Personal Finance: Where do you start?

29 73
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Hello Everyone!! How are you doing? Hope you all had a great and fruitful day, One more day till the weekend, who else is excited!!

I have not lived for a very long time. Still, over the years, I have heard of "Personal Finance" and always wondered what it was, and as a kid, I thought I could eat it because it sounded like chocolate, lol!

When you are a kid, finances don't matter to your brain because you don't manage or make money. Still, as you grow up, you start learning the benefits of saving and managing your money.

 In high school, I always saved money to buy my favourite manga or drawing equipment, I don't feel guilty, but I wish I had saved a little of it for future use.

This leads us to today's topic, "Personal Finance" First of all, what is "Personal finance"? Most of us already know what it is, but let me explain it in this article.

Based on a Google search, Personal Finance covers the concepts of managing your money, saving, and investing. 

Now let us focus on those three words:

MANAGEMENT

This is the process of decision making, planning, organizing human resources effectively and efficiently to reach a goal.

This is a straightforward definition. Suppose you have ever been on a low budget. In that case, you will really understand that definition because when you have little funds, you will always find a way to manage your money, so you don't waste on things you don't need.

If you miss "Management," you have basically skipped the most important part of personal finance. 

When you don't manage your money well, you won't have anything to save or invest when the time comes. I think after reading this, you should ask yourself this. "Do I Manage My Money Well?"

SAVINGS

This is said to be the process of setting aside a portion of current income for future use.

As you can see in "Future Use", it's true the future is 2 minutes ahead, but the future here could be 5 months or even 5 years. It all depends on when you need it.

I have seen people use 9-year savings to buy expensive cars and houses. I am not saying these are bad things, but we should really think of what we will gain before giving our money away.

But when you look at it, when you buy an expensive car or a car in general

The moment you drive that car out of the garage, it loses its value drastically because it has no gains.

Let me tell you something you may already know, Cars don't grow in value when you think about it. No matter how many cars you buy, they don't increase in value. 

They just stay cooped up in your garage packing dust and wasting your money.

When I talk about savings, I expect you to invest with the money that you saved.

I have seen people become millionaires because they disciplined themselves, saved, and invested in things they "understood".

Now another problem I see people make when they save is this.

"They complete the step of saving, they have a huge amount to invest, invest in crypto because they hear it is "An Easy Money-Making Machine".

They enter into crypto, lose all their money, and blame it all on the person that advertised it to them.

I have studied a lot in my time learning Forex, but one thing I will never forget is this, "No matter how smart you think you are, THE MARKET WILL ALWAYS HUMBLE YOU" lol!!

Even if you are the best trader, it doesn't matter to the market.

Then Imagine someone that has no idea of the market, that will just be a total waste of money, don't you think.

INVESTING

There is no way we can talk about "Saving" without talking about "Investing". 

The two go hand-in-hand, whether if long-term or short-term.

Just as I said before, when you want to invest, always research what you are going into because when you don't understand something, you are more prone to fail.

I think I read this in "The Richest Man In Babylon", this book was a great read. I highly recommend it to everyone.

So the story follows Arkad on his quest to fill his purse. He worked as a tablet carver until he met a client who told him to start saving all his income and invest it into something.

Arkad was overjoyed and started saving from his profits. When it finally came time to invest, he did something that most people do, but he took a different approach.

He goes to the woodcarver to help him buy diamonds, can you imagine? 

He gave all his life savings to a woodcarver to help him buy diamonds, and as expected, the man lost it all and bought counterfeit.

This left Arkad down, but he didn't give up. He saved up the second time and gave it to the weapons maker to buy fine raiment or clothing.

I don't know if he had a problem, but he kept on giving the wrong people because he had no knowledge of how investing works, and this is what I see most people do today.

They enter into something that they have no idea about, just like the Bitcoin craze that happened this year.

Millions of people that didn't know what crypto was entered into it thinking it was QUICK AND EASY MONEY.

While the real investors were removing their money when they knew it had peaked. 

The rest of the population pumped millions into Bitcoin, thinking it would "GO TO THE MOON".

We all know how that story went. Now, millions of people are bankrupt because they invested in something they didn't understand.

I was shocked when a friend of mine asked me what the red lines on the chart meant.

That just shows that people enter anything that brings money, and I don't blame them. "Who doesn't want Money."

But I really encourage people to understand what they are entering before buying the dip because that could really change your life.

Before I go, let me leave you with some books that could help you if you want to increase your financial management skills.

#1: THINK AND GROW RICH by Napoleon Hill

#2: The Richest Man In Babylon by George Samuel Clason

#3: Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki

#4: I will teach you to be rich by Ramit Seth

Conclusion

Hehe, that will be all for today. I am sorry if it was a long read. 

Still, I just wanted to convince anyone reading this to take their finances seriously. 

But based on what I have seen on this website, all of you are pretty much intelligent investors. 

It is not easy investing in crypto, but all of you are so good at it that I envy all of you sometimes.

Hope you all enjoyed the article and I will see you tomorrow for the next one!!! Thank you for reading


15
$ 3.03
$ 2.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @MegaKyodaiBanrai
+ 3
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Greetings I found your article very interesting, I am trying to learn about cryptocurrencies to be a good investor in the future. I laughed a lot in your analysis of children and money, when I was not the one who worked everything seemed very cheap and my poor mother... God !!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❤Thank you! It takes time, effort and discipline to be a good investor but if you keep on doing it, you will become a pro! I didnt know what money waswhen i was younger, I always got confused when I couldnt buy anything with monopoly money lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Money management is definitely something that a lot of people don't know they needed to achieve their goals. They waste their money on useless things that will just lose value with time when they could've just saved up or invest it to make their account grow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow👌 that is a very decent comment, these are my thoughts exactly!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such great information for you sir. Though I know some of them Ill still take note and save your article for future references.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please dont call me sir I am younger than u✌🙇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is something we keep hearing everyday and most people still do not feel the important of saving and investing for their future. They think money will come from nowhere in the future. It is what you do now that will determine if you would be rich or not. There is a big advantage when we save and invest our money. A word is enough for the wise. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, your comment is really amazing and wise!! the "Entitlement' mentality has really destroyed peoples minds, they always think that they deserve money for not doing anything and when you don't give them they start insulting and mocking you. Truly a word is enough for the wise, if you don't want to make your own money then don't beg for someone else money!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being new in crypto currency I need to know more to earn and to manage my finance.but i like your suggested book to learn how to increase my financial.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trust me, they are Gold when it comes to personal finance, you wont regret it. You can download an audiobook if you prefer that too!✌

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ok thanks for this information my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A great read, your article and of course, the recommended books. I have read the 3 except for the last one which I have to check very soon, thank you :)

Richest Man in Babylon has been a great guide to saving and investing, still learning but won't stop :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, thank you!! Wait you have read Rich dad Poor Dad and Think and Grow Rich!! Wow no wonder you are so smart in trading😁😁 I knew you were amazing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I have read both books. And I am still a newbie and still learning my way on trading. I have lots of mistakes doing it, but it's the best way one can learn I guess :) Thank you though :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learnt how to manage money when I got into the university, I had to become an economist by force and I always plan out how to use my monthly allowance right from the beginning of the month, to prevent getting broke before month end 😅 The saving aspect started when I joined readcash and I started getting extra income, it's hard to save as a Nigerian sha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When our money has no value what is the point of saving, I can literally use 2k to buy nothing lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly o, that's why I prefer to save in dollars or crypto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are unaware about the rainy days so we should must save something to avoid being panic in future. Management and saving are important but its most important to invest in better way.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yeah, imagine losing all your savings in one bad investment, I dont even want that to happen to anyone!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really informative. It help us a lot. I love savings. I am the person who love saving since I was in college. I always save my remaining allowance.

Investing is a good thing too like you're putting own business so that you're money will grow instead of using it in not important ones.

Thank you for this Oikawa..❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❤Thank you for your comment dear!! And you are already good at both saving and investing😁 you are amazing!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still have lots to learn when it comes to managing my finances. Also with crypto investments, it can be frustrating when you see that the value plummeted and didn't recover well. That's why I started to do dollar-cost averaging for long-term.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah Crypto can be a real pain😁 but at least when it starts making a move, it is sure to give u amazing profits! Thank you for comment❤✌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

2 over 4 done reading. Rich Dad and Poor Dad and also Think and Grow Rich. Both are gold. I agree with you we all need to do ou own research when we want to invest our money. Seek help from financial advisor.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe, another great mind I see😁❤ if you dont know what investing is I dont think people should do it because they might just lose their life savings and that would be awful!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, It was informative and useful for those person who want to do something for their life. I don’t think so this is for a lazy person like me. Well! I know all the strategies of using everything but I don’t want to use I feels like and I want just to lay on my bed whole day while scrolling. Hehe, I know very cheap thoughts I have. 🙏🤭🌝

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol I think everyone gets that feeling, I was writing while thinking of how I would be lazy afterwards🤣 But ultimately I think it is great if you make plans now so you can be lazy tomorrow!

$ 0.00
2 years ago