Why Are Toys Soo Expensive?

32 56
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Yesterday, I shared some frustrations about my husband not being there when I needed him as well as some bad happenings with the laptop but before I had those bursting moments, our small family was enjoying our time at Metro Ayala.

Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

My husband received a Sodexo gift card worth Php 1,000 from their company, it was from last December 2021, aside from receiving an item, every employee also gets a gift card and I want to spend it on Matti's toys.

I didn't check what shops would accept the gift card, it was my bad and it was my idea as well that we go visit Metro Ayala instead of SM.

On our way to Ayala, we passed by Rustans.

Passing by this crossroad, I am always in awe of the buildings surrounding the business park in Cebu City.

We parked nearby the Metro store so it was easier for us to reach the kids' section. We used the elevator to get to the third floor. And surprisingly, there were zero people around so it felt good to be able to roam around without other customers, the salesmen and women were at their respective spots, some were arranging the items, others were just busy on some stuff, and the cashiers were somehow also looking into their monitors, so basically, everyone was busy and there was no one who bothered to get near us. I am glad that's the situation because I feel awkward whenever someone goes up to me and asks what I am looking for. I usually just want that I will be left by myself in checking on items.

Matti walking around the kids section.

I asked the husband to just entertain Matti while I look for some toys. Funny how I had sweared before giving birth that I won't be buying toys for Matti but look at us right now, we are just buying and accumulating more and more. Is this normal for parents? I guess so!

The first thing that Matti got interested was the basket full of soft balls.

I know we have a lot of balls at home already but since we are in Cebu and Matti didn't have any balls here, we decided to get one. What we picked was the sole green ball. Whenever I see it now, I could only think of watermelon. It does look like watermelon!

Now, I went around the area, boy, it's bee more than three years since I set foot here. This side of Ayala Cebu had been burned, I remember that event before as our office is just adjacent to the mall. Then the pandemic happened. So I figured they had made this a better looking one. There are bigger spaces between the isles and it looked really spacious!

And so the hunt began...

I thought this megasketcher could be a nice idea but boy, this was expensive! A sketches for Php 1400+ ! No way!

I then found some wood toys a nd these look really cute, the kids could use the wooden knife and try to slice the fruits and vegetables but these too are very expensive! Why are toys so expensive?

And here's a plastic fsat food cart and this one too is expensive! Oh my oh my! I was looking around and was a little frustrated already because I remember before, Metro department stores usually have affordable toys but this time, I could only see these expensive ones.

Walking around, I found these sparkly toys, I am also sure that these costs a lot. I didn't even dare check on these cute ones although there's a puppy which was staring at me very intently, can you see it?

After awhile, I suddenly bumped into the isle which has these affordable toys. I was looking for something like this:

I had noticed Matti already showing interest with shapes and in inserting things into holes and such so I wanted to buy him these kinds of toys, they'll surely help him develop his motor skills as well as identifying shapes.

That one above is very affordable while this one below which is like a house was around PHp 250.

I saw a lot of blocks too and I miss Matti's blocks at home so I thought maybe I can buy one which has a container because Matti's lego blocks at home are all over the place, with a container, we can keep them in one place but I found it to be expensive at Php 500+ so I skipped.

I was holding the house puzzle, the ball puzzle, and I got him a family of rubber ducks as well. Matti and the husband were playing basketball with the ball that James picked when I came to them. I was just holding them all because I thought we will just get one or two items, now, I was already having a hard time holding them all especially that there was a huge ball.

I told James we should go to the cashier already but I remember Matti's swimming shorts so I checked that out again but unfortunately, there's no small size, they were of around 4 years old so I went to the cashier now.

However, there was one space which captured Matti and the husband's attention.

These cars are just so adorable! I too stopped by and checked them. I learned right then that these are collector's items. These tiny vehicles cost around PHp 250 each more or less. I swear I thought it was too much but we got Matti a helicopter.

These toys are just adorable! I guess we spent a lot of minutes here thinking which one should we get. I wish there was a gray wigo because that's what our car is. But also, those construction vehicles like the excavator looks really nice but my husband was also attracted to the DHL courier van.

We were just torn between these things and we ended up getting a helicopter. I wished we got that cute scooter instead! Anyway, I was the only one at the cashier but my husband got two rubber toys again!

Matti holding the rubber toys.

I finally was able to pay, I was supposed to use the Sodexo gift card but since they don't accept that, I paid for the items using a creditcard. With a card, we can easily figure out where we spent our money plus, we will pay for it on May.

Now, as we were on our way out of the mall, I told my husband I will check the ladies' section and he agreed but told me he saw what I did there! Haha.

I was indeed able to buy a pair of long pants. I tried out some dresses too but I always end up not buying because I find myself weird with a dress.

That was it and we headed to James' office. Now, you remember the gift card? We still have to use it so watch out for the next article!


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

10
$ 3.75
$ 3.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jher0122
$ 0.05 from @yhanne
+ 5
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Nakakamiss maging bata ulit hehe... Pero mura papo noon eh ..sa halagang 50 pesos madaming laruan na iyon..pero ngayon nako kamahal na.. meron pa sakin yung mga laruan ko na baril barilan bili sa piyesta.. and yung puzzle shape po na bola..buhay pa..hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I assume your Metro is our Metro an expensive shop. Toys are expensive because it's luxury.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for that . Yeah its a luxury .... You are right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

isa biya mi sa nag renovate sa nasunog nga area diha sa metro ayala mamsh...

super mahal na jud ilang mga items diha run ei..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mahal na jud ilang mga items d

ahh mao bah momsh... mas nindot ug hapsay na sya karon ba... pero mahal na jd mga pamaliton uy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

1400+? Jusmeyoooo hahahah arang mahala jud. Mabusog naman ko sa foods ani 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahhaha mao jd..haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Juskoo! Ka mahal bas mga duwaan dihaa dai uy. :D Nah, ingun ra ba pud ko dai nga ug maka anak ko, di jud nako i spoil pero, ug naa na guru'y anak, naaah! Ambot nalang jud. :D :D :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe mao jud dai.. hehe ingon btaw ko sauna di mamalit pero ang ending dghan n nuon heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi dai ayyy. haha :D Di jud maka tiis :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is quite funny how kid's things cost more than adults, not only toys but clothes too hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes sis... hayz... kaya we only need one child.. ang hirap haha may insurance pa!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, oo. At least ma-provide lahat ng needs. And yes, insurance is a must din nowadays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I swear to myself I'm not going to have a kid of my own until I can spoil him with those hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahaha you gotta prepare na hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haba na ng hair ni matti sis balak nyo yan pahabain pa?? Nung nag mall din ako last time grabe ung mga laruan sa toy kingdon sobrang mamahal parang pang bili na lang gatas din ilang box hahahaa kaso breastfeed pa ko kaya may time talaga na bibilhin ko na lang pero ung tig 500 plus skip ko din yan wahahah ung anak ko din kasi that time madali mag sawa sa toys.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

as for his hair, plan namin na pahabain pero minsan talaga lalo na pag mainit, gusto ko putulan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nag ganyan din ako sa anak ko sis nuon kaso nung nagka rashes sya dahil sa sobrang init, no choice na ko kundi paikliin talaga at kawawa din talaga ang baby.. Pero si matti mukang okay nmn at malamig naman ata sa area niyo so no worries?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

a laruan sa toy kingdon sobrang mamahal parang pang bili na lang gatas din ilang box hahahaa kaso breastfeed pa

tama nga sis ung mga more than 500 skip pero nakabili kami ng tag 1000 hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oooh kangilngig ba sa presyo sis. Hehe pero I'm sure enjoy si babay matti.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mga baratohon raman ni ako napalit sishehehe pero sa sm nakapalit jd mi ug mahalon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my, kamga mahal man sis uy. Bisan mga duwaan ra pero grabi man ang presyo. Unya inig duwa mangguba ra pud.hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

guba ra pud.hihi

mao gani sis.. sayang ang kwarta maguba ra.. may nang mga barato ra paliton kay kun maguba ok ra..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahal bitaw sis ngbuy ko ug new toy car 999 sa Bq unya sa Shopee 399 ra. Agoi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehhe mao lage sis..sige lang kay ang sa shopee mahal sad guro ang shipping plus motake time pa jd ang delivery

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mao pud sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How I wish to brings my kids in that of place someday sis,I seldom bought toys because it's expensive ,I'd rather buy foods for them na lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

t of p

we rarely go out then naman..kapag andito lang sa cebu...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember the price of that mega sketcher way back nasa 799 lang, ngayon doble na pala. Yan ang mahirap sis kapag boy ang anak, ang mamahal ng toys, pero try mo yung mega blocks worth ang price kahit mahal kasi yung amin hanggang ngayon nilalaro pa nila, nabili ko yun 10 years ago pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay back nasa 799 lang, ngayon doble na pala. Yan ang mahirap sis kapag boy ang anak, ang mamahal ng toys, pero try mo yung mega blocks worth ang price kahit mahal kasi yung amin hanggang ngayo

talaga? 799 pa before? dahil ba to sa oil hike? grabe noh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate sis. Mahal na jod mga duwaan hasta clothes for toddlers. Last friday I saw a nice dress that would fit my niece but the price is equal to the dress of an adult omyyyy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

l na jod mga duwaan hasta clothes for toddlers. Last friday I saw a nice dress that would fit my niece but the price

as in..makasakit sa bangs..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago