The Secret: Show Up

25 50
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

September 25 | Sunday

I haven't spent much time on the platform for the past two days since my day job consumes almost all of my energy and creative juices. If I have any. (lol) It's just today that I came back. I figured I needed to reconnect so I would feel alive.

The first article I read about was doc @LykeLyca 's second-anniversary article. Two years. She's writing for the platform for two years already. I wonder what I did for the past two years. Anyway, I'm glad I have found my way through this platform. I'm writing for more than a year and I admit there are times when what I write is not something of value and not inspiring.

I'm guilty of posting just for the sake of posting every day. Most of the time, I post my articles unedited. Some days I don't even proofread. I just hit publish button to beat myself and prove that I can write every day. I can write but it's not always inspiring.

Inspiring

After Supertyphoon Odette hit our province, I can't go back to online teaching. I was devastated too since I can feel the pressure of worrying if I would have something to eat for the next day since almost everything was ruined:roads, cars, our livelihood, and mobile signal. Everything has an issue. The price of goods didn't even help in easing our worried hearts.

As a Filipina, I still smiled even with the uncertainties that I have faced. I have romanticized resilience thinking that it would take me to another level-somewhere that life is easier. I have sent applications for various job hiring posts that I could see on social media those days. There was a time when we travelled to the city- me and my work mate to try our luck in the field of BPO. Unfortunately, we didn't make it as they opt to hire those who have BPO experience. We came home hopeless. My earnings here became my resource to live by. This platform has helped in during the days I'm processing my papers for my application.

Two weeks later, the university nearby posted a job vacancy. Writer and multimedia editor. I applied for a writer immediately. But I wasn't called for an interview until a month later. I was drowning in the pool of hopelessness until the university called and asked me to come for an interview. It went well except for the fact that the job entails pressure, stress, and a lot of responsibility. 'We'll work with the president, the woman wearing glasses said. As we're on our way home, my fellow applicant and I laugh at how daunting and challenging the job is.

We intended not to submit supporting documents that HR required as we are scared and overwhelmed with the job description. I tried forgetting that I applied for that job. I intend to look for another opportunity. However, after a week, HR called me and informed me that I was the one they deemed fit for the job.

Fast forward, as a newbie many times I felt insecure thinking that I don't belong in the office. My workmates are equally excellent in their field of work. There are instances when I feel like giving up and informing my boss that I would resign. But I persisted. When I feel like giving up, I would talk myself out of it and trick myself. 'Stay for another week'. 'Give yourself a week to adjust. For a month that was my mantra. Every night I would feel pressured yet I slept early thinking that I have to show up every day at work despite my insecurities and my feeling of being pressured. Eventually, I get used to the pressure, the stress, and the feeling of always being in a hurry.

I will be clocking my eighth month as a writer at the university. Time flies fast when you love what you do. My workmates? They became family. The very people I genuinely can't get through life without. They are my second family now. My work entails pressure and more work hours but I love it.

My takeaway? Keep on showing up. Show up at work. Show up at every opportunity that scares you.

Thanks for reading!

Until the next read!

10
$ 3.98
$ 2.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 4
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

Comments

Thanks for joining! and, inspiring us with your story. Na try ko rin mag BPO before pero di ako pumasa sa interview, ang question kc puro pang PT kaya sabi nung HR mas fit daw ako as a PT hahaha! Kaloka!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was also rejected in a BPO company I applied months ago, but recently, they called me to know if I'm still interested. That's because I've heard that their employees were already resigning because of the ftf classes hahaha. Left as an option ahahaaha, anyways I didn't take it right away since I'm already busy as of the moment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha dapat lang. Sabihin mo kung ayaw nyo, edi dont.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oohh so you're really a writer offline amd online 😊🥰 thanks for the advice regarding work and the right attitude!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh thanks Cat!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Struggle is real jud bsta mag apply nho, dghn dayun mga mahuna hunaan nga di maau hehehe. Pero nka survived jpon ka maamsh👍...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lage maamsh no choice laban ra gihapon kay way pamugas

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Untag ing.ana ko makalig.on sa kaugalingon Mamsh. Naa ju'y panahon mga makaon nako's ahung mga negative thoughts. To that point nga makastorya ko'g dili maaju, makahuna-huna ug dili maaju.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nahh you need to help yourself maamsh. Kita rapoy makatabang nato

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao man. Haysstt..Unsaon ba ni uie. Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eight months? Tagal na pala. Parang dumaan ang eight months na walang nangyari sa akin. Walang growth lol! Buti sayo at congrast natagalan mo :) Good luck!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Lee. Napamahal na din charot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That’s great! I love to hear that you are now a professional writer. All the best in your journey 💙

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, friend. Not a pro though just a newbie.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Every pro was once a newbie 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your a writer pala, it's shows in your write ups that your already had an experienced the way you share your stories. Be safe wherever you are, hope that this typhoon will never ruined the lives of Filipinos. God bless, let keep on praying for everybody's safety.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, sis. Let's pray for our brothers and sis in the affected areas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice story.. What if you declined the offer? Do you think you have a better job right now? There isn't an easy job, all are tough. But can be learned eventually through persistence. You are indeed a real writer. But what do you write if you don't mind? School stuff? Or do you work with the school publication?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Both hehe. And speeches of the officials.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Surely time passed so fast and yeah., ang dami nating kaabalahan ngayon pero were still kicking here.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha yes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mamsh pag basa nako sa typhoon Odette. Huhu ang misud sa akong utok ang typhoon Karding run. Hadlok kaayo mamsh. Muagi gayud dri. 🥺

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Take care diha maamsh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Daghang salamat mamsh. Okay rami aria mamsh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago