One Last Time.

19 52
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

I honestly can't remember how many times I have said this. I have a soft spot for showing consideration to people. Every time I say "This is the last time" or "One last one and I am done" I find reasons to get dragged (in a good way) into what I thought I wouldn't. It's not because I can't stick to my works but mostly because I like being considerate and show support.

I read @George_Dee 's post regarding the last wedding he was dragged to go with his girlfriend even though he enjoyed it and it was a pleasant surprise to the person that invited him. I am just like him in a way and I shared that in his comment section. You can read about his post here.

I am a private person, an indoor person to the core. You would have to drag me out to go anywhere; except I want to go and buy my favourite plantain, anyway hahaha. I derive comfort in being in my own space and if I give that up for you, trust me, you are really important to me. Having to sacrifice my personal space just to be out there and show support is one of the highest levels of sacrifice I can give anyone πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ apart from parting away with money of course.

I know how many weddings I have been invited to that I actually turned down. I simply told them I won't or something came up hahaha... Well, my comfort and playing FIFA on a game console came up haha. At least, I didn't give a ridiculous excuse like "I would love to go out with you but I had to babysit my friend's cat".

Most of the weddings I've gone for are either a close family member that I couldn't avoid or I was told to be the best man or there is a distance issue and work didn't allow me to go like a recent one where I couldn't go because in all honesty, something came up and it was quite a distance too but I didn't mind if something didn't come up. Most people know, especially guys that I hardly go out so they either ask me to be the best man or one of the groom's men hahaha. They got me there.

I have lost count on the number of best man duties I have done and so many suits I have bought in the process, ranging from my cousins to my immediate brother to my older brother's friend (he didn't ask my brother, he asked me instead hahaha) to even those who simply want me to be there and offered that slot. I've said it many times that I wouldn't do it again and I felt it would stop but it didn't. I was asked over and over again and I always say yes πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. Am I supposed to make them feel bad before their big day? Hahahaha don't judge me but then, it's no trouble. It's another opportunity to go out there too, so, yes... it's cool.

The last one I did was I think 3 years ago after I already took a year break. A Church member asked me to be his best man after I thought I had retired and even declared it on my Facebook wall and WhatsApp status. I found myself saying yes to him again and it was a wonderful small wedding. I love it. I felt that was the last until 2 months ago when another family member asked me to be part of his groom's men this time around. I had to get a suit and a white traditional outfit with a pair of shoes to go with it. My items got delivered and I am ready to rock the wedding πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚.

I am used to saying this is one last time and I have failed every time I said it. I am not sure if I would say it again this time because I always go against my word especially where weddings are concerned. The venue of the wedding this time is the state I grew up in and happening in my city back there too, so it's another opportunity to visit there. I know a lot of people would want to see me and I would try to see the few that I can see.

In as much as I am not the outgoing type, I've always had a thing for weddings. It's special and amazing. I recently travelled to my hometown I think last year for my cousin's wedding and it was fun. Funny enough, I wasn't on 'duty' hahahaha. I just went as a big brother and I met so many of my aunts. It turned into a mini-reunion. I don't like talking much but I can scream with my writings hahahaha. I am not so good with noise and crowd but then I make exceptions when it comes to weddings or any other gatherings I sacrificially go for.

Going to weddings as one of the groom's men or as the best man is one of my many ways of being social. The question now is, who is going to get married next and ask me to be his best man? I know I won't be able to say no but I hope there would be people out there who wouldn't ask me πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. I am tired of buying suits.

I guess I am ready for the wedding. The suit came from the groom. My neighbour made my white 'agbada' and I got the shoes from my brother's wife - she sells them.

Thank you for your time.

15
$ 8.57
$ 8.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Just1dood
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
+ 9
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Just get ready for mine because you will surely best my husband πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Even if you say one last time, you will attend mine for sure πŸ™„ Don't worry, we will get those materials ready for you. You don't need to use your money🀣🀣

I have found myself too saying "this is the last time" but I still find myself doing them. Most times, if I don't want to help someone again, it's as if something keeps pushing me to do it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ Busayo don't injure me with laughter o hahahaha. No shaking, I can make an exception for you.

Exactly, when we don't help or show support it makes one feel we are not being supportive and before you know it, I just say 'yes' πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would be great then. Look forward to that beautiful day then 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, beautiful. Very soon πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ˜πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Start getting ready for the next one ooo, It's actually not a bad thing though but quite stressful....but this outfit it's fire..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha thank you so much. No doubt, it is stressful and I hope they would be kind not to choose me again πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can totally identify with that. My home is my cave. It'll take a lot to drag me out of there! Leave me alone. I hate attending weddings or for that matter, any big sit-down dinner events. To me, eating is a very private affair. I can't stand watching someone I don't know eating so close to me. Hahahaha... Oh, one more thing. Love those shoes, brother! You've got one galaxy hidden in each. I'm sure must have been some rocking you did in those! Wow.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha good to know I am not alone. Yes, I love being in my space. I love that...eating is a private affair πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚.

Thanks a lot, I am glad you love the shoes too. I can't wait to rock the shoes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My one last time applies to my kids. I just can't resist when they request even if I have already told them its the last.

Looks like you are ready to be best man again...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha no mother can resist hahaha. I feel you on that.

I am ready hahaha...hopefully they leave me alone πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck on that! 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those are good reasons for your "one last time" though. Perhaps on that 'one last time' you will meet your match too :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope no one asks me again πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always that time of our lives when we started geyting invited to our friend's or relatives' weddings! πŸ˜‚ When we were teenagers, I got a lot of invitations for debut parties, but I only attended one, i think. πŸ˜‚ No wedding invitations yet, as my peers are somehow young. Wait until three to five years, I will get dragged to weddings as well. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha you won't only get dragged, you will be part of the bride's train, so brace up for it πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you're good at something, you get recommendation to do more. You will get more calls for the best man duties. Nice suit and shoes you got there though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha thank you so much, brother. I am just tired of buying suits πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have not even started and you are already complaining. The truth is if you don't want that slot again that go get a lady and fix a ring on her finger πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰. It's as simple as that apart from that, get ready to buy blue material for agbada. Just joking anyway. I love weddings and I mean everything that concerns the decay apart from the stress. It can be disastrous most especially if it involves your family or perhaps friends and you have to be the asoebi ladies.

I tell you, I am an introvert and love my space like hell, I dislike crowded placed and easily get withdrawn and drained in those places but I can and do come out of my shell, and at that time, I can be very troublesome.

You've got lovely material there, just don't get tired. Buy as many as you can now, who knows. πŸ€·β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago