Continents - interesting facts

23 63
Avatar for Musician
2 years ago
Topics: Continents

This is a story about continents. The picture I saw at the school where I work caught my attention and inspired me to write an article with interesting facts about continents. Each continent has its own unique specifics and I will list some of them in accordance with the mentioned picture. I hope you find it interesting.

Europe

The highest peaks of Europe:

West Elbrus 5642m

East Elbrus 5621m

Mont Blanc 4807m

Monte Rosa 4634m

The longest rivers in Europe:

Volga 3534km

Danube 2860km

Rhine 1233km

Seine 776km

Tiber 404km

Belgium produces 220000 tonnes of chocolate a year. That’s about 22kg of chocolate per person.

The first Olympic Games were held in 776 BC in the Greek city of Olympia.

Andorra is the only principality in the world ruled by two princes, who also share the position of prince.

Austria has given the world many famous classical music composers, including Haydn, Mozart, Schubert, J. Strauss, Mahler and Bruckner.

Malta is the island of the famous knights of St. John the Baptist, who stopped the breakthrough of the Turks into Europe in the 16th century.

Asia

The Russian Federation is the largest country in the world, almost twice the size of the United States. The Trans-Siberian Railway is the longest railway in the world (9,200 kilometers).

The highest mountain peak of Mount Everest is located in the area of ​​Nepal and is therefore recognizable in the world.

The national animal of Bangladesh is the royal Bengal tiger.

Mesopotamia, one of the world's ancient civilizations, lokated in the area of ​​present-day Iraq, between the Tigris and Euphrates rivers.

Indonesia is an island country of 17,800 islands. About half of the islands do not yet have names. The most famous islands of Indonesia are Sumatra, Java and Bali.

Maldives is an island country. It consists of 1200 islands.

A fifth of all residents live in China. The Great Wall of China is the only building in the world that can be seen from space.

Africa

Africa is so big that the United States, China, Japan, India, Eastern Europe, Germany and France can stand within its borders.

Algeria is the largest country in Africa. It covers an area of ​​over 3.8 million square kilometers.

Victorian waterfalls are among the most beautiful waterfalls in the world. They are located in Zambezi. The waterfalls are over 1.6 kilometers wide and are the widest in the world.

The oldest human remains have been found in Ethiopia. The estimated age is about 200,000 years.

Four of the five fastest animals in the world live in Africa. Cheetah, wildebeest, lion and Thomson's gazelle. These animals can run faster than 80 kilometers per hour. And the cheetah can reach speeds of up to 110 kilometers per hour.

The oldest civilization in Africa is the pharaonic civilization of ancient Egypt.

North America

The first man to walk on the moon was American Neil Armstrong (July 21, 1969).

About 52 species of hummingbirds originate from Costa Rica.

The natives of North America before the arrival of the Europeans were the Aztecs and the Maya.

Stone tools found in Mexico indicate the existence of human civilization about 23,000 years ago.

The deepest blue hole to dive to is at a depth of 202 meters.

Canada has over 30,000 lakes.

South America

Ecuador has many active volcanoes and is therefore ranked first in the world.

Machu Picchu is the holy city of the Incas located in the highest part of the eastern Andes in Peru.

The Atacama Desert in Chile is the driest place on the planet. The last time it rained was in 1971, and it hadn't rained for 400 years before that.

Brazil has won the World Cup in football five times. The most famous player is Pele.

Colombia is one of the largest exporters of quality coffee.

Lake Titicaca at an altitude of 4000 meters is the highest navigable lake in the world. It is located at the border crossing between Bolivia and Peru.

Australia

Australia is the largest island and the smallest continent in the world.

Australia is home to many animals that have long since become extinct on other continents. These are kangaroos, koalas, etc.

New Zealand is one of the last inhabited places on earth.

Antarctica

Antarctica is the only continent without a time zone.

If the ice in Antarctica melted, the level of the Pacific Ocean would rise from 60 to 65 meters.

A large number of seals and penguins live here

This continent is known for having 90 percent of the world's reserves of clean water.

The seasons are the opposite of the seasons in the northern hemisphere.

Thanks a lot for reading. All content is original.

Merry Christmas to all who celebrate around the world. Enjoy the beautiful moments today!

13
$ 8.58
$ 8.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Jelena
+ 6
Sponsors of Musician
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Musician
2 years ago
Topics: Continents

Comments

Really interesting content 💕I inspire from u and enjoy after read this article 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I learned from your article, keep on writing about educational topics 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad to hear that. I try to write down everything that is interesting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very educational but you missed a few things, Angel Falls is the highest waterfall in the world is located in Venezuela, with 800 meters above sea level. The Tepuy Roraima is also the highest in the world and is located in Venezuela at 2810 masl. The largest and most abundant river in the world is also in Venezuela, the Amazon River with a length of 7020 km. The largest rainforest in the world is the Amazon, it covers a large part of Venezuela shared with other countries such as Colombia, Brazil, Peru, Ecuador, Bolivia, Guyana, Suriname, covering 40% of the South American continent.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh thanks for the new facts. I learned a lot from your comments. There’s a lot I haven’t written, but I was hoping to get a lot more interesting information through the comments 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will love to travel Australia if I'm opportunity to go...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And I would love to travel to every continent 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Continents are interesting. I also wrote an article about them before, although from an entirely different perspective. If you are interested, you can read it here: https://read.cash/@Mictorrani/continents-real-and-mythical-dfbbd954

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was associated with pictures in the school where I work to write an article. I learned some facts I didn’t know. I will read

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my one of the best dream to visiting all over the world.But I don't know how my dreams will be true.I saw South Africa's capital beauty in television. And I loved it's weather and beautiful scenary. Full of informatic article which you done.Thanks!!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. I think touring the world is the most beautiful thing. I want you to find a way to make your wish come true 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So interesting and educational content. I didn't know some facts. I really enjoyed reading. I would like to travel all over the world, it's my dream. 😊

$ 0.10
2 years ago

You can even dream of traveling, which is an easier version and costs nothing 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right but I like to make my dreams come true 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This kind of article is mostly craft my attention, it's really amazing to know different things in different containers,I heard those places and world heritages but I don't know where they are located and thanks to this now I know. Maybe on next article you'll tell us something about theory of hollow earth.❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. I try to use everything that is interesting to me and write an article. Interesting observation, I'll see what I know about the hollow earth 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like so much this kind of content...I like to know more thing about continent...keep writing articles like this marvelous one...well write dude

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you like the article. I try to be interesting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas to you too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I celebrate Christmas on January 6, thank you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Attractive events of the continent attract me. I also like to read such things. I like to know more new. And this is new things for me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And I learned a lot when I saw the pictures so I immediately wrote an article to share with you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago