Don't procrastinate! "Do it now"!

48 71
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

This article will be my 2nd post this month. I hope to accomplish my goal of "31 articles in a month or 1 article per day". I don't want the articles to be random. I pray that God gives me enough creativity, time, and strength to achieve this goal and satisfy my audience.

Today is the 2nd which means we have 29 more days to go. You may be thinking there is still so much time before this month ends, but let me tell you the truth "Time waits for no one".

If you don't do something today, it will only cause you more problems in the future, and you will end up stressed, overworked, and depressed.

The theme for this article is "Procrastination." 

I am sure we all know what the word means, but for the sake of writing, let us dive deeper into what it stands for.

"Procrastination means to delay or postpone an action that could have been done earlier or put off something.

We are all humans, so we are guilty of delaying activities or events due to laziness, a busy schedule, or just lack of zeal.

Procrastination is said to be "Self-harm" because it has no benefits; it only brings about more work to be done, less leisure time, more stress.

It would be best to strive to get things done immediately, sing with good management skills instead of delaying work.

First of all, why do we do it when we know it can only bring out negative consequences. It doesn't help us in any way because you are only hurting yourself both on the short and long-term view.

Causes of Procrastination

Based on a Google search, I can list a few things that could cause us to delay our work. 

  • Emotions or Bad Mood

You may be thinking, can my mood truly affect my work? The answer is yes, and this is a fact. When you are frustrated, nervous, or sad, you are less likely to do anything because your mind is not in a state to work. Would you like to work when you are feeling down or angry? I am guessing your answer is a no, right!

  • Resentment of Activity

I have seen many people who are depressed, frustrated, and down because of their activities. They dislike it so much they would delay it even though it benefits them. These activities could be, going to the dentist, going to the gym.

Some of us hate the gym even though it has excellent benefits to our health and lifestyle. 

These days, many obese people on the internet say they are proud and satisfied with how they are. I am not trying to degrade them or anything but "Are they telling the truth"? Are they happy with the way their bodies are? 

Procrastination comes with the illusion that we are "benefiting ourselves when we are only lying to ourselves" just because you are proud of being obese doesn't mean there are no consequences. You are just lying to yourself. 

The same goes for anything we delay; just because you dislike it doesn't mean you should postpone or prolong it; "Better to do it today than not do it at all".

  • To feel good

Have you ever left a task because you found something better or more exciting to do? Well, that is another cause of  "Procrastination".

To fight our boredom, we often turn to fun activities such as social media, games, and all that jazz. You would always find a way to distract yourself from doing what is essential; we want to "Feel good or happy,"  but don't be deceived. 

That feeling is only temporary, just like drugs. You are on cloud nine one minute, and the next minute you remember all your problems.

Once reality sets in and you come back to your senses, you realize that you are left with only negative feelings, leading to more procrastination creating a never-ending cycle. 

I also procrastinate, and I can say that the leading cause of this action is.

  • Instant-Gratification

This action is the greatest enemy of any worker or human. I have found out that most people in the 21st century are prone to this because everything has been made easy. In the past, you had to walk to the river and get water; if not, you wouldn't have water to eat. 

Back then, if you were lazy, you would suffer for your actions, but now you could go to a restaurant and order!  

When you abandon your to-do list and have fun, you are only hurting yourself, and you won't realize this until you come to your senses, sometimes we do so many useless things that you would wonder if our brains work.

Procrastination is a "Dream-killer" because it never lets you get to where you are meant to be. When you leave or delay your work, then you are prolonging your dreams. 

What would you gain by delaying your activities? Only temporary happiness and destruction of your long-term plans

Think in the long-term, don't wait till the last minute before doing something. It will only birth more problems, and more problems equal more stress and less time. 

Don't give in to instant gratification; when you accomplish your task, then you can have all the fun you want, learn to manage your time effectively, and you will reap the benefits. Until next time, Bye!

22
$ 5.61
$ 4.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 15
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Procastination isn't a good thing,if we are involved in it then I urge you all to stop it,it kills dreams and doesn't put anything to us rather it wastes our useful time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty here. Ugghhh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aren't we all😃, it's normal for us to delay. Especially when we write articles every day, you will feel like taking a break but as you said No Pain No Gain!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But this is a great reminder for us, especially for me, to always sets your priority first. Work first, have fun later. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a wonderful article. Procrastinating is bad and am a fan of it. Working on it though. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😁we are all fans of it, but learn to control it. Have a great day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

what a wonderful thought, reminds me of my daughter's assignment that I gotta do now lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣really doll, dont fall victim to it please👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Procrastination is what is common to everybody and this is what affects the most student in school. It makes them want to study a whole semester course in a day when it is too late cos of procrastination

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have lazy days, I have days that I have so many things in the list but I find myself, watching videos in YouTube. and none of the listed things are done, it is even added with new tasks. Procrastination is really not good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Funny thing is I just remembered I have an assignment I'm supposed to submit next week while reading this article, I have been procrastinating since the day it was given. Even after remembering it, I still don't have the zeal to do it 😂 God help me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣thats an amazing example, it is not easy to do assignments, they are so boring and there isnt any excitement. Anyway try doing it, it benefits you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah i will 😊 thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Procrastination is a disease that you need to get over in case you want to finish something

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, thats one way to put it! Happy New Month friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always procrastinate specially when it's already time to write my article and read some also. I will just leave what I'm doing and spend time in watching video clips, until I spend most of my time doing it. It's just hard to stop this procrastination sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep, I am guilty of that; also, Youtube and Anime stop me from writing. When I start writing, I see a notification on Youtube, and I forget writing, lol!! It is not easy to stop, but let's learn to have good time management skills!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha, that's Just like me huehuw. But sometimes time management doesn't work with me because the desire to watch was so strong I can't resist it lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same in my case bad mood affect not only my work in-fact it affect my whole day. I hope you can accomplish your goal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, When I am angry, I cant even think thoughtless of writing. Thank you for your support, friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Procastination haha! Procastination used to be my next door neighbor when it comes to Washing of clothes. Any little wave blows out the washing urge in me. But I overcame it 💪. Hunger used to be a major cause of procastination too. I'm a victim

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, I can relate to your hatred for washing clothes, I hate it with passion, wish I had clones that could do that for me! It is just so stressful. But it has to be done sadly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Procrastination is a bad habit and I try to win against it but sometimes, I just lose.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand that feeling a lot, you will want to finish something but the temptations keep coming lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha that is true. It's a devil we have to win against :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Procrastination is a big disease we all suffer from at one point or the other. If care isn't taken, it can lead to destruction for one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah an incurable disease maybe! But If we learn to manage our time effectively then it wont ruin our lives!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Procrastination seems to be one of the main causes of failure and should be entirely removed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I really see the effect in todays society. We always try to do it tomorrow when we can do it today✌. Happy new month dear!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

as much as possible i try not to procrastinate but there are times that I really can't help it especially when I'm sick

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes its not our fault, maybe circumstances or situations we find ourselves. What matters is that overall you are a hardworker!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More light surely needs to be shed on this topic Because it seems to be the major problem in the life of most teens and youths today. Its quite easy to say I'll do something later rather than overcome laziness and do it now. This post is nice..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well we are all guilty of delaying, and sometimes it may be good. But we should learn to manage our time and lives effectively. Have a great day friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This seems to be the favorite theme of my life. Procrastination. I don't want to procrastinate my time in writing. I also had the goal of writing one article per day. Let me commit myself to it. Good luck friend. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dont worry you can do it✌😁. I see you are a man of culture as well, nice picture, I mean the OnePiece👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe. Yeah. Thanks. I'm an avid fan of One Piece. A fan who stopped watching for years. Lols.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What was your last episode? Dont you want to continue😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was already in episode 760. It's not that I don't want to watch it any longer. I'm compiling all of it and watch them in one go in the future. 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

👌Thats the smart way lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not so great at the procrastinating thing, though I slip sometimes. My life is a precarious balance of being able to get everything done, without dropping one of the million balls I have up in the air, and I am afraid that if I drop one or two, I will die in a ball pit of hell. Scary huh? :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, that means you are hard-working, dont forget to balance hardwork with leisure, even though procrastinating is bad it has its benefits❤ Happy New Month Bloghound!! Lets have an amazing October👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like idle times po hehe. It makes me depressed doing nothing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah an Idle man is th devils workshop. Thats true when am not doing anything, I feel ready useless and unfulfilled

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a victim of procrastination ever since I can remember. I actually feel like I have "mastered" the "art of cramming" HAHA. But I am always tryjng to stop procrastinating since it is not a fun experience to see all the works piled up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh by cramming do you mean for exams. We are all guilty of it! I sometimes leave my online classes with a recorder and play it when they ask me a question.🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHA exams and requirements as well. I always do them on the deadline, I don't really know how I managed to survive school this far. I also do the same during classes haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago