Kids Must Go Out!

24 41
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Dilemma

Having kids in the family requires that adults must do something to get these kids to move, to get those legs working, perhaps play outdoors, sweat, and just be kids! In this time and generation, our youngsters' faces are often stuck on digital screens, it's quite alarming looking at my niece who has online and module classes which she does during the weekdays. The online class goes from 12:30 PM until four while the modules are done in the morning after breakfast.

Once she's done, she goes to either playing Roblox on her iPad or streaming YouTube videos on the smart TV. The online class by the way is done on her iPad so she has been already looking at the screen for four hours then continues to do so because of the game and YouTube.

My nephews, ages five and three are almost having the same trend too! Their normal day is to wake up, watch cartoon videos on the phone while having breakfast (else they won't eat), wash, watch TV, eat, then go back to watching videos again. Yes, I know eating with a phone on the table is already a red flag! By the afternoon, when the weather is nicer, we go out to walk in the garden and the front yard but that takes only an inch of their day.

Pandemic

I believe that this might also be the case with other families especially that there's a pandemic and we are encouraged to stay at home but being idle, just staying indoors with less activity is not very nice for children, they got all energies that need to be used! They have to keep their DOSE levels up! DOSE means Dopamine, Serotonin, Oxytocin, and Endorphins.

My Childhood

Remembering my childhood, our afternoon (sometimes mornings too) is filled with activities that utilize the body parts, legs, arms, even our faces! Movements such as running, hopping, skipping, jumping, dancing, and all. We also play all sorts of Filipino games, tumbang preso, langit lupa, patintero, taguan, shato, and others. We also have social interaction with friends, fun fights, and these often result in sobs, crying, and sometimes actual fights! And I won't forget how the mothers would go out running after their kids when they went swimming with their T-shirts and pants on. 

Imagine this: the mothers (except my mother, teehee) play Bingo and other card games at the nearby house along the coastal area, all these mothers bring their kids to the beach, the kids were allowed to do whatever they wanted, even swimming in the water, just not go to the deeper part! That's the scene every afternoon.

Oh, I could remember how packed our black beach shores were before with all kids from the neighborhood. No kid stays at home during the afternoon because we all know, it's game time. No one wants to be left behind. We all know as well that after getting drenched with sweat and tears (for some), we will all end up in the water and kids love swimming!

When summer comes, we also savor the temporary dried rice fields flying kites, climbing trees, and running pageants on mountain heaps of dried hays, those which were freshly harvested, we would even collect rice grains that had been dropped by the farmers and exchange them to a piece of freshly baked Bibingka! I believe it was one Bibingka for 1 can full of grains.

Those were just some of my fond childhood memories. I super hope these kids could also experience it. Too bad I don't have photos to share here but I know you get these scenes in your head, I know that some of you had similar experiences.

So, why am I giving you these paragraphs of mumblings though? Well, I was just feeling bad that the pandemic happened, our kids didn't get to interact with other kids any longer, it is not so good staying indoors all day, all week long. So the next blog article is about our attempt to get the babies out of the house. We visited the beach yesterday. I had to just make this one first because the introduction was too long I have to cut this blog into two.


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

13
$ 5.98
$ 5.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

I actually think kids nowadays are missing out on quite a lot these days, and it has been a trend happening long before the pandemic. One thing I have commented on about the last 20 years or so in Hollywood and in the music industry is lack of originality. Lack of creativity. And I think part of it stems from the fact that many kids who are not adults had everything spoon fed to them, from technological gadgets and video games, that there minds just never had a chance to develop into individual thinkers and creators.

When we were kids we played make-believe. We ran and played and even if we did not have certain toys, we found sticks or other things to fashion them, and used our imaginations to make them real.

Kids need not only physical exercise. They need to exercise their minds as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i strongly agree on your point..we had a similar childhood... sadly, only those who don't have gadgets can be seen out in the field playing...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Those kids without the gadgets may not know it. But they are probably the lucky ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup i agree

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The title got me. Kids must go out indeed! Well, in our setting here at the province, since the population is not that much and most people are farmers who don't even interact with much people, the kids can still go out and mingle with other kids who are also their cousins since we are all relatives on the neighborhood.

However, I feel bad for those kids who lives in the city, they really can't go out for it's risky. Even staying at home is risky for they don't have other things to do than to spend their time in front of the screen.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

wever, I feel bad for those kids who lives in the city, they really can't go out for it's risky. Even staying at home is risky for they don't have other things to do than to spend their time in front of the screen.

this was the main reason why we have to move to bohol sis.. unfortunately, there's an increasing number of covid positives here. we can't risk that they mingle with other kids from the neighborhood

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayon nga. mainam na din na nakalipat kayo. for safety. pero ang alarming pa din na wala ng inatupag yung mga bata kundi gadgets. hindi na nila alam makiinteract. pati physically hindi na din talaga naeexercise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ga. mainam na din na nakalipat kayo. for safety. pero ang alarming pa din na wala ng inatupag yung mga bata kundi gadgets. hindi na nila alam makiinteract. pati physically hindi na din talaga naeexercise.

totoo... palagi nalng sila nasa loob ng bahay...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yung pamangkin ko nga na isa wala pang 10 words a day ang nasasalita haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoping talaga na matapos na ang pandemyang ito.hindi na naeenjoy ng mga bata ang paglalaro sa labas..and mas tutok nalang sila sa mga gadgets which can cause some effects afterwards. Miss kuna kumain ng bibingka..hehe.tas sa kabundok ng dayami eh magtatubling kami tas mangangati later..mapapagalitan pa haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ung puntang bundok nga nkakamiss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I instantly time travelled to the past while reading your blog ate jean. Im feeling nostalgic na nuon haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang dami talagang dalang pasakit ng pandemya na to satin. Ang daming affected tsk. Ang dami tuloy di magawa ng mga bata NGAyon. Ung iba naka tutok nalang sa gadgets aguy tsk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

'Tis so true, kids hardly move because they get addicted to gadgets. For me, I get to make them move. My son who is 8 and my nephew who is 7 do chores like scrubbing, mopping and sweeping the floor, and wash dishes, and feed the chicken. They have to finish them before they watch TV. They do it playfully that it will take them forever to get it done. After an hour of screen time then I write random words for my nephew to read and numbers to solve. My son who is entering grade3 reads "I wonder why" books.

Now, I am getting stressed thinking of the upcoming school entrance because of modules and I have a 4y/o who will be entering kindergarten. This pandemic is making the worst of the universe na talga

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thats nice sis having the kids do those chores.. my nephews are 4 and 5 .one of them needs special care

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The old days were always better. Although I enjoyed the company of my younger siblings in my backyard.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Miss the good old days😌💕 kids nowadays are too engaged with the technology, I have younger cousins here and I always make time to play with them, so that they would realize that playing outdoor games are far more enjoyable than those online games they tend to play with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh how I missed those childhood memories when gadgets isn’t nowhere to be seen. Unfortunately the trends among kids now is more on gadgets and watching you tube videos even before pandemic, we parents can’t prevent it, but we can still limit their time on gadgets.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gone were those fun days noh? Kids nowadays have a different idea of fun and for most, it involves gadgets. Sometimes we have to force them to do something else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i agree sis.. we must be creative in finding ways... like bdo.haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, I got my laughs again :D Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my laughs again :D Thank y

welcome sis..glad to make you smile..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so glad my schooling and college were done offline. Sometimes I have to attend online lectures and I fall asleep midway. I spent my childhood on the playground playing various sports, and I was good at it too!

Neighbourhood uncles used to tell me that girls are meant to play indoors! Can you believe it?!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ncles used to tell me that girls are meant to play indoors! Can you believ

oh oh girls for indoors only? that's discrimination!

$ 0.00
2 years ago