Artsy and Homey at Ayo Ayo

4 14
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

In the corners of Cebu City, I found a cool art place that offers Japanese meals prepared by their Japanese Chef. This was an accidental find as I was on the way to hubby's office and the driver passed by this street instead of going to the normal highway.

What caught my attention was the restaurant's logo, it was written with the Baybayin characters and so I thought it would be our next destination once we got time to go out. And true enough, that plan didn't just stay as a plan, it became a reality. Let's go check Ayo Ayo Backpackers Inn and Art Cafe.

Yellow walls and tall glass sliding doors!


My husband and I came for a late lunch at two in the afternoon, the Ayo Ayo Backpackers Inn and Art Cafe is located at Corner E Osmeña St- J.Diaz St. Guadalupe, Cebu City. They got a silent and peaceful community.

The gates were just opened so we came in right away, there was literally no one inside, the staff welcomed us and we choose a table good for two in front of their bar.

My eyes feasted on the homey living room and the handmade tables! Let me share some photos.

This is my favorite spot in the entire lower ground.

That's a DIY table, there are two of those types inside the cafe.

The windows are sliding types too, notice the hanging shelves, those were DIY made too!


The house was built in the year 1949 and has been turned into a backpackers inn by two pure Japanese bachelors. I don't have an idea how they acquired the house though but their rooms are very affordable at Php 550 and Php 1050.

Since they are Japanese, they also have Japanese touches in the cafe such as Japanese magazines and manga books.

My husband trying to read the Manga, he can't even speak a single Japanese word! This was just for a pictorial.

I could imagine a pictorial session in this livingroom with natural lighting coming from the huge glass sliding windows!

Can you see the Japanese Calligraphy?


On the other hand, we ordered lunch before taking photographs though because we were already about to faint due to hunger.

Perhaps the only thing that can discourage someone to come here is the pricing, I had to admit, they are a little pricey but we still ordered our Chicken Teriyaki and James got their pork option, I already forgot the name of the dish.

This was my plate. Chicken Teriyaki at around Php 350, more or less, without drinks.

James' plate, looked very similar to my teriyaki except that this was pork.

But seriously, their hand made table and their wooden plates compliments very well.

I have to just be in awe as I took this photo. I can't help but appreciate this beauty! I want to make my own hand made table.

You might be curious what the dark glass was, that's my iced brewed coffee, this caused me to be awake for hours!

In fairness, food was really good and since we were just the only customers, we had the entire place to ourselves.


More photos below:

I took a photo of James taking a photo of me! I know, its confusing, can you see him in the photo above?

Japanese Manga Collection

The cafe's bar. I read on their Facebook account that 80% of the cafe was DIYed even their menu board!

And if the inside was good, the outside of the restaurant was as pretty as the inside!

Taken at the back window.

Back inside, you might have been asking where's the art in this cafe? Well, they're all around the place, can you see some paintings?

Wider view of the cafe.

Let me end this blog with a photo of me daydreaming at the cafe's windows.

Overall, I had a great time taking photos of the place. I wish I had a couple over here as subjects.

For those who want to eat authentic Japanese meals prepared by real Japanese chefs, do visit Ayo Ayo Backpackers Inn and Art Cafe. Ambiance and food wise, two thumbs up for me, I love the homey feeling and I remember the music playing on the background was also very relaxing! I highly recommend this place!


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

4
$ 1.17
$ 1.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
+ 1
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Gwapoha nimog mga kuha na photos madam oy 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Home na home ang ambience at ang tahimik.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda sis, ang simple lang ng design pero classy ang dating

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa wakas nakapagpost na 😊 Kelan kaya ako makagala gaya nyo ni @ARTICLEe 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago