My Last Owambe....

20 37
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

To continue the fun as the weekend starts properly today, I decided to share how my last Owambe party went. I am sure the name doesn't sound familiar because I have lots of friends who read my articles but are not Nigerians.

Owambe simply means "it is there" but many Nigerians are fond of using the word to boost the party spirit and when you hear the word in the mouth of any Nigerian, you should know there is something huge coming up. I am not sure there is a country that loves parties and celebrations more than Nigerians do, it is in our blood.

I have seen people go out of their way just to attend parties in grand style, it starts from buying Aso-Ebi with lots of money. Don't be surprised if I say people take loans just to buy clothes for parties and they start running helter-skelter to pay their debt after the party, that should make you understand how much importance people place on parties. I don't blame anyone, the stress in Nigeria alone is enough for you to attend parties so that you can dance away you're sorry and cool off with lots of drinks and food if there is surplus because these days, inflation has made people cook the small dish.

Let get back to the topic.

I am not a fan of parties and I hardly go even if I am specially invited to one, it is not my fault because I took that habit after my mom. Growing up she didn't have many friends because she wasn't the party type, she will rather buy foodstuff at home rather than using her money to buy party clothes and the only thing that would her very comfortable for parties is when she gets the catering job for the event. She wouldn't just go alone, she will go with her kids to help her serve meals at the event.

It wasn't something I find cool but it was a family hustle and those events helped because I learned how to make different meals which makes me proud today when I am in the kitchen. Since mom stopped making party food, I haven't been attending events that much and I can confidently say I haven't attended more than ten Owambe in a decade now. That would sound strange to many Nigerians but that's a simple truth because I am not a party freak and I doubt if people will turn up for my big event someday.

I didn't just choose that way of life, I don't like crowded places and noise affects me. I can say that I was forced into 60% of the parties I have attended but I was put in tight condition before I agreed to go.

I could remember a time when a friend bought my clothes and sew them for an event, it was irresistible but I felt reluctant because we had to travel to Osun State for his in-laws' burial. I found the village life cool despite my fear of travel and we spent three days learning about the culture of the people in the village.

My last Owambe party.

The last Owambe I went to was unplanned because it was on a Sunday evening. I don't joke with my Sunday rest when I was still working with an organization, we work from Monday to Sunday and that's the only day I have to rest well, I wouldn't trade that rest for any event.

I was bored on that Sunday and my girlfriend came feeling bored too, she kept saying she felt like attending a party but there was none. I had an invitation already but I wasn't ready to go and if I told her, she would persuade me to go. The person who invited me started calling and my lover started suspecting because the caller was a female. I had to pick it and started giving excuses to the caller.

My girlfriend had the conversation begged that we attended the party and I didn't have a choice other than to break my rules of resting on Sunday. We dressed up and set out for the event, the location was very close to the Surulere National Stadium.

It was like an hour's journey from my house, the friend who invited me was surprised to see me because she wasn't expecting me again.

I had to go greet my friend's family before I went to sit at the table provided for me. I had a lot to eat and drink, the fun was cool. Before we knew it, everywhere was dark and we had to leave the event.

There was traffic on the way back and it made vehicles scarce that we had to stand in the bus coming back home, the food digested even before we got home and I was unhappy I didn't rest because I knew it was completely going to affect my week due to my poor health.

My girlfriend and friend were happy we had a great time but it wasn't what I wanted.

I wished I slept throughout the day.

Since then, I haven't attempted attending a party even though I always buy Aso Ebi that ain't too expensive.


I just love living as quietly as possible, if there was a ghost mode for humans - I would probably activate it 24/7.

11
$ 7.10
$ 6.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 7
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Hehehe. The part about the food getting digested before you guys arrived home cracked me up. I can't remember the last time I attended Owambe. I don't think I've been to more than two in my entire life. Yes, that's how socially awkward I can be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love parties ooo, especially the delicious Yoruba party rice it has this exceptionally different feeling.....i just need something to take me off stress, not all parties are bad though and you've got a pretty girl friend πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ if I had gone with you my eyes will just be looking at her.

No regrets you did have a good day, I can see the number of bottles on the table.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lolz, I only took juice. I don't drink alcohol that bad, I get scared of misbehaving outdoor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't take that too in parties, the only day I did take it was bad and it felt wrong......you still had fun

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sure I did, we have to know our alcohol tolerance to avoid displaying funny things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have to go out and party sometimes. Its fun outside hehe . Thanks to your beautiful girlfriend and she persuade you to come 😁☺

$ 0.02
2 years ago

She loves outing and I don't but sometimes I have to bend my rules for her sake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a party freak too and I don't go for parties at all except if it is for my relative. If you happen to take me out for a party, it means you forced me there because I don't like attending any party. I think going to parties is a way to socialize and meet different people too I guess but poor me, I can't step out of my house. I prefer sleeping all day or having my phone with me to keep my company.

Sorry that you had to stand in the bus. I can understand Lagos wahala Sha πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I prefer resting as well, everything is stressful. Probably when I have my ride and I can do things very comfortably, I will be good to go.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You need it too once in a while.. Nice seeing you and your gf 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, it is nice but I am just poor at it. I hope I visit the Philippines with her someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can be your tour guide 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's would very sweet, you can take us to those beautiful places you have shared here.

It would be perfect for an honey moon trip.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You finally stole my babe 😭😭😭😭😭😭 I remember her face hahahahaha. Coke and Fanta...I love that kind of blend.

We are indeed alike, I must admit. I hate noise and crowded place. I can count the number of weddings I have gone for. Most of the ones I went for, I was the best man πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚and when I noticed everyone keeps picking me as the best man, I had to officially retire from that. Too many suits πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. I love the peace and quiet too so party is a no for me. If I had my way, I won't attend any but there are exceptions I had to make and there is another one this August and guess what? I am part of the groom's men πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. I think most people know that's the only way to get me involved.

I reserve my comment for those who spend a fortune and even borrow just because of party. Misguided priority.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I only borrowed her for the event 🀣. She is still yours.

I wish I can attend weddings these days so that I can start learning the process and prepare for mine as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, this one is not borrowing o...this is a serious claiming hahaha.

Yes, start getting ready but don't worry, you don't need to attend many to understand it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am not happy because you went for owanbe without inviting me... It is obvious you had a good outing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will definitely call you for the next one or probably my own event, that would be really cool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ypur girlfriend forced you to attend the party and then you truly enjoyed it to the brim. Thanks to here for dragging you to the party.

When we talked about partying, Nigeria is the number one. We love party so much to the extent of allowing our stomach to remain empty but must find by all means to buy the selected cloth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We truly fond over that, I wonder why people place too much value on those things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago