How to handle Anxiety

21 54

Hi everyone welcome to my article once again, how's your day going today article is going to be on techniques on how to handle anxiety.

onezero grounding techniques for anxiety and PTSD – How to ground yourself when you have trauma or anxiety.

  1. PUT COLD THINGS ON YOUR SKIN OR GO OUTSIDE

Using senses like touch, taste and smell are often part of grounding techniques. I’ve always found that the cold really helps me when I’m panicking and sharpens my focus.

I realised this during my GCSE exams. I had been feeling anxious and nauseous every day and the cold air made me feel a lot better when I went outside.

Taking a cold water bottle with me into my exams and holding it also helped me to focus on the exam and stop dissociating or panicking as much.

Putting something cold like a water bottle on your forehead or skin can bring you back to the present and help you to calm down.

**EAT LIGHT FOOD AND DRINK WATER

Because of some kind of evolutionary caveman thing (so technical, I know), our bodies tend to believe that we are safe when we eat food.

If you start eating something, it’s a sign to your body that you’re not in any danger because you probably wouldn’t choose to or be able to eat if you were in immediate danger.

Being dehydrated or hungry could also make it harder for you to deal with stress and might contribute to you feeling anxious, having a panic attack etc.

Eating small amounts of food and drinking water can be grounding because it can make you feel more focused and might help you to feel a little bit more comforted or safe so it can be a good grounding technique for anxiety and PTSD.

Sponsors of NanV.
empty
empty
empty

If you feel nauseous, eating light foods like crackers and drinking water slowly can stop you from getting an upset stomach.

3.REPEAT A PHRASE INSIDE YOUR HEAD THAT MAKES YOU FEEL SAFE

While you might not always believe what you tell yourself, having a phrase that calms you down can be a helpful grounding technique for anxiety and PTSD.

If being kind to yourself and telling yourself that you’re strong, safe, can get through this etc. doesn’t come naturally to you, having particular phrases to help you when you’re feeling anxious or struggling with your trauma can help you to calm down.

Even if you are good at helping yourself through something, a simple phrase like ‘I am safe’ can be grounding and remind you that you are in a safe space now, even if you’re not feeling safe.

Any phrase that reminds you that you are safe or that you can get through this will do. What you need to hear will really depend on you.

  1. SMELL SOMETHING THAT HAS A CALMING OR STRONG SCENT

As with touch, your sense of smell can be used to ground you. Strong smells can shock you gently back into the present and sharpen your focus.

It works in a similar way to touching cold things because it can bring you back into the present moment and help you to calm down.

There might also be certain smells that remind you of safety and comfort you. They could quickly make you feel better when you’re struggling and soothe you.

Drinking teas with strong scents, using scented candles or burning incense sticks are a few ways to use your sense of smell to ground yourself.

Thanks everyone 😊

14
$ 0.52
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 9
Sponsors of NanV.
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Thank you for this great reminder friend. It help us a lot. I agree all the things you've mentioned. Putting somethin' cold it helps and it make us calm friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this additional advice, I'll try those.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All four points are much valid and can be helpful in certain situation of anxiety.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, thanks dear friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for all for these things. Anxiety is a serious thing that everyone should be aware of.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True I appreciate

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are amazing tips, thank you for sharing them. I discovered that going outside is the most effective way for me :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True dear friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Having positive thoughts in mind really helps us a lot and I was facing anxiety and depression at the same time but now these days I am a little right I'm on my way to recover

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Please do recover my dear friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much for being so much concerned about my mental health

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One way I handle anxiety is by walking and sitting with nature. I love the serenity it brings to me and makes me feel relaxed thereafter.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a great advice and I will try to do those method whenever I got anxious. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks too dear friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As someone who hates applying cold water on my skin, that will actually help me in times of anxiety coz it can shock me back to reality 😆. I didn't know most of the things you talked about and I'm glad I came across this article, I have learnt a couple of new things

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cold water shocking you into reality,😁 Your funny.... thanks for your nice words

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would suggest having a date with nature which goes with your point about talking a walk. I've always believed that nature is a natural healer and whatever represents nature around us, we should be around it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🙌🙌🙌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me overthinking during my sleep time causes the most anxiety.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seriously... sorry about that You to try and stop it

$ 0.00
1 year ago