Ukay Day Plus Matti Reading Upsidedown

35 40
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

I have this article drafted for almost a day now. I thought I can finish it this afternoon after church but because it is the anniversary of our sister church, I became very busy and had only time to make this article tonight, I am typing this as I am breastfeeding Matti to sleep. I am hoping that I could get this done before my eyelids would close.

Weekends are always a fun time because the husband is off from work and so he could take care of Matti. So our plan that day was to go to the market and buy some preloved clothes or should I say "ukay-ukay".

Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

There's this pregnant friend of ours whom I want to treat with some pregnancy shirts and those which she can use when she give birth. This lady has been with our family since she was around eight years old.

Now that she is already pregnant and will get married soon, she's not anymore with us in the house but we have weekly Bible Study with her in the group. So I told her last Wednesday that she should come with me for some ukay ukay shopping on Saturday.

True enough, she arrived early at home as her partner has to work by 8 AM. So we invited her for breakfast, here's Matti's plate:

Matti had some leftover pasta, giniling with potatoes and green peas, and some rice and then a banana. Matti surprisingly loved the green peas and even was able to eat rice although he is not a rice lover. As for the pasta, he ate a bit. He ate a lot last night.

After bathing Matti and got him ready to go. My husband had brought with him a camera so he could film Matti at the nearby park while we shop. If you had tried shopping ukay-ukay, you'd know how tedious and time-consuming it can be and he was aware of that so he made sure he can have leisure.

Gladly, the rain stopped so Matti and James were able to go to the tire park. Aiesha, my niece, Amie our family friend, and I were at the nearby shop.

We went digging into the pile of clothes, I had learned to do ukay-ukay when I was in college. Cebu City has a lot of shops which sell them and they are quite cheap, the first one that I bought was a pair of pants used for our art project.

That project, I could still remember, we have to paint on the pants, make art on them and bring an anime fan back then, well, most of my classmates were too, so we made anime character paintings.

It was fun and when it was time for submission, our instructor even told us we will be showcasing them at an art fair! How cool right?

So yes, all of us girls back in college went to an ukay-ukay shop and bought ourselves pants for that project. We had fun shopping and painting together. One of those college memories which I surely can't forget.


Now back to our shopping, we went from the ones priced at Php 75 first but we didn't like the items so we went to the Php 25 items and we got a few shirts and tops! I got around six pieces, Amie had four, and my niece picked two shorts which costs Php 75 each, and two tops. We also got a pair of shorts for my mother which cost Php 125. I paid a total of Php 400+, she gave me discounts so I saved a lot from the loot.

We were still roaming around at the next store when James came back with an umbrella and Matti because it started raining. Unfortunately, we had to go home because Matti had stepped on a dog poop! Oh no!


Long story short, we were back home. It was also time for lunch, we had been away for almost two hours! Yay!

Matti slept right away after lunch, he sure got tired from all the running at the tire park. I have yet to check the videos though but I will edit them soon.

Every Saturday afternoon, my husband and I had already set that for our youth ministry but since Matti was asleep, it was just my husband and niece who went to church. Amie cooked some puto cheese too so I asked her that she cook more so we can send it to church for the young people to eat.

Matti slept for a good three hours! I was able to do a lot of things that afternoon too on my laptop. When he woke up, he ate a lot of puto cheese. And then after, we went to the playpen and played.

I showed home his book which was about the Treetop family and the black Rhinos at the African Savanna. We got this from McDonalds and this was his first so we are also planning on getting more happy meals and get more books.

Matti was trying to read it but the book was upside down. I was actually surprised because after I read him the book, he started talking, baby-talking like he was also reading the book. His intonation tells me he was telling me a story and so I recorded it on my phone and posted it on my Facebook account.

My husband, parents, and friends were sending out hearts for that video. I was really happy because it was his first time to give attention to books. Before, he would just brush it off and won't even look at the images.

I guess the 4 days no screen time was doing well for him!

Then on that same day, I decided to give away Matti's stuff which I am not anymore using. There were lampins, frog suits, a side sling carrier, and more. I gave some to Amie, then to my brother too as his wife will be giving birth soon! My younger brother's wife is also four months pregnant so I told them to just share those stuff.

I am happy that Matti's corner in our closet has a little space available now for new things.

That's it so far. How did your Saturday go?


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

14
$ 7.17
$ 7.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Jher0122
+ 3
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Dito din sa min sis, kahit saang lugar ka mapadpad eh may ukay ukay.. I wonder kelan nagsimula yan dito sa atin, heheh.. Mas prefer ko din mamili sa ukay ukay kasi kung matyaga ka lang talaga mag ukay eh makakakita ka ng magaganda talaga. Time consuming nga lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang lugar ka mapadpad eh may ukay ukay.. I wonder kelan nagsimula yan dito sa atin, heheh.. Mas prefer ko din mamili sa ukay ukay kasi kung matyaga ka lang talaga mag ukay eh makakakita ka ng magagan

true time consuming nga lang but worth it din naman..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Prefer ko yung ukay talaga na mga damit sis kasi kahit lulumain, branded naman. Haha.. Nakakabili lang ako sa mall kung may special gatherings talaga at kailangan yung medyo makinang or pasosyalan na damitan ba.

Anyways, ang cute naman ni baby mo. Siguro, ang saya-saya niyo talaga nung nagbaby-talk siya, ano?😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true agree ako jan sis...

thanks sis..super happy kami..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang kyot naman ng bangs ng bebe na Yan

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

thanks sis..hehe madami nga nagtatanong kung babae..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some of my clothes are from ukay- ukay ate hihi. Cute cute naman Matti. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

apir sis... very practical jd ang ukay ukay lalo na kun pambahay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another busy yet succesful day sis. 💜 Lami kaayong foods ni Matti ay. And the ukay ukay, ganahan na nuon sad ko. Haha. Time consuming gyud bitaw, pero if antusan gyud ug ukay kay naa gyud kay makuha nga mga nice sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

her busy yet succesful day sis. 💜 Lami kaayong foods ni Matti ay. And the ukay ukay, ganahan na nuon

uu naa sad baya .. ako nakuha mga naa pay tag..hehe nya walay mantsa.. hehe tag 25 ra.. ayos kaau...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang aq rin to mahilig mag ukay2x ahahaha,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayeeh apir tayo jan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow so kind you are sis. Matti is already big boy. He started to learn and explore😊🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks sis.. deserve din naman nya na itreat... matti is indeed trying to explore a lot of things na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Big boy na sis😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes.. time flies so fast talaga!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Matti boy is growing fast! A

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tinuod sis.. paspas kau panahon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so nice mommy na four days na no screen time si Matti. Sana tuloy-tuloy na. Para in time matuto ng magsalita at magbasa. Ang sarap ng puto cheese

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes sis 1 week na ala syang screentime. thank God di kami natempt so far..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Raise hand sa mahilig mag-ukay-ukay🖐️hahaha Hilig pud ko mamgukay sis. Bisan sa akong baby, uban niyang mga sanina kay from ukay-ukay.hihi I remember, naa koy napalit nga sandals from ukay-ukay tag 10 pesos lang. Nagamit pa jud nako pagcollege nako.😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yang mga sanina kay from ukay-ukay.hihi I remember, naa koy napalit nga sandals from ukay-ukay tag 10 pesos l

wow as in kanindot gud.lig on jd bya.. wala kaau pambata dire lage sis.. limited ra ang namaligya ug ukay ukay sad dire lage... sa cebu daghan jd kaau makabuang ug pamili..eheheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tiod2 nako wala kapangukay dai ai. Last nako kay sa cebu last year, mga march. Isa katuig hapit na. Medyo mahadlok pako mangukay diari. Pero if kalaag ka sa Iligan dai, abunda didto pati sapatos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ko mangukay diari

wala pa jd ko katamak sa iligan dai.. iligan d ay to inyuha ? as in chedings jd ako nahunahunaan.. hehe abi nako ug cagayan inyuha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dili dai ui. Dili pod Iligan jud amoa. Nagskwela and work ko sauna sa Iligan. Maoy kinaduolan nga city saamo baryo. Ang amoa jud dai katong naay longest boardwalk tapos naay hugyaw sa kadagatan festival. Isearch gani na dai. Nice kay na. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aw hala ka nice ako gisearch dai..sa lanao del norte? haha ako pa jd na kit an kay steemit link..hehe 4 years ago naay nag blog about sa place

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo dai. sa lanao del norte. silingan na municipality daun namu dai naay falls, tapos naa pajud tinago ug mimbalut falls, duol rana saamo. Mapura jud kag falls dai, dili lang sa Iligan. hehe. Pohon2. Katong wala pay pandemic, ayus kaayu ilantaw pagfyesta. Pabonggahay ug gakit. mapuno gud ug tao ang boardwalk. hala naa diay? wala ko kabasa ana ai

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As in noh nice sa inyuha uy kay both dagat ug falls ... Wala pa ko kaanha diha na mga dapita

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napakasaya mag ukay² ma'am jean. Ang mumura pa. Naaalala ko mga friends ko sa Cebu ang hilig din. Ang enjoy maam jean. Ang cute naman ni Matti. Hehe nakatapak pala ng poop ma'am. Ang hilig pala ni Mattie sa giniling with potatoes. Ang sarap nun ma'am jean. 🤤❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes sis.. masarap ung giniling... minsan nalang kami kumakain nyan eh... kasi nung nag odette walang giniling na pork . kaya mukha na rin kaming na sanay na wlang giniling... pero naisipan ko last time na kumain kaya bumili kapatid ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hilig dn ako sa ukay2 😁.. Cute ni matti

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe apir sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganahan sad ko mangukay. Karon kay wala nay time, sa online nalang. Pero mas nindot gud na personal mismo mag ukay kay makita nimo ang item and mas barato and masure gyud nimo kung ganahan baka or dili. ang mga gamit ni Eila akoa gipanghatag ang uban and ang uban akoa gina baligya sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wala ko kaau kita ug pambata dire sa amoa sis... pero akong mother in law, sige ug mine mine mga pambata.. iyang gihatag kay matti last time nauli mig cebu..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago