The Joy of being a Commuter.

28 33
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

1:38 102321

I don't know about you but while it is safe and convenient to travel using your own car or motorcycle, there is this unexplainable joy that commuting gives us. Commuting is fun especially when you travel for a long distance. I'm talking about riding a bus.

Before the pandemic, when we were still allowed to travel to visit some distant relatives, we have to ride a bus since we don't own a car. It is not convenient. We had to wait for the bus to be full. There are also instances when bus drivers would still let you in even without seats available for you, you have to stand and hold firmly on the handrail so you won't fall. Imagine the inconvenience plus you carry your own bag or perhaps a child is with you.

Back when I was a kid, my mother used to take us with her when she visits her siblings. It is a one-hour bus ride. I would be happy if I get the chance of sitting by the window but if there are a lot of passengers, I would just sit on my mother's lap. I realized my mother might have been tired then, because she had me sitting on her lap while she is also looking after my older sister and our baggage.

In my college days, we usually ride on a mini- bus to go home. During weekends, there were lots of passengers which includes students, businesswomen buying goods and supplies for their stores and workers. There are times when we would force ourselves to ride on the bus even it is full already because there is no other means of transportation. We don't have a choice back then. We would stand in the aisle of the bus or sit at the top of the bus.

This was taken five years ago. It was a fun and exciting experience. You can see the excitement painted on our faces, we were excited to go home every weekend then that eventhough we have to sit at the top of the b useus, we wouldn't mind as long as we can go home.


Today, we can no longer satisfy ourselves with the fun that commuting brings. Prior to the time of pandemic, the mini- buses back home had also stopped operating due to old age. But people really find ways to be able to travel to the town again. We would ride on a motorcyle or a tricycle but nothing compares to the joy of bus ride.

I miss feeling the cold air when I'm sitting by the window seat of the bus. I miss sitting next to a random guy and lean my head on his shoulder. I miss the dizziness I get when I stare intently at the surrounding while the bus speeds off. I miss closing my eyes and singing my heart out feeling the music that the driver put on shuffle. I miss the dreams and aspirations I create when I am riding in a bus day dreaming. I miss sleeping off to the sound of music.

I hope one day, we will be able to adapt a new normal wherein we could still travel freely even without important errands. I hope one day, we can still go out and run without our masks on.

How about you? What do you hope for tomorrow?

*Lead Image is from Unsplash.com

15
$ 5.96
$ 5.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 7
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

Comments

Totoo. Convenient kapag may satiling sasakyan pero iba talaga saya kapag commute. Yung may makakasabay ka na iba-ibang klaseng pasahero. Tapos yung sobrang puno na sa loob ng bus pero si manong kundoktor ay sige pa rin sa papasok ng pasahero kahit nagrereklamo na ang lahat na masikip. Hahaha. Those days. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Adventure diba sis at naeexpose ka sa totong buhay haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korak. Kaya thankful talaga ako na tinuruan kami ng nanay ko magcommute. Ako talaga mas sabak sa commute. Si Kuya nung nakaoagdrive di na nagcocommute.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope before my flight medyo normal na lahat, nakasakay nako ng isang beses sa taas ng bus tas andaming mga nakalagay tulad ng gulay, prutas jusko maโ€™am kabang-kaba ako until sa makababa ako

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nako hahaha masanay ka na gyra haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

gusto ko din e try yan kaya lang parang nakaka takot HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakot talaga sis pero masaya if with friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Commuter dn ako nung college hanggang mkahanap ng bhouse. Hirap kya nyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tiis na lang sis gusto umuwi eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahh, ni hindi ko manlang naranasan yan huehue kalapit ng bahay namin baga if sa school, tapos wala naman akong work kaya ayon diko talaga naranasan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahhahahah baka sa susunod na habang buhay Ms. Ruffa haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I, too, would like to go out freely again. I love to travel. Especially while I drive long distances.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Roadtrip is really fun either alone or with friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a fun ride though. Sarap sa feeling pag nasa bintana ka yung tipong ang lakas ng hangin. Sana nga matapos natung pandemya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen to that. Let us pray harder.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love traveling

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too friend. I feel you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakairita ngayon dami ng barriers sa bus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku hahaha talaga naman sis para tayong gagamba na nasa posporo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I hope we can be able to travel feely again! You are right the joy was painted all over your faces๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, Uncle Ed. I wish I could turn back time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makamingaw musakay ug bus padung uli gikan school mamsh kanang naa ka sa bintana. Nakasuway sad ko sakay sa babaw jeep mamsh. Kulbaa gayud nako. Napugos gayud ko kay wala nay lain masakyan...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ulit gajud ug uli maamsh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gayud mamsh...๐Ÿ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really wish every condition we are in right now will be over very soon... I really miss having that much fun as well... your friends are really cute.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah yes, they are cute back then but they have grown into fine ladies now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Katakot naman po yung sa taas ng bus sumakay hehez pero exciting nga yan. Gusto ko yung bus na walang aircon e hehez nahihilo ako sa amoy ng ac

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakot talaga sis kaso wala kami choice noon. Exciting at masaya pag nanjan friends mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago