louder today...

My neighbor's wife screaming at the top of her lungs as he lands punch after punch. The noise today has to perplex everyone in the neighborhood, but no one dares challenge that man, not after he's been drinking.

There's never a time you'll see him without a bottle in his hands. People used to say that there was a time he was forced to abstain from drinking, so he cut his own wrist and drank the blood flowing and got drunk again. It was probably meant to be a funny story, but there's nothing funny about it. With that liquid he kindled a drunken fire at the base of the home that used to be called happy, and he has reduced it to ashes.

His children used to look healthy and full of life, but now, the two charming young men show up at school with bruises under their eyes, looking as sickly as ever. Their grades are slipping, because no one is there to help them with their school work. Their mom has been beaten so much, I hear she's filing a divorce soon. Maybe it's what's best for her. Maybe that way, she'll be able to escape the horror of that home.

It all started when he lost his job. He, like most men, used to say alcohol provided a much needed release in his life. A chance to escape from the harsh reality of life. I don't support that ideology. I think alcohol is a worm that eats into the core of a person's being, and transforms them from good to bad, from man to monster.

This is my second entry

Topic: The effects of alcohol

Device Used: Smartphone

Timer: Smartphone

Start time: 9:18 pm (West African Time, GMT+1)

Stop time: 9:27 pm

Prompts used: perplex, people, ashes, release, support, worm

Corrected with: None

Not translated

13
$ 0.02
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.01 from @marblely
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

This speaks much reality. I also know some families like this in our neighborhood. It really didn't turn out well for the children.

That's a very good content😊 I noticed the very good title too 😊❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, I've learned that when you write from your experiences, you keep the content as real as possible.

As for the title, when you read articles from writers like @Winona, I'm sure you get some inspiration πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ”₯✍️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, oh boy, now I'm flatteredπŸ˜‚ I am not much of a good writer to draw inspiration from but thanks, that's very motivating and kind of you. I got some inspiration from you in return at your second entry, I might consider writing about less understood societal perspective.

Yes. Writing from experience makes all the writing process so natural thus creating a powerful content that appeals to the audience. Just like what you did here😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awesome πŸ”₯✍️ Looking forward to your next masterpiece

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like how you said it's probably meant to be funny but, yeah, it's not. People might think it's funny but truly not funny at all. What the man is going through is full struggle against the effect of alcohol when he slit the wrist and drank blood when tried abstaining.

This one is sad and it feels real because it happens. I have seen a lot of broken homes over empty bottles of alcoholic drinks. Children are the most affected. Some good men lose their control with alcohol and it's heartbreaking.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The overall effect is really disheartening, I wish people would see how many families have been broken by Alcohol. It would not really be worth the use then, would it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What can I say. This article really deserve to win. What you wrote is all true. This is happening in some families. The worst that I've heard was a Drunk Father massacre all members of his family even if his 1 year old kid. πŸ˜”πŸ˜”πŸ˜” That man also ended his life.

Still this alcohol, strong alcohol are in the market. They say drink responsible but when you get drunk you'll having some dellutions. The rumors say than man is alcoholic and crazy. I feel bad for those kids. πŸ˜”πŸ˜”πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot. It's a personal experience, so that explains why you get it. Unfortunately Alcohol is destroying families everywhere but they still sell it.

I heard there was a time in the US when alcohol was banned. But then they entered the Great Depression, and had to lift the ban because Alcohol was good for the economy (but bad for the families!)

It's sad to hear what that man did to his family. 😫

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Banning alcohol is Impossible at this time but the government can prohibited it for specific reasons. But not for long. In my country they even do trick just to slip an alcohol from those policemen..

Your article is so good and awareness for everyone. Hopefully no one in this platform can be that man. Thank you @Ozzyy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome. Such laws will always be susceptible to violation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a very nice article. You have just taken time explain the effect of alcohol in a way considered simple and educative. You really deserve a prize. Kudos!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Brother, God bless you for this Eye-opener.. Alcohol is never a source of release, it is only a greater form of bondage!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks bro! True that!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow just Wow. I forgot reading can boost your imagination. I can see, hear and feel all what I read. I hope the mother wakes up from that horror.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a terrible situation, and it's rampant too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agreed. She must think of her son's first.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This made me teary eyed. πŸ₯Ί I remembered my childhood. The times when my fathers used to beat my mom when he's drunk. But thank God my mother was brave enough and broke up with him long time ago.

Congratulations for winning! Well deserved! Cheers! πŸ₯‚πŸ₯‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's very sad. It's bad enough he was an alcoholic, but I hate hearing how such men treat their family.

You're one of the lucky ones, your mother was courageous enough to break up. She's a hero in all respects. πŸ’œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. That's why I am proud of her. I also told her your comment, she smiled and said thank you. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's beautiful πŸ’œπŸ‘‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is really good @Ozzyy. You captured the feelings so well that one can emphatize with family. It is sad to read how much a reality this is. Congratulations on your win!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a very good and impressive freewrite. You brought something new to this platform, the community and dared to describe what happens in so many families, to so many worldwide if alcohol starts reigning! πŸ€πŸ‘πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the encouragement and the upvote! It was one of your articles that motivated me to look at it from the family aspect and I'm happy to know that I at least pulled it off well.

Alcohol has resulted in more damage families than I've been able to depict, but I've tried as much as possible to put in enough within 10 minutes.πŸ”₯✍️

$ 0.00
3 years ago