Hints on how POS Agents get to scam us

10 50
Avatar for Offset
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Lessons, Awareness, Truth

Scamming has become the order of the day over here. You and I can put this to an end by vowing not to scam people anymore, and be very careful when making a transaction in a POS stance. This is an article you can't afford to miss🙈

My last article was basically about how a particular friend to my elder brother was scammed. So we need absolutely carefulness, not to fall prey of this Victim. Today, I will sharing some hints with us. This hint is about how scammer or POS Agents get to scam us after withdrawing from their stance. As I said in the first article, Not all POS Agents can be trusted, not all of them are true POS Agents. Some become a POS Agent all of a sudden just to scam and fraud people, without even learning how to make use of the machine, though it's self explanatory.

There's a particular point I want to drive y'all to. When making a transaction using your ATM card at the POS Stance. When it's time for you to input your PIN. Just go through this various steps yourself.

  • When it's time to input the PIN, collect the POS machine

  • Then press your PIN is such a way that, they POS agent won't know it

  • Don't handover the POS machine to the POS agent immediately after pressing the PIN

  • After pressing your PIN, press "Enter" on the POS machine

  • Wait for few seconds as the POS machine approves your transaction

  • After the transaction has been approved, Endeavor to Press "Cancel" yourself!

  • Make sure you press the "cancel" button yourself, then remove your ATM card

  • At this time, you are safe to give the POS machine back to the POS agent.

Here's the Red Button showing the "Cancel" it can be used to end a transaction

All these I have listed above here, can be done within 1-2 minutes. For few seconds you're done with all the procedure i have listed there. Try to always follow this step, so that your funds can be save. While you're doing all these, the POS agent can't ask you what you're doing. Careful precautions should be taken.

Code that can save your BVN

On the POS machine, we have a code there, which can save your BVN number. The code goes thus; "1444" if this code is pressed while your ATM card is still inserted In the POS machine. Then your Back Verification Number (BVN) will be saved automatically on that particular machine. One the bank verification number has been obtained, what else remains? You will just be seeing debit Alert every now and then. So for your optimum safety of fund. Try and do listed procedures over there. POS machine is a small device which we can operate by ourselves. A lay man can use the POS machine, because it's operation are very simple. I have little experience about this POS machine of a thing, but I'm not a POS Agent, I'm not!! Once the BVN has been generated, one can easily access your bank profile, and hence, they can get your bank ATM card PIN. These are the possible ways the hackers or scammers works.

Another alternative for the POS agent to scam one, is that, when we give the POS machine and the ATM card back to the agent after pressing the PIN. The POS agent can easily snap the front and back of the ATM card. They have people who they are working with, which they can send the pictures to. Then those people can now have access to your account. Here's another possible way to scam people. Get frightened and concious when you see phone with them while making transaction

Be more suspicious when you see a phone with them while making transaction!!!

Final thought!

There are certain things you shouldn't be careless with, when withdrawing at a POS stance. Don't give your ATM card to the POS agent, be it a trusted one or the one you don't trust. Because they can be talking with you or asking you some unnecessary questions and then quickly snap your ATM card, I have told you. Don't be victim of Scam

It's @Offset from Nigeria 🇳🇬

Thanks for reading and supporting my article!!!

9
$ 1.57
$ 1.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
$ 0.02 from @gertu13
+ 4
Sponsors of Offset
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Offset
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Lessons, Awareness, Truth

Comments

This are nice hint but my card needs two different pin before I can use pos. I think Its because my current and savings account are linked to one bvn and both have different pins so if I click on savings. It will require two pin before I can withdraw.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I suggest you should complain at the bank, coz I haven't seen something like this before. It might happen sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like it like that.. Lol..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's getting crazy...so there is a code to be pressed to save BVN. Yes, if one is not careful, if they are able to get the digits as well as the code at the back of the ATM with the PIN...it's a massive problem. I always press the enter after inserting the PIN myself even when I buy fuel... We just need to be smart with all these things. Thanks for the heads up. This is another brilliant post just as the one from yesterday which was another eye opener.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Absolute Carefulness must be taken, people come up with different techniques Everytime

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every single time o. If you ask them to invent something nice, they won't but if it's to look for ways to scam people, their brains are always ready to think of ways.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely, they can great good and valuable things

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe so too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you very much my friend for this enlightenment. I don't like withdrawing from pos agents. I prefer to go to the bank unless I have no other choice and I need the money urgently.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We are mostly used to them, because it fast and less stressful, other than banks where we have alot of queues

$ 0.00
1 year ago