Pursuing not your dream course : Not my story

13 366
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

What do you want to be when you grow up?

Book photo created by freepik - www.freepik.com

On your younger years, have you been asked with this question? Or do you also ask this question to someone who’s younger than you?

This question is quite famous to kids. I think at some point in our lives, we have been asked with this question, or at least, the same message that this question have. And as a kid, it was so easy to answer this question.

As a kid, we call it dreams. And back then, we are all dreamers. And usually, our dreams are influenced by the people around us, by our environment. May it be our parents, siblings, some relatives, from the TV shows that we are watching, and we can even dream to be a ninja or a superhero back then.

But growing up, these dreams might change. Well, there are some people who have the same dream since they were a child, but mostly, or at least in my experience, it wasn’t the case for me.

Now let me share to you a story of how a young student pursued not her dream course.

Her dream in her childhood days.

On my nursery days, I dreamt about being a nurse. When I graduated in elementary, it changes to being a teacher, when I graduated in High School, that’s when I know that I want to be an accountant.

It’s changing yes, but that one dream that I have when I graduated High School was the solid one. College can be life changing, the courses that we will take is the one that will determine on what career path we will have in the future, so I really think hard about being an accountant. Back then, I feel like it is really for me. It fit my skills, hobby and passion at the same time.

Reason of not pursuing that dream

But then, things happened. I applied to the University where I want to study and I am lucky enough to pass the CAT or the College Admission Test. Now, as a requirement before being eligible to enroll at BS Accountancy, I need to be part of the first 400 qualifiers from the CAT to take the qualifying exam. Again, luckily, I’m part of those top 400.

I thought I’m already near on taking my dream course. I am nervous, yes. But I am confident that I reviewed a lot. I practiced making those worksheets. From the proper and correct journal entry, then making a worksheet, I mastered it all. I did what I was told because they say, basing from the previous qualifying exam, correct worksheet have a lot of percentage in the score so I was really proud when I learned to do that.

And oh, by the way, only top 100 will passed from the qualifying exam. And then, d-day comes. But the exam was so much different from what I have expected. Worksheet isn’t present. But I didn’t lose hope. Morning session of the exam and it was going smoothly. I am confident on almost all of my answers. But then, I guess afternoon session is not for me. I don’t have any idea on any of the questions because we never tackled and study that lesson on Senior High School.

It was frustrating spending hours there, just sitting, because I cannot really think of an answer. To cut the story short, I didn’t pass the qualifying exam. Then I applied again to another course which is BS Management Accounting, by taking that course, I have the chance to shift to BS Accountancy by taking the exam on the following year with the assurance that the units that I will take on that year will be credited.

I hope I had the chance there but the college opened that course to non-ABM strand so sadly, I didn’t got in too. So what I will I do now? I asked myself. On my CAT application form, my original second choice of course is BS Psychology. I checked the qualification and I saw that I am qualified. However, I was reminded of the 2 years that I spent on my Senior High School being an Accountancy, Business and Management student or ABM.

Abstract vector created by starline - www.freepik.com

I don’t want those years to go to waste that’s why I decided to take BS Business Administration instead. Now, the problem is the major, we have three choices at the college, Marketing Management, Human Resource Development Management and Economics.

I find Economics hard so that was out of the list. In the end, I decided to take Marketing Management as my major without even knowing why. I was so lost. I don’t even know if I am in the right path. And I forgot to mention that I didn’t apply to other Universities so I feel like I don’t really have a choice.

Her Realizations

Hand photo created by pressfoto - www.freepik.com

Then that was the time when I was reminded that what I am doing is to plan for myself alone. I just realized that I am not including the Lord on my plan. I planned this and that, I feel so sure on my dream course without even asking God if it is His will for me.

I planned without Him without knowing that He already have His plans ready for me. I act and seek for my own ways, not knowing that I am slowly disconnecting with Him.

So I took Marketing and never did I imagine that I will enjoy it. I really enjoyed my first year. I’ve been to two National Conference for Marketing students and I am more inspired to push through.

Then another dilemma came in, before enrollment on our 2nd year, I have found out that we can now shift for a different course. I was contemplating whether I will pursue my current course or just abandon those one year and start a new for my dream course.

Praise God that this time, I let myself to be guided by Him. I prayed that day, before I start my personal devotion. “Lord, should I stay or should I shift?”, that was the exact question that I asked Him. And as I read His words, this specific sentence caught my attention: “What I have written, I have written”. And it was problem solved. I asked Him directly, and here’s His direct answer.

So I obeyed Him, I pursue my course and I’m happy with it. I am still in the process of discovering my skills In relation to my course, I can still feel that I’m lost sometimes, but I am always being reminded that this is God wants me to be. I can’t see the purpose now, but one day, I will. In His own perfect time.

CONCLUSION

Truly, God is faithful. We can plan all we want, but let us remember that God’s plan is the best plan. And we should always seek His plan and His will in our lives. There are times where we may feel that we are failing because we cannot get or achieve the things that we want, but let us see those failures as a redirection to the right path that God have prepared of us.

Let us treat closed doors as a way that can lead us to the right one.

How about you? Are you able to pursue your dream course? I would really love to know your story.


This article is written in collaboration with @immaryandmerry as part of my Write with Me Program. Actually this is all her story and I will have my part 2 for my own story. So if you would like to be part of my program, please let me know in the comment section.


Thanks to my sponsors for your giving hearts. A loud shout out to my 10 sponsors: @Macronald , @TruSuccessXpert , @immaryandmerry@Pantera , @scottcbusiness , @CryptoBabe , @FrieLincs @meitanteikudo@CryptoMax @Laurenexai


Note: Lead image and gif is edited using canva.

Links :

If you have a passion in writing you are very much welcome in read.cash

👉https://read.cash/r/MizLhaine

And if you want shorter messages, see you in Noise

👉https://noise.cash/u/MizLhaine

Thanks and see you around.

11
$ 18.19
$ 17.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
+ 2
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

It really hits differently as I read it myself. I actually didn't read it after I wrote it. And just by reading it, even if it actually came from me, i've still got new learnings.

I see myself really growing and drawing closer to God. Few years ago, I dream big, so big that I didn't include God on the process. Now, I learned to practice humility that without Him, I can do nothing.

I've still got a long road to reach success, but this time, i'm really sure of what i'm doing knowing that i'm in the path where God is with me. And with Him on my side, I have the assurance that i'm indeed on the right path. :)

$ 2.00
2 years ago

Thanks for your story, may it be a lesson to those who are still on their way of finding a course. May the Lord guide you always in your studies and in your future endeavors, glad to know you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Likewise. :) Praise God!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To HIM be all the glory and honor. keep safe dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it does, whatever you think you want to be in your younger years was not always s the same as you grow and our thinking gets mature due to some reasons and these reasons affects but some really pursue what they really want. We cannot say that all of us are strong enough to face reality. Some tends to change it but still nothing happens, some pursue and sucessfully attained but failed. Like me I dreamed to be a teacher someday but my sister stopped me and I follow and there I finish any just to graduate hehehe..but I still had ta chance to be a teacher once amd enjoyed it much.. And now a teacher of my daughter. Just continue what you think is right and ypu will really enjoy it.. Take care. It's reallly nice to reminisce tje past when we ate still very young. Great article

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing your story. Just keep moving on, we create our own story of success and enjoy teaching while taking care of your daughter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I just can't move on from wanting to be a nurse in nursery. :) what's the school for nurses called? Nursery. Haha lame joke but I laugh at myself. If I don't no one will. Haha selflove! Hahah

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I actually laugh a little. pero it took me minutes baka ko na process ang joke. hahahaha. Peace! Pero natawa naman si author.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sorry naaa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok lang po. Mabait naman si author. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang corny po. Ha-ha-ha. Ayan natawa ko. :))

$ 6.00
2 years ago

Glad na natawa ka din. Thanks for the collaboration. Sending some love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha salamat sa pagtawa. Hahah you da best

$ 0.00
2 years ago