Visitation of the Gods

25 35
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

January 13, 2022

Before my subsitution appointment ended, I had a chance to meet few of my students. I never thought that I would meet them at that difficult time but I did and I thank God for giving me such oppurtunity.

Two weeks after Typhoon Odette hit, classes were supposed to resume but since the classrooms were not spared and some modules and printers were damaged, we were tasked to do a different job. Experiencing the typhoon's wrath us traumatic. To me, it is by far the strongest and the most destructive typhoon I have experienced in my twenty- three years of existence. Going back, we were told to visit our students and assess their situation. At first, I thought it would all be fun, adventure and excitement until the moment I stood there in front of some students.

My heart beat fast the moment we visited the first student on the list. She was doing the laundry in their devastated home. The teacher who was with me greeted her with joy so the atmosphere would somehow become lighter. As she was narrating what happened during the typhoon, she was smiling but her eyes were sad. There was only the divider left and the whole structure of their house is gone.

In one of the many houses, I saw this cute kid and thought of including him in our documentation.

After walking for a few minutes, students called the teacher who was with me. Apparently, he was their former subject teacher. They were giggling and the ladies were still as beautiful and cheerful as ever like they were not victims of the typhoon. When asked about their houses, they would just laugh about the damages. When asked about the modules, some answered that they really made sure that they were safe and some also honestly said that the modules were also not spared by the typhoon's wrath. Before we left those bunch of students and head unto another homes, we thought of trying on some tiktok dance trends as they were loudly playing songs using their portable speakers.

To get into another neighboring barangay, we needed to cross a hanging bridge that has bamboo trees as an alternative to the other end because it is damaged. The deep green water below added more fun, thrill and adventure to the journey. Plus, when the seewind blows strong, the bridge would swing. I was really thrilled because I was carrying a heavy backpack and seeing the river below made me vomit too because I don't know how to swim and who knows what creatures are waiting for me there. Haha. I won't really forget the priceless experience. It is something I will forever treasure. Good thing that the student who accompanied us took a video of us and the teacher who was with me took a video of me on our way home. It will be a memorabilia that I will forever keep.

The whole experience for me provided different kinds of emotions. The damages were saddening but the spirit of the students as well as the parents were still lively. They still managed to laugh and look at the brighter side of life.

There were parents that were difficult to handle. There were also parents who were welcoming. Thank God I have a cheerful and smart teacher with me, he handles the situation very well and when there were a lot of students, there were no dull moments because he is naturally a clown.

I praise God for the wonderful ending of my substory. I thought I would never know my students and meet them personally. The typhoon has some kind of advantage still.

Thank you so much @TengoLoTodo , @OfficialGamboaLikeUs and @foryoubtc09 for the sponsorship renewal. God bless you more!

Thank you for reading. Until then!

11
$ 5.61
$ 5.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

Comments

All in all there is still that joyful spirit of our kababayans despite what happened. Through it all we keep that smile and we cling on to hope. Praying that things will be better soon. Kudos to you for doing what you do even conquering your fears but most of all showing to those you visited that they are not forgotten.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Part of the job sir. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakalungkot lang ano, pero kahit ganon nakakangit pa rin sila despite all of the problems they are facing. Yan kasi ang talent ng pinoy ee 🥳. Makakabangon din yan sila at 🥳🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes sis. In time and with God's grace makakabangon rin lahat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May nakita ako ate na may namimigay daw ng 1k kada fam, like bat 1k lang? Grabe dulot ng odette tapo 1k lang? Patawa ba sila?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sabi ni president 5k kada fam siguro kinarukot na be. Sa amin wala kaming maaasahan na aabot pa sa amin ang tulong. Alam namin harap harapan na kaming ninanakawan ng lider namin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dapat yung oera sa mga ATM nalang nila ipasok :/

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe naman mamsh. Damage gayud ang balay. Grabe gayud si Oddete. Arang kusuga gayud. Makalisang pag ayo. Hangtud run manindog pa gihapon akong balahibo basta about na kay Odette.🥺

Maka proud man ka mamsh. Laban ra gayud mamsh. Na kuylawan ko nag tan aw sa hanging bridge kung ako siguro nag kurog² na akong tiil kay talawan kayko pag ayo. God bless you mamsh.🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lagi maam mga taw diri basta hangin gamay kay makuylawan na natrauma bisan mga dagko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao lagi mamsh maka trauma gayud pag ayo.🥺😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kudos to you sis and to your team for bringing smiles to the kids!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks sis. Part of the job!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I see the joy of your student smile while you guys visit them. Congrats for a job well-done teacher and praying next will not be a sub but permanent na hehe. Laban lang.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yey thank you sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salute to you and fellow teachers. Showing strength, kindness, and dedication is very challenging when things are rough, yet you guys manage to do it. Be safe!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. Stay safe too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The things that teachers do for their students. Awwww. Melts my heart. kaya nga hero po talaga kayo!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awww your comment melts my heart too. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laban lang po. the world needs more teachers like you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saludo ako sa inyo teachers. Kht mahirap, sinasabak.. Kudos!/

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aweeee thanks sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to see that teachers are doing their best to visit their students so that they can feel that there are people worried on their situation, I know that the situation is not totally okay however visiting them will make them happy, Can I ask sir, does the school calendar moves or still the students is schooling and the modules are distributed?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

For the first two weeks of January, there will be no distibution of modules. For the next weeks, we would still have to wait for the Division's memorandum.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makakaahon po din po ang lahat sa bagyong odette.. You're such a good teacher.. Godbless🙂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aw charot charot

$ 0.00
2 years ago