And The WINNERS Are!!!

62 134
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

First off, I want to start by congratulating every one of you who submitted entries to this contest. We started slow, but with time, I saw a determination to publish great stories here and it resulted in these wonderful works from our friends:

@Charlotte with Hear the Sound of Silence

@marblely with Regrets

@Eybyoung with Psycopath

@wakeupkitty with Peace of Mind

@hamedbkh with Behind the Shadows: The Starving Cave

One Herculean task was judging these works without bias, and I and @Hanzell soon discovered that we would need a third judge, but we discovered this too late and so we had to resort to other methods.

But first, let us see the criteria for judging:

  • Nice character development

  • Unique, interesting plot

  • Grammar and Spellings

  • Easy to follow by readers

From the criteria above, which we both had in mind, we were able to produce these three as finalists: @hamedbkh, @Charlotte, and @marblely.

This is not to say that their articles weren't without flams, but they were minimal, and what they lacked in any one of these criteria, they fulfilled in the other three.

@Eybyoung: You had a great romantic plot going there for you, but the introduction of the thriller aspect kinda ruined the story, because you were using a light tone in describing the gory parts, giving it less of an effect than it should. That weakened the plot twist that should have killed it for you.

Also, you shouldn't use the bold typeface so much, and your grammar needed some polishing. wakeupkitty recommended Grammarly to me because I was a lazy proofreader, and I think it worked out just fine.

@wakeupkitty: As always, an enjoyable read. The grammar was spot on with minimal issues, but the plot was quite complex and difficult to follow up. Some parts fitted to each other, but the seamless finish was lacking, so it felt like we were reading different stories in the end.

It was great for a story derived from random prompts, but it was quite difficult to follow up with.

And then our finalists

@hamedbkh your story was great despite how brief it was. You maintained the thriller vibe, and your grammar was about 85% good. Your only issue was that you revealed the plot twist too early as in the time where Chris was talking about his sprained ankle. That sort of made the story lose its thrill.

@marblely you had a few punctuation issues in the beginning but it all turned out right! I enjoyed your story with its drama, even though the ending was a sad and uncertain one.

@Charlotte you by far had the most superior plot of the whole contest, and the final twist was divine and sad as well. I enjoyed how you ended the story, with all the sacrifice, and in the end, it was an amazing read.

That aside, your grammar could have used some polishing, and I'll admit you were in a rush. Still, great posts.

And now the winners

Hanzell and I had a thought time judging this - a rookie mistake to have only two judges, I'll finetune this next time. But in the end, it all boiled down to these two for the first place position: @marblely and @Charlotte.

Marblely had the upper hand in the grammar, but Charlotte had a better plot. I and Hanzell were at odds as to who should take the prize (I won't reveal who was rooting for whoπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚).

We tried inviting another judge, but no one was up for it.

So we decided to go for the wheel of names at wheelofnames.com (which was a site I hoped I wouldn't have to use, but I guess that's life).

The lucky first place winner was:

So,

First place goes to @Charlotte

Second place goes to @marblely

Third place goes to @hamedbkh

Hanzell added 5$ worth of BCH to the Prize Pool!!!! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ That means the overall amount to be shared is 8$ in BCH.

Remember, the sharing formula is 50% to the first place winner and 25% each to the second and third place winners. Tokens of 0.3$ in BCH will go to other participants. The prizes will be distributed when I wake up, this is 1:35 am. 😜😴

Congratulations everyone!

If you have any reviews on how we can do better at organizing the context]sts, comment below. This brings the First Stories In Series Contest to an end.

Thanks and Good Night, Or Good Morning. Which is it anyway?

98
$ 8.13
$ 5.00 from @Hanzell
$ 3.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @marblely
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Congratulations

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Conggrats to the winner of this contest. And @Ozzyy, sorry can't finished the story as time needed. Still in the making for an effective word solution, but the idea is still stuck. So I thought I held it until the time came so that this story would end well, even if it was just a short story. :) Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations to the winners. πŸ₯³πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh wow! Thank you so much @Ozzyy and @Hanzell! This is one well written and thought of Winners announcement. Thank you so much for the reviews, pointers and feedback. It is not easy hosting a writing contest like this, much less writing a review for each of us and am really glad to have joined and met fellow writers. Congratulations everyone!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ™ŒπŸ₯ΊπŸ˜Š

Thanks and Congratulations @marblely

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ozzyy came to telegram with a flood of messages from me about my thoughts on each entry too πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ congrats to you tooo! I told you yours was good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Waahhh thank you so much❀❀❀ I'm happy i can't say anything more than thank youuu. I promise I'll improve my grammar, i won't get lazy proofreading my worksπŸ˜… thank you again for this opportunity and congratulations to all. I am honestly rooting for marblely because I get emotional as I read his/her story, congratulations again and looking forward for your articles❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Congratulations @Charlotte. Hope to read you more later

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you❀ i hope i can also write moreπŸ€—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awww.. thank you @Charlotte. Sorry to have got you emotional ~hugs~ Big congratulations to you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you and congrats to you too❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should look forward to our next attempt at a contest. And it was a really hard choice between you 2 UmU the struggle was real

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Uwuuu hope i can join again with that contest hihi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll make the announcement in a bit, trying to comfort whining bf

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahah kawaii namaaaannn

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kasiiii the airbrush kit we planned to split expenses on got sold out. Even I'm sad over it-

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aweeee sadt naman talaga yan huehue

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dude you are amazing and your post is great

$ 0.00
3 years ago

congratulations to all winners and keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow that's amazing bro. Your writing is very good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I leave it all in your hands, partly because I trust you to make the right judgment and because I'm lazy and don't wanna have to make another long

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats Cha-chan 😭 @Charllote , even though you end your story so sad, I still love it. I love how the story goes, it's just that the endinggggg 😭😭, Clareeee 😭

Congratulations again, waiting for your new story, with the same genre but not the same ending please 😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please subscribe to my page will do same thanks 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations

$ 0.00
3 years ago

congrats all the winner.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations to all, but I was using the grammarly app it is running. I didn't have the chance to re edit those who have bold πŸ˜† anyway congrats to all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Okay, I'm sorry, I know this contest put you under some pressure because it was on such short notice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha no need to say sorry, congrats to your successful contest 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ‘πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nc

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Congrats..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulate. thanks for your sharing this post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations to all winners .I know you deserve it all .I read most of your articles about that topic and I know it is really a deserving price you've got .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dude you are amazing and your post is great

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats @marblely @Charlotte @hamedbkh.. you guys did a great job.. but to be honest, haven't read Charlotte's story yet. πŸ˜… so when Hanzell asked me to judge the final two, I refused coz I was too sleepy already. Sorry @Charlotte but I'll read your story later promise. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚ Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's alright pooo and thank you❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats to all winners πŸ’ž Congrats @Charlotte.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Waahh thank you so much❀❀❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ‘ŒπŸ™Œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bruuu i thought you were gonna sleeepp!! But now the only thing left is the inktober announcement. Should i be the one making that?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, do that please! I need sleep and a massage, but I'll only be getting sleep so I'll do that. Thank you, UwU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okieee I'll go make a quick sketch as a sample or look for a manga then I'll do the announcement

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please subscribe to my page i will do same thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, also It may not have to be a manga. A series of drawings centered around one topic should be fine, but the writeup should be fine. Will colored work be allowed, or just black and white?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Or maybe they can write based on a few drawings too. Maybe just one could work too since not everyone will have the time

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay yeah. They could draw one work and then create a little series of writings out of it? That'd be cool too. I leave it all in your hands, partly because I trust you to make the right judgment and because I'm lazy and don't wanna have to make another long announcement.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, kind of like a picture book feels would be cute too. I'll make the announcement after I've finished a few things. Go finish the distribution then go get some sleep! Should be 2am there :<

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh and now you've started getting a hang of the math too πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Hanzell thanks for being fast! You're a lifesaver! Now let me distribute the prizes and go hug my pillow 🀧😴

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pls subscribe my channel thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Because I'm awake already πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ go then go sleep :<

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Aight I'm going

$ 0.00
3 years ago