Life and Learning.

39 78
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Losing a loved one is a hard blow to deal with. I know the pain of losing people close to you because I have lost some myself. There is no easy way in dealing with death.

Death is everyone’s last enemy and we are all going to taste it at some point in our life’s journey. No man can live forever. If you have ever lost anyone close to your heart, then your perspective would change.

I attended a burial many years ago and my eyes opened to how frail human lives can be. We are just like a flower that rises in the morning, looking all glowing and beautiful and in the evening time, it goes away; withered and undesirable again. We start referring to people in the past tense as though they never existed again even though they live in our hearts.

We all want to become better humans and we tend to take things too seriously when we are sometimes expected to loosen up. Life isn't hard and we don't need to take it too seriously. The death of a loved one will give you a shift in perspective only if you are the type that can think deeply.

You tend to see how people promise you and fail to live up to them. You see the dependence on humans as a futile effort and know you need to be better for yourself and be responsible for your own life. You also tend to see how after every toil and labour, the result is still to be buried; lying lifeless and with no worries anymore.

I can remember when my dad passed away in 2006. A lot of people came to tell us not to get worked up because they will step in and make it bearable. It wasn’t even up to a week and I couldn’t find anyone of them in sight. I was hurt and I kept everyone at arm’s length too. Ever since then, I've stopped looking up to people and it shaped my reality.

I shifted my attention from holding people to their words so I am always genuinely surprised IF they ever come through on their words. You know with too much expectation comes bigger disappointments. I've reduced my expectations but I always hope for the best.

Every death gives you that shift in mentality on how to see life and also how to deal with humans. I still remember when dad passed away and so many people that I know always come around back then just suddenly stopped. That made me understand a single fact, which is, never to confuse loyalty with what people stand to gain from you.

A lot of people are users and they are only with you because of what they stand to gain and not necessarily about the love they have for you. The moment that benefit dries up, so will the supposed love. Even many years after, I still haven't seen those people who were regular at our house. Not even one of them came around.

Losing dad gave me this perspective and I know most people would come around you for as long as they have something they are getting from you. I said ‘most’ people and not ‘all’ people because we still have those people who will stick with you no matter what but the sad reality is they are little in comparison to the whole. At least they give hope to humanity.

Don’t feel relaxed over your past achievement because today’s achievement is tomorrow’s mediocrity and the world only chases those who have something to offer. So rather than focus on people who might not be loyal, focus on letting this challenge you to stay relevant instead.

Some pains will make you understand how to deal with other people and how to prepare yourself against some eventualities. When my mum passed away, I didn’t raise much expectation regarding promises this time around. We didn’t even wait around for people to come and help, we made sure we took the pain and sort things out by ourselves. We made sure we didn’t depend on anyone for anything because we have learned from the event in the past.

I got to know that most people like to receive and would never give to anyone. It is not about loyalty for them but about what they stand to gain from you. We call them opportunists. We learn in life as we keep growing and experiencing the things about life. Life is all about learning and we keep learning as we grow and go.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why  I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

20
$ 1.99
$ 1.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 16
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

You look at peace walking down the lane with your daughter. The surroundings appear to be quiet and calm. Enjoy the positive change that doesn't come quite often in our lives.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's quite peaceful and quiet as you have rightly said...with beautiful weather to go along with it. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We live, we die..nothing is permanent here. But every lesson we learn from experiences is something we could carry for a lifetime ..

(Is that your current photo? Have you brought more winter clothes? Cold season is coming..take care and your family uncle)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's right, Janeyyyyy...every lessons stays with us and that's how we gather experiences.

Yes, it's a current picture. Took it three days ago. Yes, I went shopping yesterday at JD, Poundland and Primark. Got a lot of clothes for the coming weather. Thanks darling.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People who have lost their loved ones really experience a change in perspective. I agree with that. My two friends instantly became distant.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's a tough and most people grieve different. Others become cold, some people become distant...there is no right way to act.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We keep learning and it continues. I remembered when my mom died too, those who said they will act as a mother to us, where are they? I tend to focus only on God and never depend on anyone because they promise and fail while we keep moving and learning each day.

Seeing this pictures, I was like "can you allow Dara move freely like this in Naija?" 😂😂😂😂

I love those pictures. Aww..... UK is doing you good oo 🤩🤩

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Absolutely....where are they now? I don't take people's words that serious when it comes to promises.

Lmaaaaaao. Dara is really cruising here.

Thank you so much boo boo sweetie KP.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree! There are so many user people now adays, and genuine people are hard to find. Loyalty is easy to bribe when money talks..then you will be betrayed bu so called friend

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Betrayal is the language of humans these days and it's disappointing and shocking at the same time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most definitely, life is about learning. I have learned, over the years, for example, to expect little from others. There's this saying, I think it's Maya Angelou's: live frugally on surprise. And so, my expectations of others at this time are at zilch. Zero. Nothing. It wasn't always like this. And I have felt deeply hurt which is something you would feel following the loss of your parent(s). But it's also an eye opener, right? Because in these unguarded moments, you can learn a lot from the responses of others. And so, yep, try to be the best that we can be in every moment. Some moments are tough, and we may falter, but like you said, rather than dwelling on disappointments, a shift in mentality and rising to challenges to be better people despite let downs is key to success in the short life that we enjoy here.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

live frugally on surprise... This hits me and I absolutely love it. I'm open to surprises...so I kept my expectations at zero too... I love your deep analysis of this...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life is indeed all about learning, and its always depend on us how we gonna deal each lessons we learned from humans and experiences. Luckily when my father died I don't have any expectations from our relatives as I never expect too much from people since then.

As I grow, I have already learned that the person's loyalty is basically based on how much they gained from you. You might don't see it immediately, but time will gonna eventually come to reveal who's gonna stay in your side when your already empty handed. You'll eventually gonna find out who's genuine and who's expecting something in return from what they give to you. Some humans are just genuine when it comes to gaining and receiving, yet become fake when it comes to giving. It's kinda disappointing but i guess this is humans part of nature. So from this experience we must learn our lesson and we must learn how to turn our backs from them and focus on our own path and continue growing.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

You spoke my mind and that is the truth. You hit the nail on the head with that. Absolutely spot on. I've learned never to have expectations where humans are concerned because it's about what's in it for most people. I just live my life, do the best that I can do, and that's that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really difficult for human to lose your love ones. I also lost my father around 2006 when I was just 7 years old. We can't deny the death we all have to taste it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Deeply sorry about that. It must have been tough that early. It's always tough regardless...we just have to soldier on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's always sad to lose someone special. Abroad is doing you well ooo, see as you fresh with your daughter. I go take bike come that side.🤪

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂 make dem no carry bike o hahaha. Thank you, brother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😅😅😅mafo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Break not 🤣😂🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😅😅😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😊😊😊😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Is that you and your daughter? Where's this place?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear... This is a bus station in Nottingham.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! . You live there now? 😃

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Losing a loved one is difficult to let go that memory is stuck with you throughout the rest of your life. Time just helps fades things away and lessen the pain we bear.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's it...time helps...but the memory stays with us as you have rightly said, Ces.

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

When a loved one pass, it feels like you lose a part of you too. It is really sad and scary. ~Manju

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Always sad, scary and hits us so hard.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Death is ultimate reality of life. Everyone who has life must die. We should complete dreams of our great parents and keep them alive in good memories. We are sooner replaced by someone else, that is reality.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

In life, we are indeed replaceable...we just have to do our best and know that death comes to everyone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very sound and insightful advise as usual Mr. Ola. It is always better to rely on ourselves than to get disappointed by others.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I absolutely agree with that, my friend. 🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Learning is part of our life, and though people have different ways how to manage on it we should value the people around us not because we can get benefits from them but instead by dealing with people wholeheartedly and never looking down on others.Its never been easier than losing someone you loved.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is accurate and true. Thank you so much for this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Human being cannot be totally dependable. They would come short in one way or the other. We should be the best form of ourselves and put all our trust in God to use man for us.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's the best... putting our trust in God and not in man because humans will always be humans.

$ 0.00
1 year ago