Use you, abuse you, replace you.

10 42

Good afternoon, good evening and good night! - Truman (Jim Carrey)

This line is from the movie The Truman Show, one of my favorite movies that I watched when I was a kid but this blog is not about Truman show. I just want to use this line cause you might be reading this at any time of the day. Rawr!

Image from google

I think I need that bluetooth keyboard now, I am having difficulty finding time to use the computer to finish an article. Little b wakes up soon as I get up, so I am writing this using my phone, which takes a bit longer because I usually type faster using a keyboard. At the same time, I am watching the 90-day fiance: Ed & Rose hahaha! I know, it's just that I am intrigued with what happened with these two.

Ooops! Check out my sponsors munaaaaaa!

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty


Now, let's try to talk about gadgets, specifically cellphones. Gadgets are so easy to purchase and replace when you have the money. Me, I didn't get a phone for myself unless bigyan ako or once I have the money to purchase one. When I was in highschool we used to share one cellphone in the house.

Gusto ko lang ishare mga naging cellphone ko hihi. Magkakalabasan na naman ng edad to hahahaha!

  1. Nokia 3210

My bestfriend gave me one as a gift, this was my first personal cellphone. It was a Nokia 3210, it wasn't brand new but I still remember how she told me that she got me a gift and told me that it was an Avril Lavigne poster. I had it for weeks, until I lost the phone. How? In our school, we are not allowed to bring cellphones as it can cause distractions during classes. One time we had a First Friday Mass and someone told us that the teachers will do bag check to confiscate any gadgets. We hid our phones to the canteen vendor. My phone didn't have any marks or stickers, nor case that indicates it was my phone. After the mass, I went back to claim my phone but it wasn't there. I searched and searched but it wasn't there. I went back again before I go home and no Nokia 3210 left, no phones at all. I felt bad and I was scared to tell my bestfriend that I lost it. I am a kind of person that value things that was given as a gift. A bit sentimental, yes.

  1. Nokia 8310

One of my best friends (Jade) lent me their old phone because my boyfriend that time wanted to visit me in Marikina. He's my classmate in college and stays in Manila. He hasn't been to Marikina so I told my friends that I will introduce him. Jade knows the struggle of not having communication when meeting up with jowas, so she lent me her Nokia 8310.

Sadly, I broke this phone. It fell off from 3rd floor to the ground floor. It actually was very handy because of its size. Kasagsagan ng paliitan ng cellphone na yan noon.

Here are my other phones that I had
  1. Samsung Champ

    Kasagsagan ng mga touch screen phones when I was in college. I still have this phone with me, but I only use it as an Mp3. Battery life can last upto days, even weeks if you're not using it most of the time. This unit is very very very durable. Why? BTW, my ex in college gave me this phone cos I don't have one back then. I can prove that it is very durable as I have thrown this phone several times and it still works.

  2. Acer Liquid

    This is my first phone that I bought out of my salary. I was a working student in college and one of my officemates went to Thailand with our boss. He got a chance to check the prices of phones here in the Philippines and offered if I would like to buy a cellphone kasi mura lang doon kesa dito. I paid it in installment and he used his credit card ata, I can't remember but yeah. I was so happy that I got this phone. The downside of purchasing a model that is not available in your country is its parts are not available here. You can't have it repaired or change parts easily. Better to buy a new phone instead.

  3. Samsung S4

    This phone was a hand me down from my sister, she upgraded her phone when the 2 years contract ended in her phone plan. I loved this phone, not just because it's durable but it also has a great camera. Out of the S series that I've used, from S5 up to the latest model, its camera is different.

    Nagtagal dn naman sya sken but one day, when I was in the bathroom nalaglag na naman sya and the screen didn't work anymore.

  4. Motorola Z2 Play

A few weeks after I damaged my samsung s4, I searched for available phone plans that is within my budget. This was the one for me, I loved some of features especially the camera trigger and this is very durable too. It also has other accessories sold separately, it is called Moto Mods.

Picture from google

It can be either a speaker, projector, zoom camera or a powerbank. I think they also have other new mods available, those are great accessories by the way but the price is really expensive, per mod. You can already buy a cheap phone for the price of one mod.

Nasira ko dn sya, same reason nabagsak. Ay, este binato ko pala. This was the first time na nakasira ako ng gamit na pinaghirapan ko. I didn't what came to my mind to do that but nasira sya because of it. I wanted to replace its LCD, I was able to find one in Lazada for 2000 pesos but I decided to purchase a new phone instead.

That brings us to my current phone....

  1. Oppo F11

Photo from oppo.com

As soon as I realized na nasira ko phone ko, I immediately went to my friend's house and borrowed a phone. Nagbike lang ako and then good thing she was at home.

A week or few days after, I asked my other friend if pwede ako makigamit ng credit card nya yo purchase a new one. Of course, she asked why and what happened then agreed of course. Syempre chika muna bago bili.

Initially, nagcanvass na kami ng brand and unit na gusto ko. I was planning to get the Huawei p30 lite. It was around 14-15k that time as far as I can remember but as soon as I checked the unit, I became hesitant to buy it. Alam mo ung walang lukso ng dugo. Actually, ganun ako everytime na may bibilin ako, mapa-ukay, gadgets, damit, sapatos, kahit gusto ko ung specs or the style but kapag nakita or nahawakan mo in person parang nagdalawang isip ka na, syempre di ko na bibilin. Pero ayun nga I also checked the Huawei p30 and the P30 pro unit, still no lukso ng dugo. I asked my friend to go to the next store, I checked units that has the same price range, then the Oppo F11 came up. Oppo F11 pro was also in 2nd place but I find it uneccesary for me to get a pop up camera which costs 3k more. F11 was around 16k and F11 pro was around 18 to 19k. I've had this phone since 2019, still working but recently nagstart na maghiwalay ung screen to its body. Huhu.

Nadaan ko naman sya sa mighty bond but the other day the screen fell off again. So doublr sided tape to the rescue HAHAHAHA. It still works fine and di natin to papalitan hanggang di na sya totally working.


Closing

Naabutan nyo ba ung cellphone parang prepaid card and sim? Nagkaroon dn ba kayo ng cellphone na plastic ung case? Ung phone na may atenna?

Wala pa dng mas titibay sa N3310 hahahaha!

Anong pinakamagandang phone ang nagkaroon kayo? Dun ako sa matibay hahahaha.

May mga bagay lang talaga na mahirap mawala or ilet go lalo na kapag pinaghirapan mo.

Tinagalog ko na to kasi ilang araw na to nakatambay sa drafts ko, di ko matapos at maipost hahahaahha.

Share mo naman ung sayo beshie!!

Lead image from unsplash

Some pictures are from google unless stated.

5
$ 1.91
$ 1.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @yhanne
$ 0.02 from @Khing14
+ 1
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Hindi ko na matandaan yung sa'kin basta ang brand nun nokia din sis. Tas kasunod nun, binilhan ako nina mama at papa nang cherry mobile na keypad, then Nokia ulit, yung may camera na. Tas nung 4th year ako, starmobile na keypad. And when I started college, myphone-cherry mobile-samsungA10 na android at ngayon VIVOy15. Skl..

Masasabi ko din na wala talagang tatalo sa mga old models nang phone, especially na yung nokia. Ang tibay, kahit ilang beses na mahulog.. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pangarap kong phone nung college ako nokia Xpress music pansoundtrip. Marami pang mga china phones pero sa Nokia pa din ang subok na matibay. Hahahgaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi alam yung mga models sis eh.. Hehe.. Yung akin naman nuon na nokia bigay lang yun nang tita ko..

And yes, matibay talaga.. Tas yung mga laro na... "ano ba tawag dun?" Nakalimutan ko na.. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bantumi, space impact? Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy.. Oo, yun sis.. Space impact.. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis ako, first phone ko ay nokia 5110. Hehehe..yung may antena na parang walki talkie?..hehehe..hiyang hiya pako magbitbit nun dati sa school kasi nga ang laki laki. Tapos next dun nokia 3210. Papatay patay pa ang battery nun. Then next na dun touch screen na kasi nagkawork na ako. Nakabili na ako ng maayus ayos na phone.hehehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naaala ko dn ung cellphone ng tatay ko na parang landline kalaki. Kala mo wireless landline eh. Madaling masira ung battery ng 3210 kasi may parang kawit un sa taas diba, madalas maputol hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ou..kaya nga pasira sira yung 3210 ko..no choice ako kundi pagtyagaan dahil wala naman akong pambili..hehehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako dn. Kinakalsuhan ko na lang papel sa battery hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aahahaha..parehong pareho pala ang style natin .,,lels

$ 0.00
2 years ago