Pursuing not my dream course : My Story

6 1081
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Experience, Motivation, 2021, Story, ...

On my previous article Pursuing not your dream course : Not my story, I published a story of a student who pursued a course which is actually not her dream course but was able to adjust with it and actually started to embrace the course. In this article, let me share to you my own story, my story of pursuing not my dream course and even having not my dream job.

MY STORY

People photo created by mdjaff - www.freepik.com

When I was in grade 5 my teacher asked me what I want to be when I grow up and I said I want to be a policewoman. When I was in highschool,  I wrote in my yearbook,  I want to be an astronomer.  But none of those happened because I became now an educator/an IT teacher, of which I don't really see myself to become one when I am still young.

When I enrolled in college,  I never enrolled education because it's really not my choice. I want to take environmental science because at least astronomy is a bit related to sciences I guess but my mom said the job opportunity might be scarce so I enrolled IT to go with the trend.  Although it was not my first choice I learned to loved it because I see myself excelling in programming and databases though in Mathematics I really strived hard to pass. 

School vector created by pch.vector - www.freepik.com

When I graduated,  our group is even awarded as best project for IT. But why did I became a faculty?  I could have chosen to be a programmer, database analysts,  to work in IT companies,  but I became a faculty for almost 13 years now. When a job opportunity was offered after I graduated college,  I applied and got the job as faculty.  Then,  I started to love the job specially when I see that my students are learning.

I actually perform programming jobs because I cannot teach programming if I don't know how to program. I also know databases analysis and design. Also,  with this job,  I can be of service to the Lord in our Local Church because I am teaching extension classes every Saturday when I was still young.

I never desired to be teacher but little did I know that the Lord is preparing me to be one when I commit to be a Sunday School teacher in our Church since 1st year college. It really helped me to have confidence and to understand different student attitudes just like what the children in Sunday school act.  If I will be asked if I want to have another job at my age right now,  I would probably say NO, I am contented about it and in school we also have travel opportunities and scholarships.

MY REALIZATIONS

Just like @immaryandmerry there are things that I realized,  we have plans but the Lord's plan is better than ours. He will guide us all the way,  He will not fail us. We may struggle on the first innings but He will surely help us reach that goal and make a homerun. It is also a matter of embracing the reality and not living with your not pursued dreams. Just like what a mom @Mecygirl82 who shared her experience that she dreamed to be teacher but was not able to accomplish it but she became a teacher in her own way to her daughter. We can actually achieve our dreams in our little ways, it may not be exactly what we really thought of but embracing it will be a big help.

How about you? Is your course or your job your dream? If not, how did you manage it? I would love to read your comments.


Thanks to my sponsors for your giving hearts. A loud shout out to my 10 sponsors: @Macronald , @TruSuccessXpert , @immaryandmerry@Pantera , @scottcbusiness , @CryptoBabe , @FrieLincs @meitanteikudo@CryptoMax @Laurenexai


Note: Lead image and gif is edited using canva.

Links :

If you have a passion in writing you are very much welcome in read.cash

👉https://read.cash/r/MizLhaine

And if you want shorter messages, see you in Noise

👉https://noise.cash/u/MizLhaine

Thanks and see you around.

 

7
$ 6.91
$ 6.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @keeneek
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 2
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Experience, Motivation, 2021, Story, ...

Comments

Pursuing not your dream course is never easy, when you're still not sure about it. And we can only be sure about it, sure that we're on the right path if we asked God about it. Truly, we can plan on our own but there's a big chance of failure when we rely on ourselves alone. God's plan is indeed the best and perfect, with Him, you wouldn't feel that you're lost.

We might feel like sometimes, things doesn't make sense, but we just have to trust the Lord and His plans for us, He will never fail us. Praise God for your life. Glory to God to the highest! :)

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes, it was not easy at first but the Lord helped me take the path . All glory belongs to him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here! During my elementary years, my dream job was to be a Doctor (Medical Doctor probably), to be an Electrical or Electronic Engineer when I was in high school, but ended up as an Educator particularly in IT Education. I could still remember the 1st day in College during enrolment, I don't even know where to queue to register/enroll for the course, but eventually ended up enrolling in BSIT which was a new course offering during the time. It never came to my mind to be an educator as I am today.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing your story, don't worry you can still be a Doctor, Doctor of Education. and I know IT stuff has electrical works too. You are one of pioneers in the IT course then. Glad to be one of those people who shared same interests and work with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dream job is to become a doctor, but I ended up in the field of engineering. I planned to enroll in BS Pharma as my premed course, take the licensure exam, franchise or have my own pharma, then proceed to med. Unfortunately, my mother didn't allow me because of our financial status. My mother wants me to study in a state university because it's well-known and the tuition is cheap. But even when I said that I can go with BS Bio as my premed course in the university she wanted, she was still against it. Her argument was "You'll die because of the formalin.". I'm asthmatic so I can understand her somehow. Little did she know, ECE has their own formalin, soldering lead. hehe, I still want to be a doctor now, but as the eldest, I can no longer pursue my dream. I can't totally say that I learn to love engineering, but engineering never fails to amaze me.

I just try to read medical books or watch medical-related movies or series to feed my doctor-wannabe self.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing your story here. We are on the same boat, ending up to the courses and jobs we have not dreamed at all. ECE is Electronics and Communications Engr. right? I have a colleague here who is also an ECE. Maybe some time, an opportunity will come that you will become a doctor, it may not be literally a doctor by profession but doing what doctors do like serving the community through outreach programs/medical missions. But I admire your obedience to your mom and learn to love that engineering, though not totally. See you around.

$ 0.00
2 years ago