Disney Movie Luca.

12 45
Avatar for MoonTrader
1 year ago

Just finished watching this movie. I was screening it to decide if I should allow my babies to watch it. I'm going to have pass and here's why:

The film is about a sea monster who disobeys his parents' warnings about not going to the surface after being lured there by a fellow young sea monster who they call a bad influence.

From the very start, the film makes doing chores and everyday life seem mundane and depicts Luca as longing for more. While there's nothing wrong with wanting to explore, Disney always glorifies the idea that being away from home is better than being with family.

I kept watching to see if there was going to be even the slightest nod in the direction of regret for his disobedience or acknowledgement that his parents knew what they were doing, but nothing. Not once did they portray the parents as having good reason for their rules.

I liked Finding Nemo because that movie shows what happens when you don't listen to your parents. I didn't mind the dad learning a lesson as well along the way. No one's perfect.

But this film vindicated the boy's rebellion and awarded him for ignoring his parent's orders. This is a common theme in Disney movies. His father was painted as soft and even dumb and his mother was overbearing and strict, while his grandmother encouraged and even aided in his bad behavior. In the end, it's the parents who come around to doing what Luca wants.

It may not seem "that serious" to you, but I'm a lay student of psychology and I'm not going to have those sentiments planted into the hearts of my babies. I don't need them thinking it's in their best interest to disobey me. My 2 cents.

Thank You for Reading!

-===-

5
$ 0.50
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @M3i
$ 0.01 from @Adrielle1214
Sponsors of MoonTrader
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MoonTrader
1 year ago

Comments

pag naiisip ko kung kelan ipinalabas ang finding nemo naiisip ko ang tanda ko na talaga hahah kasi super bata pa ko nung napanuod ko yun, btw parang want ko ituu panuorin ah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Luca is a good movie as it is all about his journey and choice to stay in the land.. However, Finding Nemo is the best

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Both are beautiful and nice ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love "Finding Nemo" too Mjay. Favorite ko talaga yan. Gusto ko yung story. Honestly minsan pag bored ako nanonood parin ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Luca ate try to watch it maganda din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang familiar Mjay. Search ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have seen the movie before and I doubt it suitable for young ones, it is not normal yo disobey your parent and get away with it...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have a point but there is a lesson behind it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The content of films targeted at children these days is a cause for concern. More often than not they glorify vices in the stead of virtues

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
1 year ago

Indeed My friend, thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ndi ko pa napapanood un, pero am sure may aral din naman un, coz they know mostly kids will watch it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Must watch it ate napaka ganda ng story.

$ 0.00
1 year ago