Skies, scents, songs and memories

27 33
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

11062021

Good evening friends! How are you today? The sky here earlier was orange and it was raining hard now with thunder and lightning. I was worried because my niece and my brother went out earlier for a stroll but I'm glad that their home now.

I can't remember the last time I saw the sky with this color. It was probably when I was still a kid. It usually happens when around 4-5 pm. Back then, when I would see the sky with different color, I would think that it may be the final day and that the next day the Lord will come. I have the same thinking too when there is lightning and thunder.

Memories. They are stored somewhere in our brain or consciousness. At least that is my understanding of how things are. I would be happy to hear from you. Anyway, some phenomenon, events, scents and songs would trigger us to remember something from the past.

Events

The sky being orange would take me back to the days wherein I was still in the elementary. If the sky is orange back then, I would rush to go home and make sure I'm near my mother. When there is also thunder and lightning, I would be reminded of how my mom reacts. She would cover our mirror with a white cloth or a towel and she would turn off the TV.

When the rain is heavy too, my mind would instantly travel to the days wherein we would run under the rain leaving our bags in our classroom. I often forget to bring my umbrella back then and even when I have an umbrella with me I would still run under the rain because I can see the joy in my classmates as they run under the rain. At home, my mother would never scold me that much. She just asks why I didn't use my umbrella. After I take a bath, I would sit down eating champorado.

My father is a big fan of champorado because as a kid his mother, my grandma would always prepare that as a reward after they take an afternoon nap. My mother adapts to my grandma's practice, she would prepare champorado so we can have something to eat coming home from school.

Scents

Colognes and perfumes would take us somewhere or some time too. When we smell of a familiar scent, we would be reminded of someone who smelled the same before. A certain scent is associated to at least one person. There would be times when we remember a person even if we are not with them anymore because we smell the perfume or cologne they use.

Scents would also remind us of how we used to smell before and the colognes and perfumes that we used.

Songs

Songs would also remind us of our good old days and the experiences that we had before. When I hear of Pink Sweats' "At My Worst", time would take me back to the days when I started working online and when we were spending fun times in my old boarding house. Those were the good old days. Coldplay's Fix You would remind me of my bad days, the days wherein I was having a hard time at work. That was the time when I got less number of classes and I think everything would fall apart. I would spend time listening to sad songs when I don't have classes back then during saturday. But when I'm in the good mood I would binge-watch the vlogs of my favorite youtubers.

There are a lot more of songs, scents, practices and events that would take me back to the old ways and days. I am very grateful of these things for they remind me that life was bearable and lighter back then. That life was much easier when we were younger. We sometimes would crave of the gentleness of life where everything is fine but we wouldn't go back in time. We will never travel back unless we have time machine. And even when we have time machine and we would be able to travel back in time, it will never be the same because the people and circumstanes would be different.

We needed to grow and level up. Life has provide us opportunities and challenges wherein we can practice the skills, the emotional intelligence and the grit that we have. But no matter how uncertain the future is and how scary it is to move forward, we need to take a step. And as we step forward, it is good to be reminded of the old days and ways because they fuel us to be stronger so we would be able to achieve where we want to be.

Thanks for reading! Until then!

*Lead Image is from Unsplash.com

13
$ 4.54
$ 4.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 8
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

Comments

My father once told me that when the sky is orange it means there is a typhoon coming. Also I have read somewhere else that the sense of smell has a unique ability to bring back vivid memories compared to the other senses.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah I see. Thanks for your insights Betha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you are welcome sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I have never seen a sky with orange color before. I think many things are seen in your country than mine 😁😁 But seriously, I love the color of the sky.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, Busayo. Orange sky is really strange. You should be more observant. Maybe there are a lot of things that are strange too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung biglang may naalala ako about sa scents, colognes and perfumes. Hahahaha. Pero bakit nga ba tinatakpan ang mirror? Narinig ko na yan nung bata ako. Hindi naman namin ginagawa kaso nacucurious lang ako. Orange sky!! 😍 hindi pa ako nakakita ng ganyan na orange na orange pwera na lang yung sa sunset.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dito sa amin sis parang malalang may hepa yung langit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Pero parang ang ganda naman sa photo 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko nung bata ako sis, nagagandahan ako kapag orange paligid ko or nagpipink. Ang ganda lang tingnan HAHAHAAH btw officialgamboa pala to.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naku sis parang may hepa yung langit. Nakakapanibago

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naysuuu fees like parang nasa mars lang yung photo dahil sa kulay ng sky haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nays sis pero weird parang may alien na naglanding somewhere🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That sky tho, that is awesome and just shows the old days never go away

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very true Uncle Ed. It is a once in a blue moon phenomenon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe yes it is, looks gorgeous though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That reminds me of those days when we run around under the rain, especially during the evening period. It's a nive memory

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahh those were the days my friend. We can only reminisce

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, what is wrong with the sun? It looks so scary. Sometimes scents/perfumes bring back memories of the past, and it can be lovely sometimes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Is it the same in your place? And it can be hurtful memories that we are reminded of sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is about growing up and there are times for everything. Remembering gives life and I like to do it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely friend. Reminiscing the past is really fun and exciting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa cologne. Naalala ko tuloy first bf ko. Bet na bet yung red juicy cologne ko. Dun ata ako nya nagustuhan 🤣🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nabighani pala sa cologne Ms Jane🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see, my favorite things you are mentioned here. Open sky, songs, I like it. I listen to music when I'm alone, looking up at the sky.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is perfect my friend. Even great when you have a company.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Brings us to the reality that everything is connected in one way or the other. Past and future, present and past. I love putting on this perfume cos it reminds me alot about my childhood.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, friend. When we smell something familiar it would instantly take us to another memory.

$ 0.00
2 years ago