Where Should We Settle?

22 367

Posted 041222

Where where where? All my life, I didn't expect that I will need to decide where will I or my family should settledown. I've always thought that I will be with someone who's going to be close to my hometown.

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

I always love the air the ambiance here in our city, no bias involved. By the way, I've been in Marikina City all my life and I cannot imagine living in a different place. Don't get me wrong I've been to other places and worked in different cities too. But that just proved why I loved living in our city. Why? Here are a few reasons:

  1. Traffic - Marikina is not a big city unlike Manila, Quezon City and other nearby cities.

  2. Air pollution - I can feel the difference of the air whenever I travel. I used to go to school in Manila and worked in Quezon city, Makati and Manila too. Travelling in different cities everyday (because I was a working student), I can really feel the difference.

  3. Close to province - My friends and I would always joke that we should go out of town and it was just a few minutes away. Rizal is the nearest province we can go to in less than an hour. We can go to San Mateo, Montalban and Antipolo.

Well aside from the fact that it has been awarded once as the cleanest city in the metro manila, I've always love the fact that the LGU didn't remove all the trees whenever they develop something. They've always kept the clean and green motto.

I know that in the past decade you might be hearing news that Marikina is still a flooded area. Well mostly the area near the river and the most devastating flood that happened was Ondoy and Ulysses. By the way, before Ondoy happened, we never experience flood in even in our former house which was also nearby a river. There were just certain reasons why flood continued to happen in our city whenever there's strong typhoon.

Anyway, I didn't want to leave the city if I were to choose. However, we don't have our own home here. We are just renting since we were young and we cannot afford to buy our own house.

Everything changed now and plans changed too. My husband and I are looking for a home where we can settle down. We are planning to stay in the province where he's assigned to while we look for a house near or within Metro Manila. We've also tripped a few houses in the past few months and we didn't think that it would be so hard to choose or decide for the pros and cons. We have to consider a lot of things especially we have a child now. Here are some things that we need to consider:

  1. Accessibility - We need to consider the accessibility because probably most of the time we will need to travel back and forth to somewhere. Like if we will visit my sisters and parents or if we go to the province. Plus my husband also requires to travel from time to time.

  2. Establishments nearby - this is a must. We will need to consider if there's a school, hospital, grocery store, pharmacies, church, or other establishments nearby. Schools and hospitals are the most important thing to consider.

  3. Neighborhood/environment - this one is important for Lil B's social development.

Well, I can guarantee to my husband that Marikina has the factors that we consider but one thing that keep us away from choosing Marikina is its house/lot value that goes for areas in the city that is high enough for the flood to reach. The bigger the lot area the more expensive it is.

For now, we are still looking for houses near Metro Manila like Rizal, Bulacan or Cavite. I hope that luck will find its way so we can settledown and start saving for Lil B.

You, what do you consider when you look for a place to stay? To settle?

Share your thoughts :)

This is one of the articles stuck in my drafts for months. I drafted this last year, I do apologize for whatever I have here HAHAHAHAH!

lead image from unsplash

10
$ 3.35
$ 3.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Usagi
$ 0.02 from @Winx1988
+ 5
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

You mentioned all factors tht we need to consider in finding a place to settle down. May you find a place where are you comfortable with. God bless you and your family.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks! We are really looking forward to find a good place for our daughter. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lapit mo lang pala sis, taga manila lang ako eh. Pero plan namin ng partner ko magka bahay sa bandang rizal or cavite since malapit din sa syudad. bahain nga talga jan sa marikina kaya daw mura paupahan at bahay sabi sabi nila.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Grabe susuungin na traffic sa cavite kasiiii seswa. hindi naman bahain dito sa area namin dun lang talaga sa malapit sa ilog yung binabaha kapag malakas ang ulan. May village kasi na pababa tapos likod nun ilog, provident village, dun nagmura ang bahay at apt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahhh eh kaso sis paano pag baha din sa mga dadaanana nyo? or along the highway din ba kayo kaya no problem naamn ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why not Antipolo mommy? I mean bandang Rizal dyan. Sarap magtira don dahil sa nature huhu.

Sana all nag iisip na kung saan mag settle down no. Ako Naman kung ako masusunod ayaw ko tumira malapit sa parents at inlaws ko Kasi pareho kaming may issue sa family jusko 🤣 Yung bahay Kasi ng inlaws ko kanya Yun pamana ba e ayaw ko Naman magtira don. Gusto ko tahimik

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Mejo may kamahalan na din sa antipolo sis, sa Silangan may nakita kami sarap sana sa bundoooook ih.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aja momsh.. it is a decision that you and the hubby have to face and decide soon...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yun nga momshie. Sna para makasettle na kasi hirap dn kami maghanap since nasa province sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayaw mo ba sa cebu hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akshwali momshie, pwede kami magstay doon. hihi gusto ko n nga makavisit sa cebu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kami ng hubby ko almost 3 times kami palipat lipat ng tirahan,kasi kino consider namin yong trabaho nya,at kung saan kami mas makakaless.Kaya ngauon nandito kami sa probinsya sa lupa ng parents ko,kasi na experienced namin manirahan ng hindi amin mahirap talaga.Sana nakahanap kayo kung saan kayo komportable.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nako isa pa pala yan, thanks for reminding me. Work kasi si hubby pwede kami maghanap ng pwede nya lipatan kahit san sa ncr, ako naman call center lang pinakamatagal kong work kaya total adjustment na naman to kung sakali. Dito pa nga kami sa parents ko kaso nagrerent lang dn sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dati kasi palipat lipat ng work ang asawa ko kaya palipat lipat din kami,pero ngauon permanent residence na kami,kahit maliit lang,basta amin,hehemadami talaga need e consider kapag mag settle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lapit mo lang pala sis Dito ako montalban. Lagi kaming namamasyal diyan sa marikina river park noon Lalo na kapag malapit Ang Christmas. Kasi ang Ganda Ang river bank diyan. Kaya lang ayun nga bahain nga lang pero kung lakinisan at kaayusan tingin ko maganda Ang pamamalakad Ng government Ng Marikina sa inyo ☺️😉

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nako totoo yan sis. Madalas dn kami don tumambay tska magtiangge kapag ber months

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di pa ako nakakapunta ng Marikina pero parang mainam nga dyan at di gaano ang traffic. Makati, Qc at Las pinas grabe ang traffic juskopo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nako sinabi mo pa, kaya nung nagaaral ako at nagwowork laging stressed ako sa byahe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd go for a place that is safe and conducivr to my child's learning and growth. I would also want the place to be near hospital and schools and grocery store.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very friendly kasi dn dito. Sis actually kung hindi nagmahal mga bahay sa mataas na area, dito na kami kukuha ih. Maliit na city lang dn kasi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gustong gusto ko din jan sa Marikina sis, I lived there during college days, when we were looking for a place to settle down I suggested it to hubby however he declined because of the fault line within Marikina ayun we ended up in Caloocan😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay oo hahaha pero so far naman di pa kami nakaexperience ng grabeng lindol. Born and raises na dn ako dito eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago