Why Pinang?

45 55
Avatar for MissJo
Written by
2 years ago

Hello beautiful people!

I hope you all are doing fine amidst of the shortcomings and uncertainties we may feel day by day. Always remember that a positive life is a happy life. ✨

16th of how many.

We grew up having nicknames. Nicknames that was created at our home, nicknames given to us by our friends, nicknames called us by our crushes, and sometimes our teachers give us nicknames as well. For me, being given this nicknames means that they are comfortable calling you that way more than your name, and nicknames usually is shorter than your real name that is it is easier to call you that way. (Sorry for too many nicknames word on this part.)

Growing up (sana all, lumaki!), in the family I was used to be called Pen or PenPen, that is the shorter name for my real name which is Josephine. I used to be called that way. And I find it cute though.

However, that nickname was not used anymore. It was changed to Pinang. How was it? It was during my 4th year in high school. I was once an SSG Officer in our school, and we have this SSG Adviser. He is actually the one who named me that way. At first, I was like, "Ayaw ko tawaga ingana sir uy, kabati kaayo. Mura naman sad kog tiguwang ana nga dagnay!" ( Don't call me that way sir, its not nice to hear and I was like a grandma with that name.) Sad to say, our adviser did not listen to me. He keeps teasing me using that name that in the long run I got used to it already. Well, I cannot do anything about it anymore. I just accept it and embrace my new nickname. Then, everyone who knows me at school also started to call me Pinang. It was really so new to me, but yes I just enjoyed being called that way. It was cute though!

I thought, the nickname Pinang will not be used anymore during college. Maybe because I was thinking that I will meet new people and my idea about college that time was they will call you using your last name instead. But it did not turn to be that way. I was still used to be called by my nickname. Why I chose to be continued to be called that way? It is because, when someone asked for my name of course I will say Josephine. But when they are the one to say it, I just don't like how they pronounced my name. (Pasensya for being maarte about it.) For me, my name should be pronounced as "Jow-Si-Fin". That's it. But most people that I met, they pronounced it as "Jaw-Se-Fin", which is not correct for me. And of course, it is my name, I wanted to be called by it correctly. That is why after telling them my name, I prefer them to call me Pinang. To be safe. I actually have two people that I like to call me by my real name, it was my Math Teacher during first year higschool and our salutatorian in high school as well. They gave justice on how my name should be pronounced correctly.

With that said, I thought that Pinang will be left as it is in Leyte and that I will get to have another nickname or just my first name to be used when I will be working. But it did not happen. When I started working here in Cebu, I still get to be called that way. At first I was like, please call me by my real name at least. But I again chose not to, because of the same reason. With that I tried to tell them to call me Jo instead, and let my close workmates/new friends call me Pinang. It was okay at first, Jo was fine but in the long run, I was not called it anymore. I do really believe in the supremacy of my nickname Pinang. It is really Pinang until now. And I guess that will be it until then.

And by the way, I have this friend as well that prefers to call me Pinangga rather than Pinang. I actually find it cute too as Pinangga means "dear or I care" in English. Well that's it.

I may be too choosy on how my name should be pronounced, but I really prefer it that way. It is not because I do not like my name, it is just that I wanted to get it done correctly. And I guess there is nothing wrong about that. I love my name and I wanted to here it getting said by someone correctly. And I just wanted to thank our SSG Adviser, for giving me such amazing nickname. I already love how I am called that way.

That's all for today beautiful people. I hope you learned and get something good about my article for today. If you have any thoughts and take away about this piece, feel free to leave it in the comment section below. Let's interact. Stay safe always! Xoxo ✨☺️

- MissJo πŸ’œ

Lead Image Source: https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRiCW4RumPTRNJRAELHdfUCrT8qH3WebVzqEw&usqp=CAU

Sponsors of MissJo
empty
empty
empty

14
$ 5.53
$ 5.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @dziefem
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Sponsors of MissJo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MissJo
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I like your name, Josephine. And I loved your nick PenPen. It's a shame no one uses it anymore. I'm glad to know your nick Pinang, but I think I prefer to call you Jo;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yayy! Thanks Coqui. I used to have PenPen when we are in Manila, and just kinda change when we travelled to province, and it became Pinang. I love hearing Jo as well. It feels like very professional. Thanks for reading. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry, but I agree with what you think about Pinang. It was my late grandma's nickname as well. But because I was the type to change people's names, I called her Lola P. I was in elementary when I started calling her that. She went home from the US and planning to stay here for good. I was the only one who would call her Lola P until my brother also called her that and then my other cousins as well. It is really hard when people cannot pronounce our name properly. Good thing no one called you Jusipen because most people in Visayas region would call me Junna instead of Jonna.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron ding tumatawag sakin ng ganyan e. Kaya mas prefer ko nalang talaga yung Pinang. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ba? Mas ok na Pinang kesa Jusipen. Hehe. Kaso sa akin wala talaga kaya tinatanggap ko na lang kahit Junna πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahahaha, Josepene ang labas ee ahahaha. Pero cute ng nickname mo naman ah, buti sakin Parot talaga, si mommy ang nagpauso nyan. Pero sa bahay lang yan sa school kasi Ruffa talaga ako ee. Need paba ng nickname jan ahaha. Tapos ung partner ni mommy apaka bastaos, tinatawa akong Rufina Patis, brand ata ng patis iyan πŸ™„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapanget kabonding nung mga tumatawag sakin ng Josepen e. Hahahaha sakit sa bangs! Naging cute nalang talaga nung nagtagal kasi na love ko na e.

Bet ko yung Parot, apaka cute. Pero ayoko talaga ng natatawag ng mga brand ng kung ano ano dahil sa name ko. Yung yung nakakabadtrip, mga tito at lolo at mga tambay mahilig mag pangalan ng kung ano ano. Sarap pang pektusan. Hahahahah buti nalang MAGANDA tayo kaya bawing bawi. πŸ₯΄πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahaha, di baga ayusin sana ng bigkas ano. Kaya nga ako, pag tinatawag ng ibang name. Di ako lumilingon or sumasagot. Bahala kayong manugas jan. Kakaurat na kaya. Pano pag narinig ni crush un, di tatatak na sa utak nilanyon πŸ™„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha si crush lagi bottomline eh? Ay bet ko yung bottom hahahaha 🀣

Pero kaya nga, wag talaga lilingon pag mali pagtawag. Bala sila. Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute ng Nickname mo Sis πŸ₯° Sakin ang pangey ng Nickname ko ewan ko ba bakit ganon nasobrahan sa shortcut πŸ˜… sa daming nickname CJ ang naisipan nila pang lalaking nameπŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis. πŸ’— Pero okay naman CJ ah?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

" I do really believe in the supremacy of my nickname Pinang."

Haeup ka, napatawa ako dito bigla! Hahahaha! May pa-supremaacy ka pang nalalaman lmao!

Anyway, hi, Pinang! πŸ’œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahahahahahaha puro nalang kasi Pinang! Pwede naman nila ko tawagin na ganda. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, okay lang yan, Ganda. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahahaha thank you. thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang cute ng Nickname 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you πŸ’—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice nickname you got there. haha! Glad that it is always use after made because it is cute.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha yeah I just got used to it anyway and I prefer being called that way nalang talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing that you learned to love your nickname. As for me, I don't like my nickname eversince. It sounds so mabantot hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nasanay na rin talaga ako e, kesa naman kasi yung first name di ko talaga trip pakinggan pag iba yung magsasabi.

Nacurious tuloy ako sa nickname mo. Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I'm not gonna disclose it 😝

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha okay okay! I understand.

But you know, my curiousity is getting into my nerves na talaga! Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha hindi naman katunog ng poop, pero mabantot bigkasin. I'll leave that to your imagination na lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha isipin ko nalang talaga lahat ng mabantot na nickname bahala na si Batman hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh basta ayaw ko ng tinatawag ako sa nickname ko huhuhu. Pangit nila gumawa ng nickname. Layu2 sa name ko eh. Tas ayaw ko din matawag through my first name hahaha. Ang gulo ba? Mas prefer ko tawagin sa last name HAAHHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha depende talaga yan e. Basta sa end ko okay lang tawagin ako sa first name, basta tama yung pagka pronounce. Hahahahahaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas ganahan jud ko ug Pinang itawag pen, taas ang Jowsefin oyyy πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA buset! Pinang nalang gyud, bahala na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahhaha, Pinang rajud bitaw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha kana kana

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana naranasan ko rin magkaroon ng iba't ibang nickname. Puro, baby, mahal, love, babe, hon, hobby naman kasi natatawag sakin. Mostly babe by my other friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all ang daming endearment. SANA ALL! 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa isang tao lang yan halos HAHAHA. Then yung love isang tao lang tumawag sakin nyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all parin. Huhuhu 😭 HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bawo nimo friend! HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nganooooo? Hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was a baby of age 5, I was fat enough that my parents started calling me "bubbloo" πŸ˜‚ thank God the name is now vanished.. otherwise it would be so awkward someone calling me bubbloo at this age πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bubbloo's too cute actually. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha thanks 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha here in our place they do the same. They give you alyas. I remember my teacher also calls me nickname but it cute thou hahaha so I used it too πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Nasasanay nalang din kasi e. Tas parang nakaka ano ng loob mabigyan ng alyas. Hahahahaha kahit panget sa umpisa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww your awake at 5:22AM hahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha i am actually working rn, my shift starts at 3:00 am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago