Saturday in disguise

15 27
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago

One major thing about the month of April is that Easter mostly falls in this month. That means many christians will be preparing for the Easter either in their church or in their houses.

Every year, my church always holds Easter on a camping ground. We go there on holy Thursday and come back on Easter Monday. It has been a family tradition for over 20 years in my house to the point that even some of our extended family and family friends join us and it's always fun and full of memories. it can be the same for some of you too.

My mum who has gotten her leave from work has been at home resting so she has alot of energy to observe everything going on in the house .

Picture from unsplash.

On Sunday night, she told us ( my siblings and I ) that we should start packing for camp but before we do that, we need to clean the whole house. We were all complaining because anytime she says" clean the whole house", she means we should throw or give out anything we aren't using again to free up space but the main thing about cleaning up the house is that most of the time, the old things still stays because she always has some sort of sentimental value to it.

So yesterday night, my elder sister and I decided to let go of some of the old things in the house that is taking space to free the house up alittle bit.

The first thing we started with was our baby crib.

The crib has been in our house for over 22 years. The first born used it down to the last. My mum has never wanted to let that crib go because she always said that when we get married and have kids, our kids will also use it and it was made of a really strong wood so it's real quality.

It sounds cute right. But it was always funny to us because we feel that when we start having kids maybe inventors would have created floating cribs. I know my thinking is wild but it's fun to imagine.

The crib was very big and nowadays, people make small and detachable cribs. So we all convinced her that when we have kids, we'll get her a new crib.

So at last and after years of begging her to give it out, she finally gave it out to one of our in-laws.

The next thing was a late 90's sound system.

To be honest with you guys, I don't remember using that sound system in my house. It was just there for sentimental reasons. My mum claims it still works though but the sound system uses tape.

A picture of the sound system 😳

My immediate younger sister who is 13 years old doesn't even know how a tape looks like.

She has been claiming that the sound system was a top notch that era but we tell her that nowadays, youths stream music online and we don't need a big sound system like this to play it.

There were other things too but if I start going it all of it, I think I'll want to bring the back to the house again.

One thing have realized is that as the years goes by, things evolve. Some might depreciate in value while some will never let go of it's worth.

But the main thing in all of this is too always remember how good it was when it was around and always keep memories

Thanks for reading 💕🤭.

6
$ 0.81
$ 0.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Oluwa_damilare
$ 0.03 from @Captainkay
+ 2
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hahaha I've remembered that we also had the same sound system back then. My mom doesn't wan to let go of it but we insisted hahhaa. thankfully, she agreed and to ease her pain, we just bought a new one hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems the sound system was really trending then😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't stop laughing, that sound system definitely had to go, probably older than I am. It's cool you've all been taught the wonderful aspect of giving.

Giving in whatever form shows how much you appreciate being fortunate to have something and realize how much use it would be for another person. I really commend your mum for instilling such wonderful morals in you and your sibling

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, my mum is a wonderful woman 🤭.. Giving is really nice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The funny one is the baby crib cus I'm sure that stuffs takes space a lot and I'm almost sure it's just there to harbour your clothes or something... It's just good to let go of things most of the times even though sometimes it's hard to let some things go tho..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really takes alot of space😂. It's true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never used that radio... Even though I met it when I grew older. These things have become suddenly obsolete. As regards your mum; wanting to retain that wooden crib... I can definitely relate. Some parents don't like giving out or selling off things that to them; have extreme worth and memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true tho, the crib usually makes her remember when I was a baby

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand why you mom doesn't want to go away with the sound system it might be due to the fact that she had spent a great and lovely memories with it which she loves to be with it . Anyway my friend nice meeting you how are you doing 🙌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice meeting you too🤭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was the radio for me.. Ah ah.. That thing would have been so long, whaoo.. There was a time we kept a stove that we aren't using for year, but mumsi will be like it will be useful in the future..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the future, there won't be stove😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

still

Probably.. But it can always come in handy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand why your mum finds it hard to let go of the old things. It brings back memories that she doesn't want to forget. It's really nice. Do you know that I have the same sound system in my house? It still works.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true tho. Those old memories go a long way

Wow, I didn't know that sound system was everywhere those years😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago