Friendship check!

18 21
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

As I was reading through the articles here in readcash today, I came across an article that tackles friendship. I was startled as I realized that I've not been keeping in touch with some of my friends. Second to family, friendship is the other relationship that you could develop and foster. I have childhood friends, friends I formed from my neighboorhood, friends I formed from elementary that grows bigger until highschool.

We were six in the group. We call our group D' KrieNessRahLy. Yeah, it sounds very highschool but we were highschool when we used our critical thinking to come up with thi name.We got each other's back since the time we decided we'll be friends forever. It was in highschool when our friendship bloomed, other people around us would really easily spot if there is some kind of trouble within the group. During our highschool days, we used to wear the same color of T-shirts and pants. We also used to plan to wear shoes every wednesday since its wash day. We go to school together and go home together. I can still remember being scolded by a mom who found us noisy passing by the street. We surprise each other on birthdays. After school, we would go om a roadtrip passing through two nearby barangays still wearing our school uniform. We would stop by our friend's farm to ask the caretaker to get us coconut juice. After that, we would sit in a hut talking about what life would we want to lead on. We talked about our dreams and our future jobs. We even planned to build a big house where we could live if in case we got a fight with our husbands. We talked about how we want to be godmothers of our kids and create scenarios of our kid's playdates.

Years passed and college came, we went separate ways. We each pursue our dreams and did our very best in academics but we never fail to keep in touch. We would tag each other on Facebook posts and talk about how our life went on weekends. We love to be together. We like to swim and eat together eventhough we only have "saging and ujap" and chips to munch on. We're happy at the simple life that we have.

However, life wouldn't always be swimming and bonding with friends. We needed to move on. We each faced challenges that changed our values and made us distant toward each other. Your friends are supposed to be the people second to your family whom you can cry on and share your problems with. But it seems totally different for us. One of my friends lost her dad to diabetes. She wasn't there when her father died. Her father died alone without family members by her side. She came home with her dad inside the coffin, we tried to reach out to her, comfort her and be with her during those trying times. After all, her dad also became our dad at some point. Another friend lost her mom to cancer. She's the only daughter and was loved dearly by her mom so it is hard for her to accept what happened. Both scenarios made our friends distant. They've gone through some kind of pain that the rest of us never understand. For this, we can't blame them.

My two other friends are now building their own family. And the other one is busy on her quest of finding her life's purpose. Forgive me, if I have bombarded you with sad stories and for me being overly dramatic. But it's just me and my sadness bonding again. I know life would be like this. That we won't be sticking together forever. Sure the friendship will still remain and communication will still be present, if not always maybe occasionally.

Today, it just dawned on me that me and my friends have not been keeping in touch for so long. Time to give them a call. Byeee.

Thank you for reading!

4
$ 2.08
$ 1.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.05 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 4
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

Comments

Even if they are busy, just keep on calling and messaging them from time to time just to let them know that you will always be there for them.

Ahhh. I am guilty of not dping that to my friends. LOL. Since this pandemic started, my high school friends rarely kept in touch. But before that, we would see each other every month. Then with my college friends, it is the opposite. We rarely see each other before because most of them are living abroad. But they are very active in video calling every week where they would just talk about how they have been to especially in work during these tough times. Again, I am guilty of not joining those calls because I am really not in the mood to socialize. Even before the pandemic, I would only post on my social media when my family/friends had a gathering. But I still replied to their messages when I would open my Messenger..maybe after a few days or weeks. 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ow I see. There are people who are not into updating and socializing and that is okay. We all have that one friend who disappears into her own world but she appears if she wanted to. And that is okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How was the call? :D I hope you had a long nice chat and catching up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yahh. Everyone's too busy to answer my call

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go call your friends! :) I remain in contact with some of my school friends. And although we don't speak often, we know that we are there when we need each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely. We will let each other explore and have our own space but no matter what friends are friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's it. True friends will always be friends no matter what.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

💛💛

$ 0.00
2 years ago

di mag sig laag kay covid

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sauna rana oy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mangil para di e quarantine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang importante buhi pa sila tanan haha! Char majo man oy naay ingana nga mga amiga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naa pod baja kay imo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nangahanaw na pod hahaha traydor nag uban

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pait. Sumbagay na laman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha kansi ko ana ron di mada

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go call them, People grow and friendships fade, if you value them, then do as you doing, contact them and keep it alive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yass, I will. thank you so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago