Day Ten: Bestfriend

22 32
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

May 23, 2022

Back in the day, when someone would ask me who my best friend is, I would tell that it was God. Hmmm. I was a bit idealistic then and in showbiz. I would also consider my mom my best friend.

But now that I'm older. I don't consider them my best friend anymore. I don't tell my mom everything. I don't cry in front of her and I don't tell her my problems. Same with God, there are times that I don't tell Him my problems as I know that He already knows about them.

When I was a kid, I had a neighbour who is the same age as me. We were classmates since elementary. We were playmates too. Her mom considers me her daughter too. She stays at our house and I also hang out at their place. In the morning, I would fetch her and wait for her so that the two of us would go to school together. During my days as a grade five student, she is the best friend that I write about when our teacher told us to write something about best friends in our formal theme notebook.

During high school, I enrolled in a different school. One which is away from my parents. I lived with my aunts and I had a different life from my best friend. There I made friends with my classmates that are still evident now. But my happiness there was short-lived as I needed to come home and enrol at the high school nearby. There I realized that my best friend already had a new best friend. She replaced me because I wasn't there. Ahhh

Even so, the bond remained the same. We still share stories, problems and aspirations in life this time with four other people who happened to be our classmates too since then. I and my childhood friend went to the same uni, stayed in the same boarding house and enrolled on the same courses and major. That is when we overcame all the gaps that were formed during the year when I wasn't around.

She is my sister from another mother. Her mom also cares about me. But ever since she lost her mom, I felt like a part of her also died. She never confided in me like how she confided in her boyfriend. I felt jealous that time because I should be the one whom she can run to as I know her struggles and I know her mom too. But she somehow treated us like we were just the normal people who attended her mom's wake. That's when I realized that death is really painful and that it makes a heart change. But I never held it against her. I accepted her decision and go on in life forgetting what happened. I guess it would work better that way. And now, I realised that I made the better decision.

My circle is small but I don't consider anyone my best friend anymore. My childhood friend knows a lot about me before as I share almost everything with her but now I kind of laid low. I only share what I feel like sharing as at times I feel like the more they know about me, the more I give them the power to hurt me. So, I only chose what I share.

That's about it, friends. I got no best friend.

*lead image is from unsplash.com

11
$ 4.03
$ 3.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 5
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

Comments

I think there's always change about the relationship of being friends especially we don't have any time to cope and mingle with our previous friends. Still, we recognized them as our friends but not just close as before.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still do that now, whenever I'm asked who is my best friend I do tell them is God

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow. Good for you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People do come and go even if it is a family,a relative or a friend. Life must go on even without them but it is still good to have friends.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah huh. You got it right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People change talaga nu dati we consider our parents as our best friends pero we met people talaga then we start to get shy on sharing about stuffs sa parents naten then we got a way to share it to people we met and considered friends pero no one can replace God and ourselves as our own bestfriends sa kanya lang tayo freely nakaka pag open up ng mga bagay bagay.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Truth siguro silang lahat nashashareran natin ng kung ano man.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am my own best friend but I have friends and despite God knowing everything, He still wants you to tell Him.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes. Be your own best friend. Yes I know He wants me to tell Him but I don't have the courage yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I totally understand...I've been there too. We sometimes box God with how we expect humans to act. You don't have to have all the words, just a leap of faith. You will be fine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wrote something like this "Do not tell them everything, tell them what is only necessary" I only tell people I call friends around me what they should know and never reveal my personal story to them, especially because of what I have experienced. Once you start revealing everything about yourself to them, you have given them the power to control your life. At least we all would be fine if we don´t share our secrets with them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah huh. There would be no regrets in the end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Korek! Only share what you want others to know about you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Perfect attendance na ba dzai?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me i have friends, but not best friends. The only person i choose as my best friend is me. People nowadays lack the good qualities to be become best friends.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah huh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung best friend ko nung kabataan, feeling ko hndi ko na makikila kph makita ko 😅 hndi ko na rn sya masyado maalala

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nakakalungkot yan pat sa akin nangyari. Masyado akong emotional.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lover ray kuwang nimo lydes hahah ka seryuso bas imo topic run 😄

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Seryoso man jod ko chor. Wa man ko nagbinuang wahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahah sabagay, agree nlang ko arun dili ta madugay hahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago