She Disliked Me For Asking "Why"

6 36
Avatar for MisakiLhaine
2 years ago

I'm back again. Hello there!

I can't do the daily writings and being here actively, aside from it's hard to think of topic I also don't have much time to write articles. I decided not to force myself to do it, but instead I'll just write whenever I feel and want to.

This is some random thoughts I had last few days ago while having a quick break after making some crafts, but wasn't able to finish writing due to some commissioned works.
What have you felt whenever someone you know unexpectedly sent you a message and asked, "How Are You?"?
What are you going to reply?
Does it make you feel good?
Do you find it comforting and consoling?
Or is it something unusual to hear that you don't know what to react or say?

I remember an incident a decade ago. Tho it happened a long time ago, still It's unforgettable 'coz I unintentionally did something bad (tho I don't think that's terrible) to someone, and I think she was hurt and disliked me after that.

~Flashback...


There was this girl, a Collegemate. Let me name her as "M". She's my sister's blockmate, I usually hang-out with my sister during break time, since we are studying in the same College (different course and department) and I often seen this girl. She's a bit friendly and will initiate a conversation with me, and I will timidly answer. She's kind but she's not my friend, just an acquaintance. I don't have any business with her since I was not her blockmate so I guess there's no reason for us to talk with each other often.

Months passed.
Unexpectedly, I received a text message from an unknown number asking me, "How Are You?".
I replied back asking who is he/she.
She replied that she's "M". I am actually wondering how did she got my number but I didn't asked her. I don't know what to reply to her message. I don't always receive that kind of message, No one asked me "How Am I". None of my friends will check on me and I am not expecting anyone to do that. Being an overthinker I thought she needed something or what, so instead of saying "I am fine" and asking how she is, I asked her "Ahhh, okay. Why?". I didn't know that she was offended until my sister told me. My sister gave her my cellphone number 'coz "M" just simply wanted to know if I'm doing okay. She just want to say hello and probably like to have a chat with me. My sister scolded me and told me that "M" was a soft-hearted person and probably got hurt with my reply.

End of Flashback~

It was never my intention to offend "M" or even hurt her. I think my answer is a typical answer whenever we receive an unexpected call. We sometimes asked the caller, "What's up? Why did you call?" Or in Filipino language "Anong Meron? Bakit napatawag ka?" Okay, I'm just trying to justify my answer.


Just to make it clear, I am an introvert person and an overthinker. I don't make friends easily. I am quiet and shy. I will not start a conversation to someone even with my closest friends. Even upto now, I don't usually interact with people virtually. Receiving messages from someone scares me, and It took me some time to reply. We haven't talk after that and I didn't apologize either. I'm still firm at my stand that I didn't do anything wrong and this is just pure misunderstanding, but I wasn't able to explain myself 'coz she won't talk to me anymore.

That happened a long long time ago and I learned from that incident. Now, receiving that kind of message from time to time feels good, 'coz to be remembered is a good thing, but interaction still isn't my thing. I'm only up to 3 replies, 5 is already exhausting.


Lead Image from Unsplash



1
$ 1.62
$ 1.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @MarcDaclag
Sponsors of MisakiLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MisakiLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

You did nothing wrong. It's up to M what she will do about that and that's her problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha, same, but most of the time I don't reply I hate small talks, and hanging conversations.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I think there's an exception to that, it always depends on who you are talking with to. Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too, I am an introvert, and receiving a call makes me panic especially when it comes to my family. I got traumatized by the incident that happens before that I received a call telling me to go to hospital in a hurry only to find out he passed away already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis can you check, if you have click the downvote button accidentally? Nagzero vote kasi. Haha baka naclick mo instead ung like. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really traumatizing and I understand where you coming from.

$ 0.00
2 years ago