Subjects I am teaching in the University

22 53
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

In my introduction post I'm Lhaine, I'm not an expert writer, I have revealed my Job. I am an educator, I am working in the academe for more than 10 years now as an IT Faculty. Now, let me share to you the subjects that I am teaching  for the BSIT Program.

Most often, when people hear the word IT  or Information Technology, they would think that you are expert of computers or all aspects relevant to computers. But, IT has many areas which includes Networking, Application Development, Database Administration, System Administration, to name a few. Now an IT Professional could have at least one expertise of these many areas. Thus, don’t be surprised when you asked me about computer hardware and I can’t be able to answer you directly because that’s not what I love in the IT field. So, most of my subjects in the IT program are inclined with my interests.

Here are the subjects that I am usually teaching/handling in the academe.

Database Design and Development. Database is really my interest. I like to share how important databases are, in establishments and organizations. I really love the design stage in which I teach students how to create diagrams such as Entity Relationship Diagrams (ERD). In this diagram the symbol of love is not heart but in diamonds. Databases are the backend of any information systems like systems in a Bank, Airline Company, Big Grocery stores.

Entity Relationship Model - image from Pixabay

Introduction to Programming. I believe that when you understand the fundamentals of anything, your interest to the course will be awakened. Before, when I was a student, I had no idea of BSIT course but when the topics in programming is well taught by our Instructor, I learned to love it. That’s why, when I am handling this subject, its my goal that I can teach them well on the fundamentals of programming specially on algorithms, sequences, loops, conditional statements, methods.

Image from Pixabay

IT Research. This is one of the most challenging subject I handled. This is the subject that I will guide my students from the time they conceptualize their project up to the book binding part. There are many things to consider in this subject. I need to teach and guide the students on how to write their proposals, how to make presentations, assigning panel members, scheduling students for defense, processing payroll for honorarium of the advisory committee.  

Internship. I love this subject as well. It allowed me to go around some IT companies and arrange the internship of my students. It is tedious in the first part, the placement part because you need to make sure that you will put the students with interests and knowledge relevant to the company. When students are in place, the monitoring will be easier. It only becomes a problem when the company supervisor reports of a student who is not performing well.

Am I welcome to teach new subjects?

Yes, I would welcome the idea of teaching new subjects. Sometimes, it would be good also to go away of the comfort zone. But, that would really happen if no one will handle the subject. It would really be ideal that the subjects a faculty is teaching is aligned to his/her expertise and interests to that he/she can teach the subject well. It is difficult that the teacher as they said is just one page ahead of the student because it is not his/her expertise.

In my early years in teaching, I have experienced handling a new subject and it is really a "struggle". I really tried my best to study ahead and learn more about the subject. Sometimes, I really had a hard time teaching my students which makes me guilty.

Closing thoughts

Assigning appropriate subjects to a faculty is a task of a loading in-charge. The loading in-charge makes sure that the subject that will be handled by the faculty is aligned to his interests, expertise and specialization. It is not really advisable to assign a subject to a faculty who don't have the capability to teach such subject. The learning of the students will also be compromised.

That's all for this article, I hope that you enjoyed reading it. If you are a teacher, what subjects are you teaching? I would really love to know in the comment section.

Have a great day to all.

Lead Image : Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay 

Links :

If you have a passion in writing you are very much welcome in read.cash

👉https://read.cash/r/MizLhaine

And if you want shorter messages, see you in Noise

👉https://noise.cash/u/MizLhaine

 

14
$ 8.27
$ 8.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 5
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

Programming, mathematics, logical and critical matters are not for me, I'm weak on those part but I love science,if I became a teacher I want to teach about Earth and Life science, I'm interested about that topic and slightly have knowledge about it. Anyway, I'm amaze that your so knowledgeable about those subjects prof, knew that your kind and considerate to your students.❤❤

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing. Though I am not good in mathematics, I am glad that I am able to survive the 4 years of BSIT program. I also love science, there was a time that I envisioned myself to be an astronaut because I learned about planets. I had a hard time learning biology, I don't like much memorization. Being considerate to students is a learned skill, before I used to be idealistic, but now, I loosen the belt especially its pandemic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Importante jud maam nga ang i assign nga teacher sa isa ka subject kay espertise and knowledgeable sad. Naka experience mam gud kos una nga among teacher kay murag napugos lang sa iyaha subject. Dili nako intention nga dautan ang teacher ma'am ha pero medyu disappointing man gud tu nga moment hihi. Like philosophy to amoa subject tas among teacher wala jud idea. Mag discuss sya kay basahun ra niya sa libro tas mag ask me sa iyaha kay ingnun ra mi niyag , "ambut lang. Wala mani sa libro gud.".

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes tama gyud ka na dapat naa gyud xay kahibalo ana or kung wala man kaayo maningkamot gyud nga magtuon para makatudlo og tarong. Naa sad koy ana nga teacher sauna. Ganahan kog dili sya mgklase ky basahon lang man sad niya iyang giklase. I am sad with your experience I hope dili sya maging hindrance para mupadayon ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My sister taking an IT course mizlhaine. When I was in highschool one of my choices is an IT too. I'm glad to hear that subjects you have Mizlhaine. Stay safe always..🙏

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yay, I hope your sister is doing well in her IT studies. How come you have pursued IT?Keep safe as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Her class started last week Mizlhaine. She's a fresh student in college. I didn't chose it Mizlhaine, I went for Educ. Thank you so much..🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si mother ko gusto akony pag take-in ng exam tapos ang ituturo ee about IT. Kaso ayaw ko talaga mag turo huehue. Sayang nga pinag aralan ko ee kasi limot ko na.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You can apply it pa din naman in your own ways para ba yong sabi nila hindi nangangalawang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is an aspect of IT I wish to learn and become an expert at this is called graphics and design do you teach that too

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Graphics and Design is not my forte. I am not really good in that aspect. I just use Canva for my pictures.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang seryoso ng sa comment section HAHHAHAHA. Anyway, ano po magiging respond niyo kapag tinanong kayo kung ano yung tinuturo niyo tapos may bigla pong may nagpaayos sa inyo ng ref? Kita ko lang po siya sa comment section on tiktok hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oo nga ang seryoso. hehehehe, Na hindi ko talaga alam paano ayusin ang ref. hahaha, halos lahat ng appliances, irefer ba sa IT.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh database pala expertise mo sis.. si maam dean ng teach sa amoa before when I was in college ani na subject...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, yan ang interest ko lalo na sa design and analysis. I love dabases talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

est ko lalo na sa design and ana

that's great sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember nung practice teacher pa ko nun. My cooperating teacher gave me a subject na sobrang layu sa major ko. Grabe nahirapan talaga ako kasi hindi ko yun forte.

I like to teach literature. Dami mo kasing matutunang lesson about life. I love reading stories too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, hirap na hirap talaga pag malayo sa forte mo or sa major. Yong after the class, you will say hay salamat natapos na din. I like literature din, may friend ako na prof sa Lit. I like the way she teach.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Information technology is my weakness I know it from the start. As I remember we have this kind of subject in my 8th grade and I didn't did well. That's why I am amazed to those whose good in this specialization

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Everyone of us has a weakness and strength. On my end, I don't like Mathematics so much. It's really struggle to learn the said subject.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you are right, that's what my father told us too since he was also into IT but he's on system administration.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow, System administration is such a huge job. You are in-charge of all aspect of the system.

$ 0.00
2 years ago