The Attention of a Father

0 15
Avatar for Mr.Lonely
3 years ago

"Mommy, we want a rabbit," the children wailed.

"You can't have a rabbit. You won't take care of it. It will end up being my responsibility," Mom replied.

"We'll take care of it," they protested. "We promise."

So mom relented. She bought them a rabbit, and they named it "Danny." Two months later, though, when mom found herself responsible for cleaning and feeding the creature, she located a prospective new home for Danny the rabbit.

When she told the children the news of Danny's imminent departure, they took the news quite well, which somewhat surprised her. One of the children remarked, "He's been around here a long time. We'll miss him."

Mom agreed, saying, " Yes but he's too much work for one person, and since I'm that one person, I say he goes."

Another child offered, "well, maybe if he wouldn't eat so much and wouldn't be so messy, we could keep him."

But mom was firm. "It's time to take Danny to his new home now," she insisted. "Go and get his cage."

Suddenly the Children protested violently.

In tearful outrage the children shouted, "Danny? We won't let you mom. Let him stay.

The mom couldn't understand.

"How come you're panicking now when only a moment ago you seem to have agreed to let Danny go," said the mom.

The children replied all at the same time. "Mommm...we thought you said, 'Daddy!"

Well how about that?

If it's dad, he won't be missed much but not the rabbit.

Perhaps dad has not been spending too much time in the home enough for him to be missed. Perhaps dad's been spending a lot of time in the office, factory or in the field doing everything for "the children's sake!"

You have to ask yourself this question. If you were to be sent away, would your kids miss you?

The reminds me of a conversation that took place at work.

A manager was relating a conversation he had with his young daughter, just a bit over two years old. They were discussing geography and...

"Where does mommy live?"

"Canada"

"Where does grandma live?"

"New York"

"Where does grandpa live?"

"New York"

"And where does daddy live?"

"At work!"

Ouch! I guess that hurts.

I'm on the road for at least two months every year translating to more than 60 days of being away from my family. It takes an awful toll on me. The only consolation I've got is that I live very near my office and factory, which gives me a lot of traffic-free time to spend with my kids. And that I really do. I've practically shunned all kinds of social activities because I would rather spend my very little time with my wife and kids. Being with them is extremely important to me.

Shiela Smith said, "Our children are like library books on loan with a due date that remains unknown." Make the most of every moment with your kids! The most important thing a father can do for his children is to love their mother, and "the best thing father's can spend on their children is time."

For more articles just choose below 👇

By : Mr.Lonely 😟

8
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Mr.Lonely
3 years ago

Comments