Letting Out

26 45
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

November 12 | Saturday

On my first day of teaching, I felt like giving up. Simply because there's so much work to do. It's a challenge that many try to unsee and ignore.

I'm teaching grade five and grade six students. There are a total of 22 pupils in one classroom. They are only separated by one long table. In each class, there are eight subjects. They are divided into two. Four of them are to be taught on Monday, Wednesday and Friday. The rest will be on the remaining days. I felt overwhelmed by the situation where I'm in. After I discuss a topic in Grade six, I will then proceed to discuss a topic in Grade five. The process goes on until 5 in the afternoon.

It's not easy especially for me for I'm not trained to teach such students. I'm a BSEd graduate and I'm used to teaching English subjects to high school students or college students. However, I wake up trying my best to deliver the lessons well yet after an arduous discussion, pupils can't still seem to grasp the lesson as they would only blink their eyes and smile when they are asked questions.

Not to mention the episodes wherein they would constantly roam around or sit in another chair. They would also fight or talk to their classmates even though I'm around. No matter how many times I scold them, they remain unmove and they would still go on with their agendas. It's hard and frustrating to be scolding the pupils every hour of the day. The work is draining already and yet the students are also equally frustrated. I don't know if I would ever stay longer in the field.

Maybe I'm just being too idealistic. Perhaps this is a part of what a newbie felt like. Some of the grade six students cant read. I don't even know where to start. I'm giving my all every day yet it felt like it was never enough.

It's hard to stay dedicated to your work when your colleague doesn't display the same enthusiasm as you. My colleague is mostly mothers. They would come home every day. Because the way from the workplace isn't favourable, their working hours are jeopardized. They would arrive at the school almost at almost 8 am and come home at quarter to four. Worst, they would come home when it rains even though it's only 2 in the afternoon.

Today, none of them show up at school because it rained in the morning. They're afraid to come to school because when it rains hard, there's a chance that they won't be able to come home as they wouldn't be able to cross the river because of the flood. Ahhh. Everything seems to be a problem here.

16
$ 3.51
$ 3.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 6
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

Comments

I read your post with so much desire to hug you and say everything will be alright. I can only imagine the scenario you are painting and I just want to say you should do your best. I hope something comes up for you soon to change all these frustration. I don't always like it when a work place becomes complicated. The motivation is always low...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, Ola. I just wanted to make difference.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You will...just keep giving your best and focus on what you have to do. You have an amazing heart.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Stay strong and fight especially if teaching is something you like. Hard times will pass and I'll pray for you, things will get better eventually:)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya salute ako sa mga teachers. Kaya mo na mamsh. Magbaha d.i diha mamsh pag ulan kay duol river.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Labaw maam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oh grabe gud diha sis... actually, I can't blame the teachers sad about those grade six students who can't read especially that the pandemic had taken two years of their school life, hayz.. lisoda sa imong situation sis but aja lang.. it will be better!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Somehow naa pod accountability mga teachers sis. Way intervention di man ni daghan kaajo unta na students. Plus sa humid pod.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You do quite a lot, and really to teach is never easy and the work you out through is amazing. I'm glad you understood your student. What happened after it stopped raining

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha. I'm close to quitting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Please don't, it happens and from a student perspective we can be a problem lol. It gets interesting

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya mgbaon ka ng mahaba habang Patience biscuit✌️...laban lng maamsh!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What, like they are doing what their doing now to earn and they are really not dedicated to teach at all? Oarang its irresponsible naman sa part nila na laging di on timr ang pag pasok at pag uwi, hmm. But anyways, fighting lang. If sa ntingin mo di ka magogrow jan , better ata hanap ka nalang ng ibang pag tuturuan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hanap ibang trabaho sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can only do your best wee teacher. And your colleagues don't seem to help, so just keep being you and doing your best.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Uncle Ed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cheer up! It might be a real struggle but I know you can do it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope so

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehhehe nakkatuwa kasi naalala ko sayo ybg mga unang araw ko din ssa trabaho. Ganayn talaga sa una teacher! :) Alam mo namna tayong mga teacher walang sinusukuan, kaya laban lang! Congratulations by the way :) Kailangan lang natin tlaga ng walang katapusang pasensiya at pag-unawa :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Huhu saan mabibili ang mga yan? Huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grats teacher kna tlga hehe.. Ganun tlga sa nagsisimula..mahirap.. Masasanay ka rn

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Huhu parang forever mahirap

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Laban ra maam. You can do it💪

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Laban na laman maamsh

$ 0.00
1 year ago