Football And I - Life's Lessons (Humility).

52 90
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Motivation, Life, Football, Story, Nigeria, ...

At Adamasingba Stadium.

There would always be situations that would threaten who we are trying to build. If you are the type that gets angry and your anger is quite bad, situations would naturally gravitate towards you that would make you want to get angry even though you have made resolutions many times never to get angry again. It's the way this life has been wired and it takes an indomitable will to stand your ground and not cave in.

Without that indomitable will, there is nothing that can be achieved and this is why many people despite being serious with their resolutions, go back when moments of comforts come or when something happens to challenge who they want to be. Life has many facets and we can not all be prepared for everything at once but we can learn how to take it one step at a time so we can gather as much experience as possible.

One of the virtues I admire most in life apart from being kind is humility. Humility will take you before kings and not mere men. Humility has unlocked so many doors that power couldn't. It takes a lot to stay humble especially when you got pleasant surprises. You just want to make people sometimes feel you attained that height because of something you did right, maybe it was something you did right, and maybe not but in all things, just stay grounded.

Power they say has corrupted the best of minds and you never truly know how humble a man can be until you give him power and money. Many promising soldiers have fallen under the weight because everything threatened who they promised to be and they caved in. Each success you attain in life opens the door to more complex issues you need to solve and if you don't successfully navigate that part, you might not get to that desired place.

I love football and most people would have known that by now and I've never been the type to exert myself when I should. Sometimes it's good and oftentimes it's not because if you don't stake your claim sometimes, you might not get some opportunities but I am this laid back kind of person so I sometimes believe whatever would be would be. As I said it has worked for me before now and still works and often it's not the best attitude to have depending on the situation.

When I was at Bowen University, a lot of people knew I love football but they didn't know I could play. I watch them when they play on the open field once in a while but never showed them I could play until the opportunity came for the group I belonged to. They organized a football competition and we are to form a team from ourselves that would play with other groups. So, they asked those who would love to play and I indicated.

The day of the tournament came and I picked the right flank; 7. With so many people watching us, I was a bit nervous but I knew this is what I loved to do. My moment came where I showcased my individual brilliance after they scored us. I was found on the wings and I burst forward with pace leaving people surprised (I got to know after the end of the game in the lodge with the reviews). I was racing two sitting defenders and one of them made the mistake of coming to me, so I lifted the ball over him. I met with the ball and in an instant, he turned and came again and I lifted it over him again and I felt the scream from those watching. I didn't want to make it look like I was embarrassing him so I delivered a cross into the box which the second defender handled and we were given a penalty.

I didn't force myself to take it, maybe I should have but the striker of our team came to take it and he missed. We tried to rally around to get a draw at least but we didn't. We played the loser's match after and I enjoyed that one too.

Another one like it was when I went for service and I was desperate to find a place I could play football since I would be serving for a year. In the camp, I played and it was my pace that sets me apart again. After 3 weeks of camping, I tried to locate the stadium and I found one. I went with my boots and clothes hoping they would pick me to join any of them just to play and I was lucky enough for them to pick me without even knowing me. I was fouled and I decided to take the freekick, I could see one of them laughing from the opposing team but I didn't understand what he was saying. He was speaking another language. I took the freekick but I missed by just a margin and I heard another teammate of the one laughing at me shouting at him and I heard the word "underrate". I believe he was abusing him for underrating me because they haven't seen me play before. I smiled and felt good about myself.

There was a time I used to train every Saturday with my Church's team. After three weeks of training, we pick a local team to play with. There was a time we gave a standard team at Adamasingba stadium (Ibadan, Oyo State) a run for their money but we were let down by bad officiating because they said there was no way we can win against the home team else they would beat and injure us. We were already 3 goals up and the referee gave 3 penalties to them 😂😂😂🤣. I couldn't cry.

There was this day we invited a local team to play with us and I played at the center of the field this time around. I played the holding 4 - a shield for the defence. We were beating this team 2-0 already and the coach decided to take me off. If you play football well, you would understand no one likes to come off but I did and the moment I left, we collapsed. They went on within a short space of time to lead us by 4-3. I said I won't come in even if the coach asked me to. I wanted them to understand how important I was but the coach called on me and I acted as though I didn't hear. My mind condemned me and I heard "humility" in my spirit. The second time he called me, I answered and stepped onto the pitch.

The game changed and from losing position we gained an advantage again and won the pulsating match 6-5. After the game, one of the opposing players came to me and said "I was happy when the coach took you off" and after the game, my teammates were telling me "thank you". Moments like this can get to your head if care is not taken but we have to keep our feet on the ground. I have learnt humility from the things I went through. Let me stop right here. I would be discussing this further in the next post.

Enjoy these oldies in the time being...

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

26
$ 7.68
$ 6.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.06 from @Princessbusayo
+ 17
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Motivation, Life, Football, Story, Nigeria, ...

Comments

Reading this made me remember a sport story I read about sir freguson and Beckham. When Beckham wasn't listening to instructions Freguson had to show him he was the boss. Thank God you listened to your coach and help your team win.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes... Beckham was always more concerned about his image... Fergie hates distractions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your such a great player. Memories that full of happiness and excitement. Your so lucky for having this one

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel blessed. Thanks a lot, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't really know how football works but I love sports.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's fair enough. What kind of sports get your attention?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basketball and Volleyball I just really love the things about sports.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am a fan of basketball too...but more into football though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's some prescious memory. Football is also my favorite. You remind me those days when I used to play football in district level. Now life became so different and busy. Good to see your post.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's amazing and good to know you also played. Fantastic. Thanks a lot. Football is always fun, full of emotions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the third article that I have read about football, and since I'm not a fan of this sport, I still can't relate with the feeling..😂😂😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha I didn't entirely speak on football... 😂😂😂🤣... I balanced it 🤣😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought you just like talking about ball I never knew you could play so we'll like this You look cute on the field

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yaaaaay. Thanks dear... Yes, I played and really enjoyed playing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe 😁 don't worry one day I will come and watch you playing

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That would be fun... I will dedicate the goals to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Humility is what humans should possess but it's painful that humans go after pride. God see the proud people afar off but sees the humbles ones close by, meaning he will be able to stretch forth his helping hand easily to them but to the proud one, his hand won't reach them. You will surely be their Ronaldo those times 😅😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Spot on, brother. Humility is key. I tried my best to be me that time... I loved running on the wings, pulling in crosses and blasting the shots. A goalkeeper once walker up to me after I hit a shot and asked "What have I done against you?". I felt for him 😂😂😂. I eased up on the shot. While growing up, when we play, they tell players to mark me so I won't shoot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅😅😅😅opoor agba footballer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now here comes the survey. Choose one: Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't get involved in that kind of banter. I don't understand why people have to create division between two amazing athletes that are giving so much to the world of football. How would they feel when they ask people to choose between them and the other guy or lady in their own office space too? Exactly... Enjoy them while you can... Not many people are privileged to watch them play and loyalty lies depending on which team people support, so what's the point?

I don't get involved in that argument and never will... Won't start now either... Every man for themselves o.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said brother. Respect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gracias amigo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to personally see you play football and do those kicks I only see on TV 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha I would love to, as well. My late dad made me miss my chance at that... I've always loved football.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gotta love football

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely... It's a way of life 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hola hermano has escrito de los mejores post que he leido el dia de hoy que justo hablabamos mas temprano del verdadero significado de la palabra humildad que no se trata de un estado de pobreza o clase social como nos lo han hecho creer desde quera chico en la escuela , la humildad es una condicion de sentimientos y valores como ser humano a veces se nos pasa la vida y no logramos entenderlo pues hay gente rica con humildad y calidad humana y gente sin recursos economicos que tambien lo es , la humildad te abre las puertas en cambio la sobervia te los cierra y como muy bien dices tu el enojo no daña a los demas el enojo hace daño a uno mismo al cuerpo el alma y el organismo interno . por otra parte el tema del futbol es deporte y el deporte es hermandad , competicion sana para la mente el cuerpo y para hacernos ver que en la tierra todos somos hermanos iguales por eso me detesta lo que a menudo sucede sobre todo en las grandes ligas del futbol y esos episodios de racismo e intolerancia que parece que vivieramos en el año 500 antes de cristo .. un saludo te leo desde venezuela

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My own case is different, I don't have much interest in football 😅 I don't even play anymore since my secondary school days, I don't find it fun like most people. But I am always intrigued when I watch people play it and I am amazed with how well they control the ball and the skills they perform.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha yes, we have people like that and that's fine. I always enjoy playing though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know why am not that passionate for football. Humility is the best principle man can posses in order to get higher in life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's fine if you are not passionate about it. I believe you have other things you are passionate about.

Yes, humility is vital.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually love football, but most times I don't get the chance to show what I can do because I suffered an injury in the last competition I went which was MTN since then I almost gave up but I'm still giving it my best

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow. I am so sorry about your injury... I hope you get back to playing soon. Don't give up...keep fighting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I'm still playing and getting better each day but lately I don lose fitness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's to be expected when you haven't played for a while. Try and build fitness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know wetin happen? I don't understand everything you said because I kept focusing on your cute face all the while 🙈😅😅😅

I think I heard of humility right? This is the greatest act we need to exhibit.

Do you know what will happen to the one who is proud and not humble himself? Do you gerrit? If you don't gerrit, forget abourrit.

Good night 😋😋

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha at least you focused on something and that's fine by me hahaha. Thanks a lot, dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm just getting to know that you can actually play football. Humility is a great virtue which should be applied in everything we do

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love playing football so much... It's passion for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baba, you don fresh from old times oooo. See cute face everywhere, you did learn a great lesson because the team would have lost with you trying to show your worth.

The best way to show it was by leading the team to victory, I am calling Jurgen Klopp now. I have a solution to his defensive midfield.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣🤣🤣 I would gladly join Liverpool than my team... Who wouldn't want to be with a winning team like Liverpool?

Thank you so much, brother. I am glad I didn't cost them the victory by being proud. It would have been double tragedy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Humility can go a long way, and that is something I have been working on for myself. From your pictures, I saw you wore a man United Jersey. Are you a United fan like myslefy?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, brother... A Man Utd fan but right now, I am not proud of my team but I still support and watch every match.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, you are a very handsome guy and also a sportsman, good thing, you are already an integral being because you are also a writer and you are venturing into the crypto world. keep going because nothing is stopping you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yaaaaaay. Thank you so much, mama. This means a lot to me and I won't stop... I will keep pushing. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! So you are a footballer. Adamasingba stadium is a very beautiful stadium, the day I passed by is in Ibadan I was surprised something like that can be in Nigeria. It looks like European standard, especially when it is viewed from above

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely. I love the new shape of it and what the late governor, Ajimobi did with it. They upgraded it and the pitch is synthetic. I bruised my knees trying to celebrate like EPL players 🤣🤣😂... Sliding show.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I don't know how they do it, they slide as if it doesn't hurt their knees. Yoh sef you now tried it 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was too excited... I have forgotten theirs is natural while ours is synthetic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago