The Great Depression

4 35
Avatar for Morning_Star
3 years ago

When things are extremely dire and have been for some time, it is hard to keep a positive outlook because positivity takes energy, the energy that you no longer have, energy that has been completely battered out of you. When it is dusk, you find it had to sleep, sometimes you just cry yourself to sleep and when you wake in the night to go pee, you are filled with this dread, the dread of dawn, the dread of a new day, a new day of continued misery.

Where is the magic going to come from, what else can I do, you ask yourself, what haven't I done? Is it all in my head? But how can it be? It is so glaring that it isn't all in my head, my neighbour talks to me and looks at me in a certain way, a pitiful way, disrespectfully. I can tell because he doesn't look at and talk to our other neighbours that way. Might it be because of my demeanour, my composure or lack of it? Might it be my countenance? But I am trying the best I could to stand on my own two feet, but I seem to have the burden of the entire world on me. Yeah, you might think its all in my head but I actually have some real-life situation going on, so there is no way in hell it is all in my head. I refuse to believe that.

In the past, I have tried very many things to make ends meet, put food on the table for my family but it all seems to go to shits sooner than later. Can one person be so unfortunate? I am bright as hell, I am my peers guidance and counsellor but what the hell has that done for me? I need a break, I need a win, a smile for a change. I have the means to succeed through illegalities but my conscience is such a wedge. I love putting smiles on people faces, I love seeing people happy so I cant take away their smile for my own glory. I have to find another way, an upright way.

A lot of people are going through some really sad and emotional challenges and it is difficult to see and do nothing. You see a lot of really depressing pieces like this one on read.cash, a lot of people trying to reach out, trying to stay afloat emotionally and psychologically, a lot of people watching their loves ones suffer and die and cant do nothing about it, because they dont have the means. It is not only a burden to the less privileged, it in fact becomes an emotional burden to those reading, because what are they supposed to do with all that sad information? Well, nothing, but what happens when those writing can no longer keep those emotions within? Writing about their shitty life is not just for a pity party, but for a way to decompress and release and not implode.

These things happen, they have been happening since man knew life, they are happening now and they are gonna happen tomorrow. Some have and some don't have, some used to have but no longer have, some didn't have before but they do now and, some didn't have before and also do not have now, some had before and also have now.

I guess that's just how life is designed by whoever designed it, but what is different now? Why is it so much in our faces now, why do we see sad depressed people everywhere we go? Because technology has helped create a new kind of community, a global community. At the stroke of a key on our phones and laptops, we can send signals of emotions to friendly strangers and anonymous friends a world away, we can send smiles across without our face being seen, we can send cheers across without our hands being seen, we can send our voice in support without being heard or even opening our mouths. It is a global community now, one where actions are carried out differently but in the same human way.

I don't know if it has anything to do with the pandemic but there seems to be a rise in the level of depression-related cases all over the world, read.cash sort of proves this point with the amount of SOS articles in the Depression Community. The great depression?

This article is dedicated to everyone passing through the rough side of life, please do not give up, keep doing your best and one day you would have the opportunity to tell your story with a smile on your way.

Written in a flow state in 48mins

4
$ 1.58
$ 1.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @elamey
Sponsors of Morning_Star
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Morning_Star
3 years ago

Comments

hi, morning star. this is the first article of yours that i have read. looking forward on readin more from you :>

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello Elamey. Thanks for reaching and I am happy that my article resonates with you. I have gone through your profile and I understand that it is not all rosy for you and I am sorry about it. Truth is, I am struggling too and being a deep quiet soul, I usually write these kinds of articles because I am empathic and I hurt seeing the sufferings around me all the time without being able to do anything. So the best I can give now is write articles like this to show those struggling that they arent alone, some of us are suffering also and we understand.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

You are one of a kind hooman. Articles like this is making me feel less alone. I am really hoping we can be friends. And i appreciate you for going through my profile, it means a lot. Keep going. Xoxo, from your moonchild friend.

$ 0.30
3 years ago

https://read.cash/@Morning_Star/calming-the-storm-with-meditation-8fc09819

https://read.cash/@Morning_Star/the-voyage-f83b3186

https://read.cash/@Morning_Star/life-is-a-beautiful-mess-844bdf89

https://read.cash/@Morning_Star/lending-a-helping-hand-cab6ae5f

These are some of the earliest articles I wrote I think you can also relate to. I am happy to have made your acquaintance and I am sure we are gonna be really good friends.

$ 0.00
3 years ago