my sister now

27 29

11232021

I know. I know. My title is cheesy. I know anyone would throw up after reading that but it is really what is inside my heart. Charot.

It started when she had her baby. My sister went through a lot and I can't imagine how she felt that time. Motherhood was a life- changer for her. From the outgoing sister to a homebody. She became responsible when her daughter came into our lives. She bacame wiser in handling her finances.

She was never alone in taking care of her daughter because whenever she felt like sleeping or doing something else, we would take over. My niece became the light and the joy of our family. The baby we never thought we needed. To this day, when our parents would imagine scenarios of what might not happen before, they would say that they can't imagine a life without our niece.

I mean, we went through a lot of adjustments when we had her. I never had an upgrade of allowance in college contrary to what my parent's promise after my sister would graduate. My supposed-to-be additional allowance was intended for my niece. Life was hard that time. My father is a farmer, my mother would sell our farm produce of banana and chili weekly. My sister was jobless and taking care of her baby that time while me and my brother were still studying.

But with God's grace, we were able to surpass the challenges and overcome that difficult situation. As months went by, my sister grew bored of staying at home and taking care of her baby. She felt like she was left behind by her classmates and friends. She inquired a job and was hired of a job she never thought she would have. Between the two of us, I have a dream of working in a BPO company but it is her that is working there until now.

God has really profound ways of answering our prayers. My sister complains that her communication skills is not great. But still she was hired. I can still remember how she prepared some possible interview questions before going to Cebu. The job was easy for her because it was email-based or chat-based. I'm not really familiar with how to call that but the thing is she never have to answer a call. In her time working there, she learned various stuff financially and technically. She learned how to handle her finances and from the way she talked to us, I knew that she was happy and that she earned confidence.

But the sad side of her working away is that she left her daughter. She already missed two birthdays of my niece. When she left, my niece was just starting to walk but now she can run around and would cry when you wouldn't accompany her to stroll around the neighborhood. She missed a lot of milestones of her daughter already. If only my eyes would turn into CCTV, I would really be willing to be of service so she can see her daughter's whereabouts in real-time. Of course, we would video call her from time to time but the connection and bond would still be limited.

Pre-pandemic, she would come home from Cebu to here in Southern Leyte every month but when the pandemic hits the country, traveling home for her was restricted. She would tell us that she want to come home but she can't imagine coming home here and staying at home without a job. She is a licensed teacher already and she is in the official list of Registry of Qualified Applicants for three years of ranking already but she still haven't secured and item in the teaching field. Sometimes, I would ponder how some people stride into the position without even working from it. They are priviledged and they must be grateful about it. They are applicants who made it through the teaching field eventhough they are almost in the tail of the list of the RQA, but still they made it, loud and proud. How I wish we could have the same priviledge as them.

Many times I would fall into the dark pit of self-pity, hatred and hopelessness. Then I would snap myself out of it as it is unhealthy and consuming. I would just settle with the idea that maybe God is still working something better for the two of us. That He is preparing our attitude and behaviour towards things before He gives us what we have been praying for. At night, I would beg to Him to at least help my sister find a job nearby so she could work and at the same time witness her daughter growing because you see, "minsan lang tayo bata" or "minsan lang tayo magiging bata" , so I want her to earn a lot of memoried of her daughter as much as she can and feel the joy that we have been feeling because of her daughter being around.

God is not finished yet. We may find him late or silent but He is working even when He seems quiet and distant. Our prayers are a "Yes" to Him already, it is just a matter of when and how. We may receive something different from what we have prayed for but know that it is ghe best for Him. We may receive something that is overdue but know that in His eyes it is the most-qualified time for us to have it.

16
$ 8.92
$ 8.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 12
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I wish you much success. So that soon everyone can be reunited in the best possible conditions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Ger! Praying for that and claiming it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really hard to a mom to be far away from her child. It's so sad mamsh but your sister sacrifice for her daughter to sustain the daily needs. I felt the love you have to your sister mamsh. The way you supported her. Everything has a perfect time mamsh. More blessings to your family mamsh.🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much Maam. Someday, God will answer our prayers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome mamsh. Yes mamsh someday.🙏🙏🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being the breadwinner of the family is very difficult and this is what has happened. how the attitude of parents to see this. I hope parents out there are wise in thinking not the source of a problem.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Breadwinner really went through a lot. They deserve respect and love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, ang sad lang pag nalayo sa anak, pero what more kaya if nagkaisip na ung bata tapos madalang pa rin na makasama ang ina ang lungkot noon. Buti nalang anjan din kayo para di mafeel ng baby nya na di sya nag iisa ano 💙😚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kapag nag vivideo call sila sis gusto pa ng mama longer time kaso eend call na ng niece ko mag gagames

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sacrifice of a mother jud na mamsh. Dili lalim malayo sa anak. Mingawon man gani ko bisan usa ra kaadlaw malayo sa ahung bata. Unsa na ba kaha ng tuig na. I hope your prayers will be answered soon mamsh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks maamsh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know that you and your sister's time will come. Both of you will bloom and bear fruits. I admire your sister's sacrifices. Being away from your daughter is never easy. You are right, God is not done yet with His work to the both of you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much sis. Claiming it. Amen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sweet mo naman sa iyong kapatid 🥰 yun nga nakakalungkot eh noh? Napipilitan magtrabaho ang karamihan ng malayo sa kanilang pamilya. Pero maganda sana kung makauwi na siya diyan sa inyo kahit ngayong Pasko lalo maluwag naman ba sa atin. Cebu alam ko ok na. Nakapunta na ata Cebu from Bohol sila momentswithmatti recently if I am not mistaken.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes sis. The problem is here sa Leyte mag quarantine pa tapos yung leave nya nauubos lang sa quarantine. Kaya hindi sya makauwi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder when I have some baby na din, Haha for sure maiiba ang buhay ko din. example na dyan yung ginagastusan mo sarili mo ngayon kapag may baby kana, sakanya na lahat nakatoon ang mga pinagiipunan mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sure talaga yan sis. Mauuna na talaga ang needs and wants mo for your baby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It only shows that we can change for good. 😁.. . Magkalapit lng tlga tyo 😁 Samar and Leyte hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes sis. Saan ka sa Samar? Akala ko Tacloban ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Motherhood changes the life of every woman. No matter what she was like before, she changed a lot after becoming a mother. And that's exactly what happened to your sister.Good luck to you and your sister.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly! Thank you Mazekin!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've changed too. From an impulsive buyer to a kuripot big time hehe.

God bless you and your sister!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganyan ganyan sya sis. Hahah kahit ano binibili nun nung wala pang anak. God bless you too sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Once you become a parent Especially sa atin babae mag iiba talaga tayo, there are others who became irresponsible and there are others that became responsible. Your sister was so blessed to have a family like you and your parents who are always there to back her up.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We're very happy because she changed for the better. Motherhood bring out the best in her. Thanks sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want you to know, na it's not cheesy, not at all. Same thing with my sister, but the problem is that she changed into something. From a jolly and outgoing one, to an introvert one.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No matter how they change, we still love them the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago