I Quit Before But Today, I Quit Again.

48 104
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

It has been a long journey to get here and I am quitting. That's life and we have to forge ahead rather than look back in regrets. It's frustrating sometimes and I know many people can relate to this as well. It's time for something new and I am ready for the challenge that is to come.

If you throw me to the wolves you can be sure I will come back leading that pack. Someone said and I quote "When a defining moment comes, define the moment or else the moment will define you" - Anonymous. I've been defined by too many things for far too long and today I quit.

I know the topic is quite catchy and I am not talking about quitting read cash. I wouldn't do that but wait...why should I do that? I've grown to love this place and I intend to do everything to keep staying here. A lot of people have asked me why I make a different post for read cash while making different ones on my hive, Steemit, whaleshares, blurt, publishOx, Tipestry and Uhive accounts and that's because I want to bring more originality here and that's why I am not quitting.

As humans, we should always strive to become better regardless of how much success we have achieved. There would always be people who would be placing expectations on us and we can't afford to rely on past achievements. We have to intentionally seek to evolve. Motivation should always come from your inside and that makes it easier for any external motivation. No one can motivate you better than you because regardless of how anyone motivates you if the will doesn't come from your inside, it's going to be a wasted one -/effort in futility.

This life is one, so I ask you, what do you want? Are you going to give up easily without fighting? What would you tell your children or your loved ones, that you gave up easily without giving your all? You can live with losing the good fight because you will prepare better and have the will to do better, but you cannot live with not fighting it. Your zeal to overcome life's hurdles must trump anything else.

Image Source.

I used to be very shy while growing up as a young boy and I lacked that expression too. If you asked me even the things I know, I will end up saying nonsense. I can remember when I was told to recite a Bible verse back then in my Church. It was a short verse and I memorized it already but self-doubt kicked in. I stepped on the stage and I was looking down, unable to even say a word. I was ashamed for my family members present that day - my two elder brothers and my late sister, I think.

A funny one was when I was about to write my common entrance and we were registering. Of course, the teachers knew our names and all, but out of formalities, he asked us to come to him one by one to verify and of course check for the spellings. When it got to my turn, as usual, I was shy, timid and scared for no reason. He asked me for my first name, I told him. He asked me for my surname I gave him my middle name. He was looking at me and was shocked. Of course, he knew my name and all he could do was shake his head and asked me to leave πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. Stop that grin, others had it worse πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

So, I was intentional about building my confidence and stage presence. I started talking to myself in the mirror until I could speak boldly in gatherings. For me to be able to speak freely and be myself in any gathering, you would see me cracking jokes and make people laugh in any way to give myself a soft landing hahaha.

So, my commitment then is still my commitment now because I am still interested in getting better. Life is full of many hurdles and I want to constantly challenge myself to get ahead of it. So, today, I quit and evict myself from what fear has built over my life. I distanced myself today from all the things I have allowed to get me worried. I have quit a long time ago and I am still quitting daily from the opinion of others who judged me even before they got to know me. Today, I quit from the expectations of others that made me live my life to please them rather than doing what gives me satisfaction.

Image Source.

I quit also from the pressure life and others placed on me. I motivate myself enough and other people's successes challenge me to be better. I am not yielding to the pressure created by others to make me think I am failing. We don't have equal footing in life but we all have opportunities and I will keep moving till I get to my desired goals.

I have stopped boxing myself into the frame of mind that I have held on to for many years. I know that making mistakes doesn't mean I am failing but it means I have learnt one more way not to do what I've been wanting to do. Anything that threatens my peace, I quit.

What are you quitting from? What have you distanced yourself from before now? Live your life and let it be on your terms. Many people will criticize you for selfish reasons but hold on to what you believe is true after considering other options too. Have you been living your life at the mercy of others? Have you allowed their opinions to weigh so much on you that you have lost your sense of worth? You have to quit and it takes courage to live in this world. Courage they say is never the absence of fear but the presence of fear and yet the will goes on. Do it afraid and quit from every negativity.

Be like me, I quit.

Thank you for your time.

19
$ 11.78
$ 10.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 12
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

I want to quit from all negativity but I am not being like you so don't ask me toπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

I already knew you weren't talking about quitting read.cash I mean why should you?πŸ™„ And also, kudos to you for writing different articles for all those places. I still remember the first time you mentioned that when I started visiting your blog and I keep saying I wanna be like you in that aspect when I grow upπŸ˜‚πŸ€­

As for saying your middle name in place of your surname, guyπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ it's normal jhare, you can't come and kill yourself lol

And thanks for the inspiring words this morning. I QUITTED since and today I am still quitting. It should be a gradual thing because as far as life is concerned we keep meeting or coming across people that their job is to spread negative vibesπŸ˜’πŸ˜’

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahahaha your comment cracked me up and thanks for this lovely comment.

Yes, it has to be a gradual thing because we meet people who are hell bent on dragging others down. Thanks a lot, dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you had a good laugh, that's such an achievement on my partβ˜ΊπŸ˜‰

Yes we just have to keep renewing the positive vibes to turn off every negative one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely, dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I quit too, things that don't add any thing to my life than hate and hurt....sometimes we have to keep checking daily ourselves because those negativity could still be there. Thought you wanted to quit Readcash maybe you could give me your account before you do that 😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahahahaha I wouldn't dream of quitting read cash even if they mixed hard drugs with my food hahaha.

Thanks a lot for that and yes, we need to constantly check on ourselves to filter every other negativity away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I quit chasing the things that I know it wasn't meant for me. Glad to read this piece of yours sir.😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a smart choice and thanks for lending your voice too. I really appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm... Good read. I have my share of people shoving down on me their negativity especially at work. There were indeed times when I almost chicken out going to work because I have a bad feeling about today going to work... But still I did. I can't imagine I went thru it everyday for 5years. And I'm glad I was out though recalling, it still has effect on me. I survived by not quitting, I couldn't quit because it brings food on the table and was the best paying job I landed on in years. I quit because a friend offered to explore horizons with opportunity to grow and I grabbed not knowing the outcome. And true, I'm glad I took the opportunity, here I am going 10yrs from where I fled on, steadily... Though I often wander how easy for others to quit? Well,...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Another interesting perspective to this and I enjoyed this. I am sorry you had to deal with that for 5 years. Some people are naturally toxic and would do anything to rub their insecurities and sadness on others. I can imagine because I know once in a while the effect would linger but I know daily, you can keep shoving it aside. Maybe we meet some few bad people in life so that when we meet the good ones we can appreciate them.

I am glad you took the bold step and for your resilience... Well done and good to have you here...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh don't be sorry, I am happy I went thru it. The storms we tame or waited to calm... I learned to calm my inner demons and the monster within... It was a while but I couldn't be happier now if didn't went thru the storm. It molded me on how I live my life this days. I couldn't ask for a relevant experience.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love your brilliant approach to it. This is amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank u.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anytime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I chose not to act like them. Perhaps they're not happy in every aspect in their lives that's why they shove it to someone else they find prey. But giving in to urges of getting back will only backfire... So it's best practice for me to stay compose, cool and chill

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love this. Indeed, they were trying to mirror their unhappiness on you. Glad you came out stronger and better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank u. I prayed a lot thou, it helped me thru those times. I didn't have the luxury to react because I was busy praying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smart choice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Until now, I'm still a shy person ,🀭 I don't know when I can be more confident.. I need thicker skin to do that 🀣 But why did you give your middle name? 🀣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Please help me ask him why he gave his middle name oπŸ˜‚ We are all shy in nature but shy people do great things so cheer up you aren't in this aloneπŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha thanks for the vote of confidence πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha ... Welcome to the world of shyness 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is that a thing? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ Let's create our world of shyness πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha you must grow that thicker skin and it starts when we both go on our vacation together as suggested πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£.

I have no clue as to why I gave it. It was embarrassing πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm happy to stumble on your profile and have read this article of yours. It inspired me to quit the negativities I have. Thanks a lot!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I feel so honoured. Thanks a lot for your kind words. Yes, we need to let go of those negativities so we can truly live.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, you're welcome. See you around! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Superb write up.

Maybe I should quit with you! Hehehe. I think this version of quitting is just to best to have as a responsible humans lifestyle.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£

Absolutely...it helps us to live and stay focused. Thanks a lot, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And now, I think of quitting also from all those pressures around me which always fears me to fail their expectations. Thank you so much for sharing this one. I will now lead my own for my peace of mind. πŸ’— True happiness starts from within. I can't be happy by always depending from someone else. Have a great day Olasquare !

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you have decided to make a conscious effort on this as well. This delights me. Thank you so much and I am glad you enjoyed it. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome, Olasquare πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Blimey Ola, what happened here?! πŸ˜… I only left you for 5 minutes and it all got messy!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£ next time you will learn to use just my hands and not others

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not an option - your hands are too far away. You didn’t tell me what happened!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My hands are coming close... Monday is almost here. ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What's happening on Monday?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our walk. 😍πŸ₯°β€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, Ola. You are seriously a dreamer. You mean my walk with my friend? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love dreaming big. Yes πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All you do is lay on your sofa and dream πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can't understand πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What can’t I understand Ola? Isn’t it all you do?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not responsible for the way you think πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. There is little I can give you there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have made up my mind to quit a lot of things a long time ago because some things are not worth holding on and they even end up becoming a setback for us in life.

You made the right decision quitting things that don't add value to you or things that stop you from being yourself and I am happy about.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my brother. That's the only way we grow. We live and learn as we grow and go through life. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago