Beach getaway on a tropical storm?

25 34
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

April 26, 2022

Back in the day, when a tropical storm hit some parts of Visayas, my sister and her friends went on visiting an island. The weather was already bad but still, they pushed through. Adventure? They say they are up for adventure and they call themselves risk-taker.

At first, I didn't have a single idea that they are planning to visit that island. My sister just informed me that she won't be home for the weekend since they will be visiting and celebrating a friend's birthday who happened to reside in Baybay City, Leyte.

But then, she just sent me a photo.

She told me that they were not in Baybay City. I asked her if they are with the birthday celebrant but I got no reply. She was then offline already avoiding me. Haha.

I was okay with what they did. I can't do anything about it. It was Saturday morning when they visited the island. Later that day, I went home and informed my parents about her.

They were not surprised as they are used to my sister's attitude. Even before when she was still childless, she would often go on different kinds of adventures.

Saturday and Sunday passed by and the rain that time didn't stop pouring. The roads were unpassable, and the river was flooding. The worst thing was that there were areas wherein the people were affected by landslides plus the son of a university president was lost during that time and is still not found today.

Those series of events triggered the mom side of me. Although I'm younger than my sister, I can't help but scold her and her friends for doing such a careless move.

They spent three two nights on the island as they weren't able to come back immediately because of the huge waves. I was so worried since I wasn't able to contact them. I also learned that the parents of her two friends weren't informed that their daughters were on the island. Had something bad happened to them, the parents wouldn't able to rescue them immediately as they thought that they were just attending a birthday party.

I was so stressed that the moment that I scolded her through messenger. When we saw each other at home, she was just smiling and asked me why I'm stressed when in fact they enjoyed their time there. Ow. My bad.

The bad weather is evident in this photo but still, they happily smiled for the camera. Glad that during that time, they were very well taken care of by the people residing there.

The sweet girl wearing a grey jacket resides on that island. My sister shared that the people there are accomodating and humble. They are also rich even when they are from the island.

The struggle is real.

I'm just happy that they are in good shape and they are safe. More than anything, we just want our loved ones to at least to be safe whenever there is a calamity if they can't be with us.

I can't picture our lives if they weren't able to come home safe at that time. I may be overreacting or exaggerating for some but that was really how I felt that time.

Being adventurous is fine. Thirsting to go on an adventure or visit another place is great but we should all make sure to put our safety first. Safety over leisure. Some of us may think that we only live once but also bear in mind that families are waiting for us to come home, parents that can't sleep because they are worrying and overthinking. Like in drinking liquors, we must be responsible also for the actions that we take. Let us do ourselves and our families a favor to be safe and sound while we are having fun on an adventure.

Thanks for your time. Until the next read!

9
$ 3.53
$ 3.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

Comments

Safe naman kaya okay lng. Naging getaway tuloy yung labas haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Buti sis cool ka lang pag ganun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! I miss doing risky adventures 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha laag na dad a clea..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, they are quite the risk-takers. Glad they were safe amidst the storm.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Talaga sis. Nakaka bad trip

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Worrisome pag ganon. Ma stress ka sa kakaisip kung okay ba sila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala kahadlok ui. Sukol japon mo bahal bagyo ug gesawan kog apil sis. Maayu gni ky okay ra kaau sila ba. Kalami sa mga smile sa photos ba oh murag way bgyo hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Late sis murag way nahitabo ba hahaha mga himos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kalami jud pangkumuton sis hahaha. Pabadlong jud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ka adventurous man kaayo sa imo igsuon sis. Hays, kung ako sad sa imo side sis, mag worry pud jud ko ug ayo knowing na Dili maayo ang panahon that time. Thank God safe lang sila sa ilang pag laag

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lage ma'am nasobraans kaisog

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku Buti nalang safe Silang lahat. Pero my concern is that Sana nag inform sila na mag adventure Lalo na island Ang kanilang pupuntahan. Delikado Yun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sila lang ang nagplan bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Talagang si sya napigil ng bagyo, my gosh lang ha. Maigi at ayos silang lahat Yon ang mahalaga, pero sana naman next time ee. Kapag merong bagyo ee wag na ipilit. Pirmi nalanh muna sa bahay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truth ka Jan sis. Masyadong I underestimate hung bagyo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jusmiyo! Mga isug gyud mo Mamsh no. Bahalag makasab.an basta enjoy sa outing. Bisan pag bagyuhon.. Siawa jud.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lage maamsh way kahadlok lage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahw hinuon Mamsh di mabalaka..Langgoy lang jud singkamut. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kinsa may dili mabalaka lagi mamsh nga grabi baya lagi tu nga bagyo. Unya daghan pa jud kang mabasa sa online about sa disaster nga gida atung bagyuha. Haruyyy ka mga siaw na ba lamang. Bisan siguro ug ako'y naigsuon sa imong maguwang, kasab-an jud nako mamsh.😁 Ang kamo nabalaka na pag-ayu pero diay sila enjoy kaayu.hahah kaunfair.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha himus maamsh kaajo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always worrying about a brother is a hard-to-match feeling. After all, what matters most is that they had fun and got home safely, I'm glad to meet you Murakamii.7!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Spok. Glad to meet you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Talagang mag wo-worry ka talaga nun mamsh pag ganun kay lain ang panahon tas naa pa sila sa island. Delikado kaayo kay mga dagkong bawod tas walay undang na uwan. Bitaw mamsh kita sad ko sa Facebook. Anak sa university president missing pa gihapon until now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maamsh nu? Normal ra ahu reaction. Hahaha nanobra rapod packs adventurous sa ahu ate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago