My TO DO List : A big help in doing my tasks

37 70
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

I am a person with many tasks due to my multiple roles. I write about my different roles in this article - Changing robes for multiple roles a day. I usually mixed up tasks and do my things alternatively and ending up a day without a completed work. This means that some tasks are just started but were not finished because I keep on starting a new one whenever it comes to mind or somebody will remind or tell me about a job. And yes, I am easily distracted while on work. So I tried making a way on how to be productive for a day. That technique is making a list of all the things that I should do for a day.

Making a TO DO list

Everyday as I arrived in the office, what I usually do first is ask the Lord's guidance for the whole day work. Then, I make a list of what are the things that I should do. It could be a task that requires short or long period of time. Examples are :

  • Email to Cindy the manuscript

  • Remind Wilkin of the certificates

  • Meet-up with class at 10:00 A.M.

  • Record video for Database

  • Print grades.

  • Finish the proposal for Happy Fish Kids

  • Message ACER about the Acer Academy

  • Submit completion grades.

  • Check student projects.

As detailed as they are, I can manage to fill in half of the short bond paper for a day's task. After which, I look on the list which tasks are related and can be done right away and also I put notes if it's a priority. So tasks like email Cindy, Message ACER, Remind Wilkin are quite relevant so I can just do them in one setting. After I finish some tasks, I crash out from the list.

Then I move forward to another tasks. When I reach almost 5:00pm I would go back to my list and check which tasks are done, which tasks are started and which are not yet started. All the started ones and the not yet started are forwarded to the next days TO DO list.

What are the benefits of making a TO DO List?

  • Serves as a guide for the tasks to be done. When I have a to do list, I am guided of the tasks that I should do for a day and it prevents some tasks to be missed out. It is better to put tasks in paper rather than keeping them in mind. With the list I can also give details for each big task.

  • Allows one to focus. Since I am easily distracted, I am making a goal that I should focus on a task in my list and complete it first before I proceed to another tasks. If along the work, a new tasks is given I will evaluate if it is immediate and priority and add them in my list as well.

  • Determining which tasks needs delegation. Through listing as well, I could determine which tasks needs to be delegated to the other colleagues or other people. There are tasks that I cannot do alone, so asking help from others is an option.

  • Gives sense of accomplishment. All the things I am writing on my TO DO list are my targets and when the target is done, it would be turn into an accomplishment that would help me in evaluating how productive is my day. It makes me happy seeing many tasks being crashed out in the list.

Closing Thoughts

Having a TO DO list really helped me in a way or another. It serves as my guide and it gives me a way of determining and measuring my accomplishments for day. Each of us has a different style and technique in work, this may work for me but not for you. But whatever style and techniques works for us, let's just always remember that at the end of the day, we should accomplish the works that we need to do.

So how about you? Are you also listing your tasks in paper? I would love to know your experiences.

Lead Image: Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay and all other images are from Pixabay free of attribution.


LINKS

If you have a passion in writing you are very much welcome in read.cash

👉https://read.cash/r/MizLhaine

And if you want shorter messages, see you in Noise

👉https://noise.cash/u/MizLhaine

17
$ 23.64
$ 23.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 9
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

Task list is very helpful indeed in increasing productivity...i add my tasks in my bujo

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I admire that bujo thing, especially the neatness and the writings. But I guess, I don't have talent for that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can also make one sis..am sure maganda din kakalabasan...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This really works, especially if you are having a hectic schedules and you just a short time of doing so. As for me, I had used this strat when I was in college because we have a lot of things to submit, to write and all about college life..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes I agree. And when you finally became a teacher, I know you will need this more. I am really excited for that day Ren.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Ms. Lhaine.. hmmm.. I'm excited too..

Haayyyy..😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I started creating To do list when I am first year college and it really helped me to be organized and finish the things I need for that specific day.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's great to know that you started it earlier. I can't remember if I was able to do this in college. I started when I became a mom, you know, there are many things in mind of a mom. hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's for sure 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also love to have my to do list to help me focus and organize myself for the day. I found out that having such list will make you do them easily and finish on time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yay! I am happy that we are on the same boat. I really find this technique helpful for me and maybe we can be an inspiration to others to try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

as i am not in job yet so this kind of well task planning do not need me yet .. But i will manage according to my need some day i think!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for welcoming this idea. I hope it can be applicable to you soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the same mate!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lists like this can greatly increase productivity. I've been trying to do them.... so far, I still suck at accomplishing the contents of my to-do lists.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lol. you better do it fast, tumataas na ang araw, hindi ka pa tapos. hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magpapa-ampon na lang ako sayo para matuto ako? Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a friend who does this and it's always helpful to her, gotten to know how important it is after reading through your post. Thank you

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are welcome and I am glad that this gives you an information.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's really important to have this one specifically when you have many things to do. It makes you know which ones that needed to be accomplished first and won't make your head ached thinking of what's supposed to be done first.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, this would really help you to be organized. Though not perfect as it is, but it can really be alternative for those busy people. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this guide it really informative. I will always start drafting a to do list for my daily activities probably that will help achieving my daily goal

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for the appreciation and I am happy that you can relate to this. I hope work well with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the important reason to create a to do list is that it helps you stay organized. it can also increase productivity it allows us to prioritize our day to day tasks. I also create to do list and it really helps a lot.

Mas prefer ko 'yong isinusulat sa sticky notes❤️😜

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's an interesting idea, putting it in sticky notes makes things colorful too. I agree that it can increase productivity if we also do the tasks in our to do list and not just looking on them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a weekly schedule. I make the to do list if errands were added, it's hard especially on days when I am traveling, but I have no choice to squeeze in some things to do on these days because hospital duty is more demanding.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I know busy people like you really have this kind of list. Take care in your hospital duty and in dealing with patients.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once try to do this (create a to do list) but i didn't follow it diligently. So i don't work with written down schedule or plan. I just go about my daily activities as it comes to mind.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am doing both at times. There are days that I do not have a list especially if there are no many TO DOs so I just go with the flow of what comes into mind. There are really techniques that may not work for some.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have to-do list always. It's either on my Notion/Notes app on phone or on my bullet journal. If it's urgent sometimes I list it on a paper and put it on my wall so I can be reminded.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I have tried making it in my journal but my journal/planner is not for planning at all, it became a memory keeper. Would love to do journal related articles with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My journal is meant for planning, memory keeping, and some random stuff 😅. Sure sure!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang napakahirapblahat Ate nung nasa to do list mo ate. Ma-try nga rin hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Huwag kang mag alala darating ka din dyan if you will choose to work like us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also do it! The best part is I get a sense of accomplishment when I check those boxes. :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I totally agree. The time when you check all the boxes. Such a fulfilling journey!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo, nakaka ganda ng mood. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago