Take charge of Burnouts!

20 51
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Burnout, Prevention

Date: 14th of October, 2021

The month is reaching its end in a few weeks, and some of us may be feeling exhausted and stressed out because we constantly grind here on readcash. Some of us have the 1 article a day goal which is difficult because to post every day isn’t easy, especially when you have things you are doing in the real world.

I also participate in the 1 article a day goal. I can testify that this path isn’t easy sometimes, and it can lead to “Burnout.”

Burnout is the mental and physical exhaustion that removes the joy from your relationships, career and activities. Have you ever felt this before? Maybe you just fell out of love for something or someone, well this is the reason.

When you continually expose yourself to stressful situations like working long hours or listening to upsetting news, this could lead to a stress condition.

The sad part about burnout is you won’t easily spot it even if you feel something is wrong. Still, luckily research has been done to help you curb this problem.

Also, if you learn a thing or two from this article, share with friends, partners or family who is also passing through this; they may not even know they are but still educate them.

Unlike ordinary fatigue, burnout makes our daily activities more challenging because it is harder to cope with the stress while handling our daily activities.

You ever felt like you had nothing left to give and dreaded waking up to go to work in the morning? Every morning is like hell, and every day you are down and depressed. You are in a never-ending cycle, and you always see the pessimist side of things.

Burnout doesn’t just go by itself; it may take time, but it can be treated. If ignored, it can lead to both physical and psychological diseases like diabetes, heart diseases, and of course, depression.

I have heard many people saying “Burnout” is not a general problem. It only affects some people, but that is false; everyone experiences burnout in their lifetime. Still, it primarily affects adults because they have more responsibilities than children or adolescents.

Adults are more susceptible to high-stress levels, especially doctors and nurses, who are highly vulnerable to this health problem.

Doctors and nurses aren’t the only ones who may suffer from this problem.

Teachers or caregivers also face this problem because taking care of children is truly one of the most stressful jobs in the world.

I genuinely pity teachers and caregivers because what they do isn’t easy; shout out to all teachers; they are genuinely great.

Some traits like perfectionism, needing to be in control can also increase your possibility of getting burnout.

Suppose you can remember what I said initially. In that case, burnout is not easily noticeable, but you notice some symptoms when it starts.

  • Exhaustion: You have no strength to give your best because you always feel exhausted and tired; you always have headaches, stomachaches, and sleeping changes

  • Frequent Illness: Burnout lowers your immune system making you more susceptible to cold, flu, insomnia and mental problems like depression and anxiety.

  • Irritability: If you start losing your cool quickly, then there is a high chance you are suffering from burnout. Coping with everyday stressors like preparing for work and tending to household tasks may start to feel insurmountable, especially when these activities don’t go as planned.

  • Escape fantasies.  Not satisfied with the cycle of stressful jobs, people with burnout will fantasize about living the life they always wanted to live. In the most severe cases, these individuals even turn to drugs, alcohol, food or anything that can numb their emotional and physical pain.

  • Isolation. Individuals with burnout tend to feel overwhelmed by a large crowd. As a result, they may stop socializing entirely and confiding in friends, family members, and co-workers.

How to Prevent Burnout

  • Exercise: This is the most effective means to curb burnout because it keeps your body and mind active, boosting your physical and emotional health. Even if you can’t go to the gym, there are some mini-workouts you can do, such as jogging, yoga or stretches.

  • Eating a Balanced Diet: Don’t just cram all the food you can find into you, learn to eat healthy because it can make a lot of difference in your life. Most people don’t even know what a balanced diet is, and that is why they find themselves getting addicted to all sorts of food without even caring for their health.

  • Ask for help: In these stressful times, it’s essential to request help from others. You don’t have to feel ashamed or proud. If you are, consider creating a self-care session with your close friends and relatives so you can take care of each other during these difficult times.

Conclusion

There will always be stressful situations in our life, but always remember to manage them effectively, so they don’t overwhelm you. 

If you ever feel exhausted, anxiety and isolating yourself from friends, then know the symptoms have already started showing. However, you can follow the necessary steps I have put in the article. I guarantee they will help you!

Burnout is avoidable; you just have to make self-care part of your daily routine. Even if you are working long hours or taking care of children, remember to sprinkle some joy into each day.

Thank you for reading; leave a comment, and I will see you in the next one!


 




11
$ 7.76
$ 7.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
+ 7
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Burnout, Prevention

Comments

I think I have "Burnout Syndrome". I lost my job during the pandemic period. I was an actor. I was playing in teatre plays. I'm at home right now and I'm working on my pc to pay my bills. I feel like I can't do anything. I have a sleep disorder. I have frequent migraine attacks. I dream too much. I am suddenly angry. I stopped walking. I felt better while walking. Puff...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you are just depressed because you lost your job, you shouldn't dwell too much on it. Instead, think of how to get out of it; I know it's not easy starting again but try and overcome it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think almost 99% of everyone in the world experience burnouts which makes the separate themselves from others....we should just try to do some regular exercises to maintain a good health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We often share our feelings with our workmates when we feel burn out but our boss overheard us and said that we only feel burn out if we don't love what we do. And we feel like really? You rob us the possiblity of feeling the things that a human could feel. You expect us to be a robot? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣 lol at least your boss said it. Its nice you communicate with your colleagues

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm having this almost every single day, I think I am the burnout myself. I'm an active person and so when I'm doing nothing I'm going to be used to it and starts overthinking by this all bad things happen creating scenario that doesn't exist in the first place.
Thank you for the tips

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😄 That sounds like a loop, maybe you should keep yourself more active. You already jog maybe add more to it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks for this Oikawa! yep.. been there a lot of times but manages to recover this is most common with people who are over-work or workaholics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❤I am glad you were able to recover from it, most workaholics are suffering from it but they dont know

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I felt this one before. But I recover quickly because I hate feeling it. I hate being irritated but can't help sometimes. It's actually not a good feeling. Prevent it immediately or else.... 🤦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, I am glad you overcame it. It can be very depressing and it makes the days longer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so proud of myself coz I was able to push myself in doing so 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel it sometimes after a long and stressful day. I easily get irritated with small things but what I did is to let my mind and body rest. I take early sleep at night so I can relax properly and when another morning comes, those negativities that I felt within my body are gone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is the best approach, just rest when you notice this because if you continue working, it may hurt you more. Sleep is the best medicine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I been dealing irritability also . I am most of it when I easily get annoyed even it is just small things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kleah the best course of action is rest! Dont isolate yourself, just have a good nights rest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always feel burnout situation in my activities and it’s happens only when I didn’t get much appreciation to my work. Have a good night mate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, I understand that feeling but dont get sad if they dont appreciate instead reach out more, and then they will come to you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I'm presently dealing with my fair share of a burnout! These days have been tasking and its hard to keep up. Thanks for the tips, I'll try to use them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome dear, Try to reduce your workload! It would help a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago