Chasing Pigments: Joy's college journey

6 345
Avatar for Mjoy-23.
2 years ago

Dear Degree, why are you playing hard to get?

Dated back 2017, I can still remember how my mother went busy preparing my things. Deep inside I was saddened knowing I can't see them for a week, can't even eat with them, can't help them plow in the farm too. My heart was so heavy at that moment. Afternoon came and I know it's already a time for me to leave.

Does anyone of you who experience this too?

As a girl came from a country side, this was a 360 degrees journey for me. Was amazed with a new environment, meeting new individual as well and of course making friends !

As I stepped in the gate of the University. Mixed emotions I felt inside. During the 1st day, the launching of every department was made and done. We agriculture students known to be as "AGGIES". Seeing thousands of students in the campus ground made me think : thousand who will conquer their dreams too, I hope we could finish our race to get that degree. Fighting!

The bill rang and everybody is advised to report to their respective classes. As our professor entered, I felt nervous, scared and shy. But good thing, she's just to nice to us. Introduction of self was the first thing she talked about since she wants to know each one of us so we when our name is called we need to stood up and tell something about ourselves. The 1st day was fun! During lunch time I used to eat alone afterwards I went to the library. Most of my vacant time I stay there and read some books which is relevant to course. LOL

I was able to compare the agriculture system (farming system) from different countries, somewhat it has a big difference specially on the practices we had have here. From there high tech farm equipment and machineries to their innovation, amazing! I was motivated to study even more.

Taking Bs Agriculture is advantage to me since I was exposed in farm. I know some already of the practices that most of our farmers adapt. Like us human, plants intake food too, amazing right? They also need our utmost care. They have different characteristics, belong to different kingdom, have their specific name and nicknames too( common name). I was amazed by all of these!

Studying for me is fun! But what made me feel sad and weakened me is during the payment of our tuition fee when the term exam is about to come. My allowance also came sometimes late and not the exact amount. Expenses came along, these things motivated me to strive harder. Even experience that I need to fall in line under the heat of the scorching sun. But after taking the exam, it's all wort it!

Every after class, I need to go home to help in the farm. As I saw the tired face of my parents really ached my heart. Hoping and wishing one day I could give them the quality of life they deserved to have. Their sacrificed always reminds me to keep on going. After all the sleepless night, term exams, doing baby thesis, financial strategic report, explanatory activities and gotcha! I've surpassed those!

Third year journey has about to start, when we need to take a qualifying exam prior in choosing for our majorship. Since majority of my classmates is much eager to take the Animal Science major, so the exam was headed by the Chairman of our department since we are 30 student who wished to take. Only top 10 of the students who can proceed to the said major. Gladly! I've made it!

As an animal since major here are the few things I've experienced :

- Checking the eggs if it is good for consumption ( throug candling)

-balut making

-caponization

- giving vit. chicks (through injection)

- silage making

-feeding to the sow and its piglets

- anti- mortem and post mortem inspection

And there's still a lot to mention, maybe anyone of you here can relate to this especially to those Agri students, heads up! (salute to each one of you).

Since agriculture focusses more on research, during that time it was our batch who conducted the research individually, because the ahead batch, half of the class undergo their on the job training in different farms.

During the conduct of my thesis, I was so helpless, financial problem, emotionally tired and mentally drained ( sometimes you can asked yourself: can I really make it?) Revision of paper to its finest, God! Looking back to those moments, I can proudly say: God, without you I can't make it! Joy, we made it!

6
$ 3.39
$ 3.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Donnabel8.-
$ 0.05 from @marg05.-
Avatar for Mjoy-23.
2 years ago

Comments

Saying goodbye to our family in short or long times will always be a sad goodbye.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! But if it's for the future, so let's carry on!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello there ka-Aggies! 💫 Miss ko nang isigaw 'yung "Aggies" kapag may events like sa Intrams, ganern. Super nakaka-miss talagaaaa.

Ayornnn. AnSci ka pala, Ate? Under ng poultry production? Mukhang may tatakbuhan na ako kapag nahihirapan ako sa Animal Genetics, hihi. Chars~ CPROT major here. And, here is me now. Pinupuno ng mga sakit at kung anu-ano pa utak ko. Accck! Pero super enjoy naman eh. Ginusto ko 'to kaya tatapusin ko talaga. 🤘🏻

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, Miss! Fighting! Kaya yan. Actually, Animal Production po talaga dapat yan kasi Animal science is a subject right? Hehe. Message ka lang😅 basta makayanan ay sagutan natin. Anyway, thank you sa pag basa ng stories ko dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The terms or vocabularies I read are new to my eyes. This is another interesting article to read on because you are giving us a view of your mastery of what you usually did when it comes to the field of agriculture. Another thing is, you had shown to us on how to strive harder if we want to achieve something in our life and your experienced was one of those. Good night and to more articles in the future 🥂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kudos to you miss Donn, for encouraging me to do well in this opportunity, a life changing one. Thank you for coaching and mentoring me/us to deepen our emotions as we write articles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago