Filipino Children Loves Christmas For Sure!

16 49
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Hi guys! What's your favorite month of the year? I believe this depends on where you are situated and the culture as well but if you ask me, this month is what most Filipino children love. Why is it so? Well, for Filipino children, and Christians in this matter, December is the time of the year when they receive lots of presents, there is a long vacation, and even food.

So much memorable things occur during this month and it is every child's dream to have a good Noche Buena table. In line with that, I would like to share what are the specific things that I looked forward to for Christmas way back when I was little, a lot younger than today and perhaps most Filipino kids also do the same.

1. Christmas Decoration Projects

It is not a myth that the Philippines has the longest Christmas celebration. It is a reality! The Christmas season starts as soon as the "ber" months start as well, which means by September, you'll hear Christmas songs playing over the radio, there are Christmas decorations across the streets and there will be school projects all related to Christmas too for those who are studying either in public or private schools.

When I was a student, I always adore seeing huge star lanterns, those artificial poinsettias which I for sure love arranging, and of course Christmas trees.

Back in school, we would always have projects to work and submit on before the Christmas break and there will be competition in terms of the best or even biggest lanterns submitted. I always enjoy making those and I am sure my classmates also do!

2. Caroling

Part of Filipino culture is caroling. This is a culture being practiced even today, and children are the most active ones when it comes to caroling. This is a great way for the kids to earn extra money!

What happens during caroling is that a group of kids or even solo carolers would be knocking on random neighboring houses and would start singing Christmas songs. Some would do acapella while most would be bringing with them their makeshift percussions made out of flattened soda can caps.

Even now, I can still remember those fun memories I have with friends and neighbors as we braced dusk until evening to sing our hearts out for some coins.

The trick here was to go to local official houses or classmate family houses, those who knew us would give more rather than those who don't and there are even more others who would not open their doors to kids but that's just part of it.

At the end of the night, we would be dividing our earnings among ourselves and we will have an additional allowance for the next day. What's so good about this tradition is that it doesn't happen in a day only but rather for a whole three to four months, sometimes it would even go as far as five.

3. Christmas Parties

Well, what's Christmas without parties? There will always be at least one party in the life of a Filipino kid given that he or she is studying!

Christmas school parties happen prior to Christmas break, as Christians, December 25 is announced as a national holiday, and the day before that is a special nonworking holiday as well. So depending on the dates, Christmas parties at school commence.

What's so good about school parties? Well, there's a whole lot of fun, music, dancing, eating, games, and merrymaking! All together with classmates and teachers!

4. Exchange Gifts

What's a Christmas party without exchanging gifts? So it is already given that during Christmas parties, the kids will prepare their gifts, there's always a minimum amount to prepare, most of the time, its just food but the fun of receiving a gift packed, mysterious and very exciting when on hand is irreplaceable so everyone from school will definitely make sure not to miss this day.

But aside from school exchange gifts, there are also other events within the Christmas season where the same activity is being done like family exchange gifts, church, community, and even just between friends.

5. Visiting Godparents

Here comes the best part but this is not going to be fair because not all kids have available godparents. But, since the majority has, let me share this with you.

Early in the morning on Christmas day, most kids would start their day early too together with their parents or grandparents toward the house of their respective godparents. As for my experience, we do the usual hello, how's life, you have grown a bit now, blessing and tons of eating. I guess I have gained a few kilos each time I visit a house and they'd be talking with my grandmother for hours while I sit there because I don't really know the people around but I just have to go with it because the gift was what I was aiming for.

After all the talking and catching up, it was time to say goodbye, my godfather would usually give me "aguinaldo" or a gift at the end. Most of the time, they'd give me money, and sometimes a godmother would give me dresses, shirts, and other girly stuff which I still gladly accept.

6. Food and Desserts on Noche Buena

Christmas is also about getting together with family, catching up with friends because of the holidays, and even reconnecting with distant relatives. Each single Christmas day, at 12 midnight, Noche Buena comes and our tables will be filled up with the good stuff.

It's also a time for opening gifts. As a child, our parents don't usually give us gifts but we love spending time eating together. It was only when I grew up and had niece and nephews that I start to spoil them and give them gifts on Christmas day.

7. Midnight Games

I don't know if kids right in this generation still do this however, back in time, every Christmas after we have Noche Buena, my brothers and I would immediately go to our neighborhood so we could play with our friends.

Games were always fun for kids right? So that day, we usually have less sleep, sometimes without sleep at all because remember we have to get to our godparents when the sun comes.

Overall, there's always something to look forward to for the most wonderful time of the year especially when you are a kid.


Thanks for reading! What's your favorite part of Christmas?

Here are my previous articles too:

xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

7
$ 4.48
$ 4.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.01 from @Micontingsabit
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Comments

Ang paborito ko talaga ay ang exchange gifts bawat christmas party mula noon hanggang ngayon..hehehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hehe masaya kasi sis eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakamiss yung ganyang paraan ng pag.celebrate nang Christmas. Ang bibo nila tingnan. Ang pangit kasi nung last December kasi binagyo. Pero, still thankful kasi ligtas naman sa disaster na yun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

uu nga sis pero thankful pa din at safe and healthy tayo despite the typhoon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omg lang talaga, bakakamiss maging bata UwU. Christmas party ang masaya lalo kapag exchange gift na hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ng bata UwU. Christmas party ang mas

hahaha kinikilig ka din madam pag crush mo nakatanggap ng gift mo hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to do caroling when I was a child and I enjoy the little extra pocket money from it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes sis I guess most of us did!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uu nakakamiss nga eh hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's actually not common here in UK.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe carolling is fun it's kike the trick or treat diba

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think this year's holiday season eh mas makakapagenjoy na ang mga kids.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes surely momsh.. mas ok na ngayun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thisss!💗 Made me remember my remarkable previous ber months, looking forward for the coming days. More fun to gooo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

we all look forward to it cheers dear!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

💗💗💗💗💗

$ 0.00
1 year ago