Things That Can Harm Your Mental Health

25 33
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

12092021

Scrolling aimlessly through facebook while doing something else has been another habit that I'm addicted to. The newsfeed consists of the same posts of friends commenting on each other's posts and various advertisements of celebrities or motivational quotes by randome facebook pages.

I don't know about you but next to memes and puns, motivational posts make me stop scrolling, pause for a while and reflect.

On one particular time, there was a post that particularly caught my eye and attention. From the facebook page, PositiveSeed, I learned about Eight Things That Can Harm Your Mental Health.

1. Being attached to your phone.

Almost every adult and even kids are guilty of this. Well, we can't blame ourselves as most of the important stuff that we do involves using our phone. Even when we have free time or when we are in public and we don't want to feel alone and awkward, our phones are our lifesaver. So, it is next to impossible not to be attached to our phone.

However, we must try and do our best to do things that makes us forget to use our phone or if not and in our case, wherein using our phones is not a choice or an option but a must, still let us try to take breaks and enjoy some green view and rest our eyes and see what is right in front of us.

2. You strive to become a perfectionist.

This only applies to some people as their are others who are happy-go-lucky and doesn't want to be pressured. Sometimes, I think that the people who care less are the happy people because they don't stress about doing something perfectly. You got B in one subject? No worries. Try better next time. You didn't pass the board? There will be endless next time. Life would be so easy peasy. You just let things take their own course. Accept and live by the motto of "It is what it is."

Whereas if you are a perfectionist, life is an endless competition and while it is good thing to strive for the best and for perfection, we can't deny the fact that stress would come hand in hand with perfection. Plus frustration, it can kill happy hormones. So, if you want to live longer and be happy and young and wrinkle-fee, choose wisely. But there are also people who are born competitive and perfectionist and no matter what tasks they are given, they can still pull it off.

3. You're not getting enough sleep and rest.

Because you are always striving for perfection, you keep working even when it is time to rest. You are still finding ways on how to make things better and how to improve yourself. This is great but never do it with your own health as a sacrifice. There must be balance because the brain cannot process everything that you are trying to input when it is already tired. Give it a time and don't be too hard on yourself.

Eventhough you are not striving gor perfection, you can still be restless if you are stressed,pressured and when anxiety keeps on visiting you. We must always remember to take care of the things that we can and let go of those that we have no control of. Again, let us be kinder to ourselves. Let us take it easy as what Adele said.

4. Not seeking for help when you need it.

Sometimes we are on a mission of proving ourselves to everyone that we try not to ask for help and figure things out on our own. Being independent is tempting but asking for help could lead you to different opportunities to learn. We can reflect and learn on our own but we should also not neglect the fact that we can also hear of worthy advices or help from people that surrounds us, they may be more experienced than us in the field or they may be naturally wise. We won't know what we are missing until we overcome that fear or shame of asking for help.

Asking for help is one of the bravest thing a human can do. By doing so, you submit to the fact that there is someone knowledgeable than you and that you don't own every single detail of information or life mystery.

I'm afraid that I might bore you if I keep talking about all these things that can harm the mental health, so I will just write about the other half tomorrow or maybe not. Let's see if you are still interested. If not, let us droo the topic. lol

Whatever your feel right now, please do remember that storms won't last forever and better days are coming. So cry if you must but be easy on you.

Thank you for reading! Until then.

lead image is from unsplash.com

10
$ 6.96
$ 6.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Eunoia
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 6
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

Comments

The focuses you made are really the reasons of intellectually isolates from different things. Very much said .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Please continue this Ateeeee. Nabitin tuloy akooo. Hindi ako perfectionist eh , mas prefer ko yung chill chill lang talaga hahaha. Jusko yung phone ko kakabt na ata ng buhay ko 🤣🤣😭

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha yun talaga hindi na tayo mabubuhay ng walang phone haha sakto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a problem with this phone. This is my bed habit. I know. But there is no way to stop it. Maybe reading this post from today will help you a lot. I liked all the points.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We may just have to minimize using it my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Literally me, lahat yan. Well as for the phone naman, I use my phone for crypto purposes na, it serves as my wallet kaya need talaga 24/7

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mabuti naman sis at least income moderating pero dapat take breaks din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have a mental issue naman pero attach na attach na talaga ako sa phone ko ayaw ko na ngang lumabas tamo kahit may sakit ayaw bitawan aguyyy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kahit nasa cr may cp parin sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay akong ako tu haha wagas nga ee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The points you made are actually the reasons of mentally detached from other things. Specially the phone option. Well said dear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Luci

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang ako to lahat lately kaya talagang sumama ako sa province namin kay mama.. kasi napaka unhealthy na nang life style ko don sa bahay nang inlaws ko.. lahat nang apat na yan akong ako.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mabuti nagbakasyon ka muna sis para may breather at maiba na man

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Number 4 is dangerous. I have den alit of young people miss opportunities of a life time or fall into more woes because they were either to shy to ask for help, or because of their pride. I know there are a lot of good people out there, and you d be surprised at the number of people that are willing to help and be friends with you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah huh. There is no harm in asking for help. If you dont ask for help, you are missing something

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No.1 I am attached to my phone because of all the earning apps and sites I have but If we have terrible internet connection here at home I have my time to do other things at home rather than holding my phone and it's quite a nice feeling of being away from your phone for a couple of hours. No. 2 Nah I am not into trying to be perfect. I only live the life I wanted. No. 3 I mostly don't have enough sleep as I only have the chance to focus writing or doing other stuffs when my baby is asleep so yeah it's bad for my mental health but I am trying to sleep earlier sometimes. No. 4 Honestly I like to ask for others help or advices specially when I know that I can't handle it on my own. So yeah I will for the continuation of your article . Anyway I am also a fan of reading memes or motivational posts in fb too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Poor internet connection and brown out could be a blessing in disguise too. Good thing that you are living your life the way you wanted to. And yes, i feel you we just cant remove our phones away but it might be better to allocate a time or a day to do somehing else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes truly it is a blessing in disguise

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It feels that this all stems up for spending too much online especially social media that is not healthy. We are bombarded with advertisement and what we let ourselves be influenced with. We have to guard our minds. The control is in our hands.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes lee. We are gullible sometimes. We use feelings very often

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right with all of these because they affect our mental health especially using the phone too much but we just can't do without it but doing it in moderation would help. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah huh that is the key princess, moderation. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once had the problem of not getting enough rest and spending too much time on my phone. I almost went mad😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too friend. I am on that state now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago