The Never Have I Ever Christmas Edition

9 37
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

Greetings! I have a draft on how our Christmas went being part of those who were affected by the recent Typhoon Odette but for some reason, I have not yet finished the draft and I am not having the inspiration to finish it. In fact, for the end of this year, I feel like I won't be making any bullet journal too because aside from the electricity being still out, I have not found the right inspiration to do so too. Our daily events are just the same, it is very monotonous.

Gladly, I read @bbyblacksheep's post on her Never ever the Christmas Edition and I found it really jolly that it prompted me to create my version with her approval.

With that, let's go ahead and answer them...

Never have I ever worn a Santa hat

I guess ever since I was in grade school and even when I started working, I'd always wear a Santa hat every single Christmas. So if I have one thing in mind which was unforgettable about this, I'd say back in college when we had our Christmas party because it was my husband who was my boyfriend back then who gave me the hat.

Never have I ever worn pajamas on Christmas morning

In the province, we are not used to wearing pajamas at night because it's hot here in the Philippines, most of us would wear shorts, some even would just wear their undergarments at night.

So I never indeed worn a pajama on Christmas morning. Even this year, I wasn't wearing one even if the weather was rainy and cold as our room has a ventilation problem. We have to make adjustments, my husband made a nylon screen on our door so that we could get proper airflow and that we would also make use of the natural light, which will save us from using our rechargeable lights.

Never have I hung lights on the outside of my house

Back when I was still young, before going to college, my mother together with my siblings would set up lights on our garden and outside of our house. This would usually be done in the month of September or October.

Filipinos celebrate the longest Christmas season so as early as September, it's all about Christmas songs and decorations already that include multicolored series lights.

Also, back in the day, every single house will have Christmas decors displayed outside of the house and lights are a way of decorating the premises at night. When the darkness comes in, the lights are also going to shine and would beautify the surrounding.

I don't know what happened but these days, only a few would spend time to really get these decorations out. Even in our house, we didn't put up lights this year. We only have a Christmas tree inside our house.

Never have I ever sang all the lyrics to Jingle Bell Rock

It's true. I might have sung some parts of the song but not all the lyrics. I even looked up the correct lyrics right now as I am typing this article and it seems like I only had realized there were really ones that I sang incorrectly.

So, I guess I have learned a new thing today.

Never have I ever set up a Nativity scene

Yes, I have never set up a nativity scene although, in high school, I know we were assigned for such but I never participated for some reasons which I can't recall now.

Timely, this year, I have listened to preaching about Jesus' birth, and what has been usually being pictured as the nativity scene is in fact not what we believed it was. As for how the preaching went, Jesus was not anymore a baby when the wise men arrived. These wise men were actually following the star for more or less two years. This is the reason why King Herod not hearing from them ordered children two years and below to be killed.

Never have I decorated a Christmas tree

I had and it's always fun to decorate Christmas trees. The only thing that I dislike is glittery accessories like the balls and Poinsettia flowers. I dislike getting glitters on my hand and most of the time, they reach my eyes and other parts of the face.

A few years ago, my husband told me their office has a real Christmas tree and I must see it. So I went to their office and indeed found a real Christmas tree. It's very aromatic! I am so thankful I have seen one because usually, we only have artificial Christmas trees.

Never have I bought a gift for a significant other

I thought of it and I am grinning right now as I asked my husband if he ever received a gift from me. When we think of a gift, it is something that the receiver must not know about. But I never really gave anything to my husband for Christmas that he didn't know. Most of the time, he would pick the item that he wanted for Christmas then we will buy it.

Since I always would consult him for what Christmas gift he wanted and the money that we use to purchase that is our money and not just mine or his, this question can easily be answered with a yes.

Never have I ever made a snow angel and never have I ever participated in a snowball fight

I have never been to anywhere which has snow and whilst there are places in the country that offers snow experiences, I have never dared go inside. Perhaps I must add this to my bucket list and do it when Matti is already big enough to join us in making a snow angel.

Surely, I would skip snowball fights as I might hurt someone. But making a snow angel or a snowman would be a great activity!

Never have I ever sipped on eggnog

When I first heard of eggnog being sipped, I laughed because in the Philippines, we have a snack called eggnog but then a few years ago, I learned that eggnog is a milk drink which is always asked by kids on Christmas day.

Perhaps the eggnog snack that we have here is inspired by the milk drink, probably!

Bonus question: never have I ever gone Christmas caroling

Christmas caroling is one activity that would always have a place in my heart because when I was still a kid, we would always do this during the Christmas season. As early as November, my friends and I would think of the song list that we will be singing for the caroling session.

I remember we would be eating dinner early, we would ask our parents to make dinner early so that by around 6:30 PM, we will be out in the neighborhood.

We don't really go into each house but would visit our classmates' houses instead. This way, we would receive bigger amounts instead as their parents know us.

My parents would always remind me to be home before. eight in the evening so it was a two-hour adventure, we would usually sing two songs, and someone is assigned to choose the next song. It was fun and I surely cherish those memories.


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

8
$ 3.36
$ 3.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Quite a very good experience on holidays sis. I can relate to yiu not being able to. Do things too. Im glad that it was not just me nto to do things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakalungkot yung sa Christmas lights noh? Yan din napansin ko dati pa. From dating maraming lights naging half hanggang sa bilang na lang sa kamay per streets yung meron dito sa amin. 😔

Apir sa not wearing a pajama and sa eggnog na biscuits. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas lights in the house is truly giving an essence of Christmas ma'am that's why we always have it in the house. It give us happiness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never ko din narty yung pajama eklabu hahaha kainit kasi or kahit malamig mag kumot nalang 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember nangaroling jud mis mga silingan sauna oi. mga baga2 pag nawong sauna. Hehehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wishing you happy new year in advance 🎉🎈. The Christmas lights in the house I usually do that too because that the way I make design for Christmas and also the jingle bells we usually sang that in church whenever we have Christmas carols . I can't wait for the next year Christmas celebration

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was a kid, I'm always wearing a Santa hat ma'am. Everytime there is Christmas party and Christmas programs. Missing those days. My mom always bought me Santa Claus hat and I always excited to wear it.

Christmas lights in the house is truly giving an essence of Christmas ma'am that's why we always have it in the house. It give us happiness.🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too sis. Until now wa japon ko kasag-o sa lyrics sa Jingle Bell Rock nga kanta.hahaha About sa pajama, I always wear pajama especially karun nga super tugnaw diri sa amo. Sige raman gud gauwan , way hunungay. Belated Merry Christmas diay sis. Happy new year pud.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

New knowledge din sakin yung eggnog a 😂 gatas pala yun HAHAHA

$ 0.00
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago