We Vary.

20 43

November 20 | Sunday

Living the best life is subjective. There won't be a single yardstick to measure how fulfilling a person leads his life. How we lead life depends on us. We are the drivers. Just like happiness, living the best life is an inside job. It comes from within. We take full charge of it and it varies from person to person.

For this reason, there's no way for us to belittle, judge, or underestimate the life led by other people. Just because it doesn't fit 'our standard of a fulfilling life doesn't mean they're living it miserably.

In connection to the matter, I came across a timely post on Facebook which says, "I don't want to climb any corporate ladders. I don't care about job titles. I don't need accolades."

It blew my mind. It was an idea worth tackling. It's true. Some people find happiness in satisfaction. There is peace and unexplainable happiness in settling things and wanting less. And there's nothing wrong with that.

It's just unusual because we're used to the fact of wanting personal growth and professional development. In our quest of developing ourselves, we get to give up and sacrifice the things that matter such as time for ourselves and our family and peace. But that is not a problem for those who want to climb a corporate ladder.

I'm trying to pinpoint that we are unique. Some want to climb the corporate ladder and push their limit. Some also aren't impressed with job titles and rank. They are content with what they have. We are a society of various wants. Some want to be on top of the corporate ladder while some want to be able to provide for their family and live a stress-free life. Whatever you choose doesn't make you less of a person. We just have to make sure that the life we choose to lead is the life that would satisfy our soul.

Yesterday, on my way home, I saw a tarp congratulating some of my former college instructors. They are now professors and I'm happy for them. What caught my eye is my present professor. He is already Professor 4. I look up his salary grade and found out that it's huge. Looking at how hard-working and smart he is, I can't help but admire how blessed he is. He deserved it. I'm astonished at how God or destiny come together to put him in the rank he is in now. Indeed, with the right attitude and environment, a smart person could go a long way.

Inspiring. He is. I observed that he didn't let his accomplishments get to his head. He keeps his feet on the ground while aiming for more. I figured that's the spirit worthy to be modelled to.

In the workplace where I belong now, I saw a lot of reasons to leave thinking that I might adopt and get used to the culture that I'm in. I'm just glad that I have another outlet where I can find inspiration. Amid stress in the workplace, I have somewhere to unload my burdens and I have people worth looking up to.

Whether you aim to climb the corporate ladder or not. You're still enough and your presence matter. Pursue your happiness. You do you.

Thanks for your time. Until then.

*lead image is from unsplash.com

11
$ 0.75
$ 0.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 5
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I am motivated by the people that surround me also. The reason why I push myself to be the best that I can be. Keep motivated! With your abilities, you can surely go a long way teacher :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, teacher.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm comforted by this article 🥺 we indeed vary, we don't need to be pressured by our surroundings. Our happiness depends on us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah huh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is me, not the professor but the post about not wanting to climb the corporate ladder and all.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes yes. Different kind of happiness.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nakakainspire naman yung mga taong ganun mamsh. Mapa motivate din tayo. Gusto ko yung mga taong humble parin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lage maamsh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With the right attitude and environment, a smart person and not just an ordinary one would go a long way to making success achievable for him or her life. I love the professor who never care of his position but maintaining a good attitude towards life.

In all we do, we should strive for happiness and be who we are.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes yes. Shoot for the happiness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He does sound inspiring, and I know you will be a wonderful professor when the time is right wee teacher:)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That entails stress and pressure, Uncle Ed!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those kinds of people were really my idol, they gained huge things, they were still humble in the things they do all the time, and they are the real influencers eh, Sana all hehe. That's why I really liked to upgrade and study more uwu more things will come when you really took a lot of effort to do so.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah huh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mganda yung ganun, yung kaht mataas position down to earth parn

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Omsim

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree jud. We have to deal with our lives na lang jud despite of what other people might say behind our back. And I guess I know that professor, hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe he

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako eh kontento na Kung anong job ko now. Yung boss ko na registered Nurse pero Mas piniling maging freelancer. Down to earth na tao din si boss kahit my Kaya na sa life. Di mahirap lapitan

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow. Good for you and your boss sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago